X

Nokia Lumia 900 Review

Posted: April 10, 2012
Nokia Lumia 900 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/58070/nokia-lumia-900-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/296492_LGST/as20120409_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_58070

The Nokia Lumia 900 comes with a 4.3" AMOLED ClearBlack touchscreen, 8 megapixel cameras and a 1.4 GHz processor with 4G LTE connectivity and the latest Windows phone software. Matt Mira and Kevin Pereira check out the $99 smartphone on Gadget Pr0n.

What You Need To Know

  • The Nokia Lumia 900 runs Windows Phone 7.5.
  • The body is made out of polycarbonate and measures 5" tall and almost 3" wide.
  • The volume rocker, the sleep/wake button and the dedicated camera button are along the side.
  • The screen isn't flush with the body, which is a bummer.
  • The is a 4.3" AMOLED screen with a 800x480 resolution, which is pretty low compared to phones we've seen recently.
  • We did notice a big difference and text didn’t look as smooth, which could have to do with the software.
  • There wasn't a stark difference and this isn't something the average consumer should be worried about.
  • Colors did pop on the screen and Windows Phone has a very colorful interface, so the Nokia Lumia 900 shows it off pretty well.
  • AMOLED screens tend to have really good saturation and this phone was no exception.
  • The 8 megapixel camera has dual LED flash and records video at 720p.
  • The Carl Zeiss lens has a 2.2 F-stop which allows more light in.
  • The resulting pictures were good but not great; we were expecting more out of this.
  • The camera performed best outside in broad daylight.
  • The shutter speed was fast but not overwhelmingly so and the dedicated shutter button was a nice feature.
  • We did have a little trouble focusing on objects that were in the distance.
  • The video was sharp and colorful, but it only shoots 720p instead of 1080p.
  • The phone runs on the version of Windows Phone 7 known as Mango.
  • We found it to be a very sharp looking OS: everything was smooth and we didn't experience any hiccups.
  • We did get frustrated with how every app uses the same interface.
  • This is an operating system that's been out for almost 2 years and it still feels very early.
  • It doesn't even support dual core processors.
  • The app selection is still incredibly small: there are about 70,000 apps available, which may sound like a lot until you compare it to the 450,000 apps available for Android and 585,000 apps available for iOS.
  • We did like the Xbox Live incorporation, which lets you see your gamer score and stay in touch with your Xbox friends.

Price

  • $99 with an AT&T contract.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • We love the unique design and the build quality is great.
  • The hardware is more than adequate.
  • Our only hardware complaint is the average camera.
  • Windows Phone still needs a lot of work and lacks the developer community of iOS and Android, which is what's holding them back.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • dena999

    my friend's mother makes $68 an hour on the computer. She has been without a job for 6 months but last month her paycheck was $18829 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read more here LazyCash19. Com

    Posted: April 17, 2012 6:19 PM
    dena999
  • DavidinCT

    I expected a fair review but, this was one of the WORST reviews a smart phone I have ever seen. I wish the reviewer actually spent more than 5 min with the phone to tell some of the features of the phone instead of showing his love for Android and the iPhone.

    Nothing said about Facebook, Twitter intergrations...

    The reviewer is moron. I used to DVR attack of the show but, that's it I'm done watching it.

    Posted: April 17, 2012 12:08 AM
    DavidinCT
  • vhandbook

    I typically dont have a problem with these reviews but this one made me a bit angry. The review was so bias and one sided. For example, Kevin was throwing out names of apps on purpose just to show what apps they didnt have. I have never seen such a purposefully negative review from these guys.

    I understand that the OS is new and needs some work but they hardly mentioned one good thing about it and it needs some credit. It has a fully integrated all social media app that allows you to update everything at once, an awesome music played, zune pass, nokia drive with turn by turn navigation (something iphone still doesn't have without third party app help), and it looks amazing along with having amazing build quality. You can probably break an iphone with this phone.

    I'm sorry but these guys didnt give the phone the credit it deserves.

    Posted: April 15, 2012 2:09 PM
    vhandbook
  • magikwizard

    Please make sure to get all of your facts straight:

    Before you make a statement that all apps look the same (like this is a bad thing) why not look at your ios to see the same style for every ios native app?

    G4tv.com is running much smoother on the wp7 device the the laggy motorolla droid and point out that only andriod has flash.

    The ability to script your phone with touch develop?

    words with friends? how about Wordfeud.

    Posted: April 14, 2012 10:05 AM
    magikwizard
  • Crows

    I like how it doesn't disintegrate if you sniz on it wrong >.> they need to make phones tougher...

    Posted: April 13, 2012 4:37 PM
    Crows
  • Supapeach

    I like how they're laughing at how the G4 page isn't loaded all the way on the Lumia, from what i saw it looks like it wasn't loading some flash objects. now this sounds like a bad thing that WP7 doesn't have flash on IE but that's because Microsoft is pushing for the far superior HTML 5 which makes flash obsolete cause the objects are programmed into the page rather then launching an addon in your browser, which results in faster loading pages that are in HTML 5. if anything it's G4's bad for not switching their site to HTML 5.

    Also about the single core processor.... you realize more cores = less battery life which is the #1 complaint about smart phones /rant

    Posted: April 12, 2012 1:01 AM
    Supapeach
  • billclinton2006

    of course since the phone doesn't have multiple cores and a millions useless apps its just an "okay" phone. WP7 is a quick easy to use OS. It's interface has the easiest learning curve out of any mobile Os out there. The phone has a single core because it runs that efficient. That phone would out perform any other non WP7 out there. Just check out "got smoked by a windows phone" I have integrated Facebook chat in my texting tile. I can post to Facebook twitter and all my other social media outlets with one tool built right into the OS. Not to mention the Zune media player that is light years ahead of iTunes. This phone was jipped in its review. He had a preconception on how the phone was going to be and went off that. Instead of looking at the specs of the phone and how many apps no one cares about. Look at how easy the phone works with everyday tasks. Stop being so pro apple and have a non biest opinion for once. Maybe they should have several people do the review. Just keep it fair.

    Posted: April 11, 2012 12:13 PM
  • Dr.Teddi

    I am a bit disappointed. I was looking into this phone and was really excited for Nokia new phones. But W7 is just not finished enough and Nokia own Sim is just so plain. I wish they step their games up already.

    Posted: April 11, 2012 9:19 AM
  • incubustable

    It seems like Windows could do well debuting their mobile OS, which has been god awful before WP 7 came out. They already have a decent amount of apps, and if they can integrate it seamlessly with Windows 7 or 8, like iOS on macs with iTunes, they could be considered a worthy alternative to android and iOS. I have an iPhone, but I like major companies that compete and Android is so fragmented with them finally being able to get ICS on their phones, that a windows phone is refreshing to say the least.

    Posted: April 11, 2012 8:32 AM
    incubustable
  • Big_Swifty

    Pretty good review overall, just a couple of things. From Wikipedia "sales beginning on October 21, 2010 in Europe and Australia and November 8, 2010 in the United States" so the operating system isn't almost 2 years old but will be in the fall. Kevin spoke of Windows Phone 7 and I see you corrected that in the above list. The 7 to 7.5 update gave us WP7.5 users a lot of great options(I have a Samsung Focus).

    Standarization of apps is not a bad thing in that you can translate user skills from one app to the next. My wife spent all of her 8 years at a local software company standardizing the graphic design for their documentation in the 1988-1998 period. But if you want to have different apps with different ways to use all of them more power to you!

    No mention was made of the fact that since so much is built in to the phone in terms of apps you don't need as many. With Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Outlook and Windows Live all build in to the People app you really don't need much else. And if you do there are options for virtually all the "stock" MSFT apps for Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, IE and so on.

    More cores may be necessary for some OS's but my 1 gHz processor runs my Focus just fine. And the newer single cores are faster still. There are supposidly dual core Winddows phones in the pipeline and hopefully they won't hurt battery life or heat up the phone too much. My new car is a 6 cylinder instead of a 4 and now my gas milage has gone from 21 to 15 so sometimes more power isn't the best thing!

    The display of "only 800 by 480" looks quite nice on my Focus and also on the Lumia 900 but that of course is personal preference. Same with the old 720p vs 1080i or p argument. Don't get me started about the lack of 1080i support in PS3 games! My TV didn't suppor 720p so the PS3 down-rezzed all my games to 480p and Sony told me that was because their machine was "so intelligent".

    The XBOX 360 integration with the phone is nice, the XBOX Live phone games are great and dispite what Kevin stated there are alternatives to most of the games the app marketplace lacks(Chick'n'Vixens for Angry Birds, Rainbow Rapture for Tiny Wings) and so on.

    No mention was made of the integration with Skydrive for documents, pictures or the included Office app with Excel, Word, Powerpoint(edit only) and One Note. I've been using Skydrive for several years and it just keeps getting better. Plus 25 gig of free storage for anyone, Mac or PC compatible. Or the integration of your appointment calendar with Windows Live online and Outlook.I put my appointments on the phone and they show up automatically in Live and Outlook calendars.

    Most people I have shown WP7.5 to really like the interface and anyone that really tries to learn a little about it finds it a good experience(not Molly Wood)! I have over 200 games, 25 XBOXLive games, 4 or 5 movies, about 100 apps and a large music collection on my Focus(added a 32 gig card) and can't recommend the Windows Phone 7.5 experience enough.

    Thanks for reading all this!

    Posted: April 10, 2012 5:14 PM
    Big_Swifty
AdChoices