X

Silent Hill: Downpour Video Review

Posted: March 14, 2012
Silent Hill: Downpour Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/57744/silent-hill-downpour-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/293907_LGST/silent-hill-downpour.jpg
Video_57744
Silent Hill: Downpour might contain one of the best stories in the series. Where does that leave it in the ranks? Find out as Adam Sessler has our review.

Comments are Closed

  • Pammy778

    Whoever said this is the weakest Game is wrong & full of it I havnt had a hard time timing my attacks! I love this game & IM totally ready for the next one! I love the unlockables !

    Posted: April 19, 2012 6:19 PM
    Pammy778
  • Pammy778

    I love Silent Hill Downpour I have only played the first four! But its scary terrifying,great story !

    Posted: April 19, 2012 6:06 PM
    Pammy778
  • Kelleswass

    I respect adam...But i don't trust his judgement on this..So im buying it :)

    Posted: April 17, 2012 5:58 PM
    Kelleswass
  • JE9

    yah, the game izn't the best, and i can't proudly admit that without trying to make the game sound better than it iz. i'm just gald to have some new Silent Hill to go through

    Posted: March 19, 2012 4:31 PM
    JE9
  • Everetthitch

    I love it when someone gives a game a bad score just because they are not any good at It.

    I've had no problem with combat so far. I've rarely "missed" when I swing, and have only "died" once due to combat on the normal setting.

    Perhaps if this reviewer played the game for more than a few minutes they might be better at it?

    Posted: March 19, 2012 11:33 AM
    Everetthitch
  • heatmonkey

    yes, the game has its problems and is surely nothing to be psyched over, but to call it the worst in the series? i have been a silent hill fan for years and playing the game (as far as 20%) i can honestly say its delivering. The gameplay mechanics are origanally the same as past experiences where i came to notice the same feeling of combat, and to wonder hopelessly throught the creepy town of silent hill bringing back that first feeling of love for the genre, i was happy to buy it! The combat and the split pause loading screens dont cut its way through the joy of puzzle solving, and game sequence scares, although a little annoying at times this game still rocks. (only hoping it gets better with characters, weapons, and puzzles)

    Posted: March 17, 2012 2:16 AM
    heatmonkey
  • CrookedXVein

    Personally, I don't understand all the complaining about Downpour. I'm enjoying the hell out of it and I've been playing Silent Hill since the original. It is a pretty damn spooky experience playing this thing, especially in 3D with some decent surround sound headphones. Yeah, the combat isn't that spectacular, but it isn't that kind of game. The biggest problem I have with the game is the framerate on the PS3 version that pops up from time to time. I'm enjoying the open environment and the side quests are a pretty neat addition.

    Posted: March 16, 2012 5:52 PM
    CrookedXVein
  • D00mus

    Agreed about the difficult combat, but it in the previous games the combat was crafted for that purpose and succeeded at its intended purpose. In this installment, the combat is plagued by flaws pertaining to its own design rather than being so purposefully flawed

    Posted: March 15, 2012 1:40 AM
    D00mus
  • Goddhand

    "I found myself swinging and missing frequently, even when I seemed to time my attacks perfectly following a block or a missed attack by my foe."

    AMY? Is that you?

    Posted: March 15, 2012 12:21 AM
    Goddhand
  • CareyGrant

    That's part of what I liked about Silent Hill 2, that you WEREN'T some super human killing machine or SPARTAN space marine, which is realistic, and in turn, is extra terrifying (a game is a lot less scary if you can bring the pain like Master Chief or Kratos).

    So if Downpour's combat is at least on par with Silent Hill 2, I've got no problems with it. Sure the frame rate issues and degradable weapons are a major bummer (perhaps they can be patched?), but it sounds like the story/narrative of Downpour is solid, which, to me, is the most important thing. If the story is good, and so long as the other negatives aren't total deal-breakers, I'm cool with it.

    Frankly, I'm kinda surprised QC didn't catch and fix these issues, unless they were planning just to patch them later (which bugs me).

    Posted: March 14, 2012 10:24 PM
    CareyGrant
  • Ashwath-Shetty

    Well there is information about the monster then it will be helpful for the other and also it might reading it. http://forums.techarena.in/vid eo-games/1457957.htm

    Posted: March 14, 2012 9:56 PM
    Ashwath-Shetty
  • crocodilius

    i don't know, isn't bad combat the staple of horror games.
    i think they want you to run.
    probably should've just copy+paste Homecoming's combat,
    where you learn it or GTFO.

    Posted: March 14, 2012 9:25 PM
    crocodilius
AdChoices