X

Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Gameplay Preview

Posted: February 28, 2012
Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Gameplay Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/57521/transformers-fall-of-cybertron-gameplay-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/292892_LGST/transformers-fall-of-cybertron.jpg
Video_57521
Old-school bot battler Transformers: Fall of Cybertron picks up right where Transformers: War For Cybertron left off, and Morgan Webb gets an early look at characters and abilities from Game Director Matt Tieger, and checks out Grimlock the space T-Rex.

Comments are Closed

  • samsterdamm

    every ability should have a disadvantage... If optimus has an aerial strike that doesn't make him vulnerable in some way, its overpowered. Abilities like that spitting out of tons of mines from DOTM were awesome and made you vulnerable, but were capable of getting guys out of cover if used right. Mini-nuke was another awesome one, and if everyone had evade you would easily get away from it. Not only that, but the shield ability from WFC was freakin awesome, allowed leaders to get to front lines, and survive if they did it right, but they had to strategically place the shield. Each ability should have an upside and a downside, and have a way to help you wind up ahead only if used right. Big classes, since they are slow, should have ways to get guys out of cover. But they should be overpowered and spammed, like warcry, or rocket barrage from DOTM.

    Posted: March 17, 2012 7:34 PM
    samsterdamm
  • samsterdamm

    Oh, and I really think the ability that shoots out tons of grenades from DOTM would be a fine and awesome ability. It has potential to destroy tons of enemies, but it can easily run into walls if the enemies just run and hide, or they could kill the target using it if he was reckless with it.

    Posted: March 16, 2012 2:07 PM
    samsterdamm
  • samsterdamm

    Finally, the shotgun should be the ultimate burst damage, guerilla warefare weapon. It should be capable of a 1hit kill at close range, and it should shoot VERY slowly, and just 2 or 3 shots at medium range should kill someone. A grenade and a shot at once should kill somebody from any range, because together its the ultimate burst damage. And I think that also to enhance its range, you should make it so it has a charged focused shot, that charges for a really long time, and then FORCES you to shoot, and almost kills the enemy. That way, from any range you have to beware the shotgun, but it would be very difficult to get a shot off from afar since you have to charge, and it would force you to shoot when its ready. It would be easy to get to cover in time even if you were in the wide open. This along with the idea of it stealing lots of health, would make for a REALLY unique weapon, because it would be the ultimate guerilla warfare, survival tactical weapon, if you did it right. You could make the rate of fire super slow, and make it so other weapons kill much faster, especially a machine gun, and then basically if you ever got the guy with the shotgun out of cover, he would be dead, but otherwise he would keep getting his life back and gradually doing damage to you. And if you let him get close, or let him hit you with a grenade, he could kill you quickly. It would make for a truly unique balance of weapons. And also, I think that the pistol should also be capable of a melee mid-dash while other weapons would not be capable, and capable of throwing grenades mid-dash. That way, you could finish targets, or alter their movements while getting away.
    Oh, and about vehicle form... I think that airplanes should have aerial bombings for one thing. For another thing, airplanes should definitely have hover so they can use cover mid-air. I think that's one of the biggest uses of being an airplane. But also, vehicle form should have the most powerful machine gun, and be the quickest as well I think. Since you can't use cover like you can in normal form it would be fair and awesome. I think that vehicle form could also have rockets, but they would have to be rockets that don't do a ton of damage, just like as much damage as a pistol. You don't want people charging around using rockets all days that pierce cover, and destroying everyone and doing nothing else. The only case in which it would be okay for rockets to do lots of damage, would be if you let tanks be able to quickly switch to a siege tank form, and be instantly immobile but capable of doing tons of rocket damage. And one final idea- If you made it so switching forms took long enough, or made you vulnerable in the middle of switching, it would make it so you would have to use it differently in different situations. While fighting a guy using a pistol, you might be able to switch forms since the pistol doesn't kill you extremely fast. But while fighting a machine gun, you would have to dash rather than transform. These different weapons, and their overall damage, amount of damage dealt in bursts, and different types of transportation all could make for a very very unique playstyle, especially if you HAD GRENADES in the game.

    Posted: March 11, 2012 11:39 AM
    samsterdamm
  • samsterdamm

    Hey, I have got a couple things to say, about what I am seeing. First of all, I couldn't quite tell how effective the machine gun was, but you really want to make sure that it is incredibly effective. With dashing and all, especially for the scout classes, it would be very difficult to get many shots off with a machine gun. The machine gun should kill a guy near instantly because its easy to dodge it and get to cover once the guy starts shooting. I played War for Cybertron, and the machine was almost never used, ever, because it was impossible to get shots off. Of course, in that game there was the ridiculous double jumping, and melees making you leap forward, so people would double jump and melee and you couldnt hit them at all with a machine gun. But even without that, with everyone having dashing, which you guys say you did, you better make sure that the machine gun kills DANG fast, like near instant kill.
    Another thing... I didn't see optimus using any abilities in this. I think there are creative things you could do, like giving the big guys abilities like a mininuke, which would be perfectly fair since it makes you so vulnerable, or the grenade launching ability from the DOTM game, or an aerial strike or hammer of dawn type waepon... They have got to have something for strategically getting the enemy out of cover, so that they can then hit the enemy with the machine gun and kill them quickly. The big guys are slower than scouts, so they have got to have some way to alter the enemy's movements to get them in situations where they can kill them. Another ability that was perfectly fair in DOTM was the rocket turret... It made you soooo slow, but was really powerful. A weapon like that would be cool, where you would have to not only equip it, but then hold L and wait a second for it to aim kinda like how it took a second to pull out the rocket turret in DOTM, so they were alerted, plus it made you slug slow. But, you should always have to use cover while using this kinds of abilities, because otherwise you are slow and in the open, and can just be shot down. Oh, and one major question... WHERE ARE THE GRENADES??!! Grenades are the best part of an epic shooter in my opinion. Especially in a game where there are so many ways to travel, you could have huge grenades that blow up slowly, and it would be fair because people could strategically dodge them using a number of ways of transportation. And then, the game would be about strategically out-thinking the enemy.

    Not only all that, but the guerrilla burst-damage weapons also seem quite disappointing... For one thing, where is the pistol? That was one of the freaking coolest weapons EVER from War for Cybertron. The best thing about it was that you could dash and fire with it at the same time, and its slow rate of fire made it so you could dodge shots and hit the enemy back from afar. It's one of the weapons that made the scouts so darn unique... For another thing, I have a question about the sniper rifle... I can't tell which one of these two ways that it works, but I hope that it is option B:
    Option A: You have to hold still, and aim at a target for a while for it to do a large amount of damage and be a one shot kill.
    Option B: You do not have to specifically aim at a target, but you have to hold down A and stop moving, for it to charge up for about a second, and then shoot anybody and it's a one shot kill.
    Oh, and in either option, being shot at should totally make the aiming go off and prevent you from shooting, so that you always have to hide to use it.
    The reason option B is preferred, is because if it were option A, then that means it is basically a machine gun. A machine gun is a weapon that gradually does damage, as long as the guy stays out in the open and doesn't quickly move out of the way. The point in a sniper rifle is that you can charge it up, and then if anybody runs into the line of fire, they are dead INSTANTLY. Big difference. And of course, like i have told you guys before, a weapon like this that is a 1 hit kill, should shine brightly or alert the enemy of it's presence. I hope you also have that chargeup gun soundwave had as a 1 hit kill, it was overpowered in DOTM, but its perfectly fair if you make it so they can't run while charging or evade.

    Posted: March 11, 2012 11:25 AM
    samsterdamm
  • OverlordWilson

    Face it, we all want to play as Grimlock.

    Posted: February 29, 2012 8:23 PM
    OverlordWilson
  • CloneKev

    what about Hulk Hogan and Macho Man?

    Posted: February 29, 2012 4:25 PM
    CloneKev
  • KingGainerXan

    "In the video below you'll meet three autobots, Jazz, Vortex and Grimlock."

    Hate to be nitpicky, but Vortex is a Decepticon (and a Combaticon).

    I cannot put into words how much I want this game...

    Posted: February 29, 2012 1:06 PM
    KingGainerXan
  • ninenightmares

    Yes please!

    Posted: February 29, 2012 8:08 AM
    ninenightmares
  • BoydofZINJ

    Transformer games have always been lack luster.... I HOPE this breaks the mold!

    Posted: February 28, 2012 6:50 PM
    BoydofZINJ
  • Dante8016

    Great video and an awesome game cant wait to have it yeahhhh.

    Posted: February 28, 2012 5:01 PM
AdChoices