X

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Video Review

Posted: February 13, 2012
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/57326/kingdoms-of-amalur-reckoning-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/292151_LGST/kingdoms-of-amalur-reckoning.jpg
Video_57326
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, the action RPG and hugely ambitious first offering from Curt Schilling's 38 Studios, has arrived, and Adam Sessler weighs in on the giant world of myth and fate with our video review.

Comments are Closed

  • Athtsak

    The demo is worth checking out, after completing the demo you get some really cool stuff for MassEffect3.

    That's it.

    Posted: May 3, 2012 9:56 PM
    Athtsak
  • Athtsak

    The demo is worth checking out, after completing the demo you get some really cool stuff for MassEffect3.

    That's it.

    Posted: May 3, 2012 9:54 PM
    Athtsak
  • shoody

    I don't see how KoA got a 2.5 when it looks glorious and it has the features of some really great games. In my opinion, KoA has a mixture of Skyrim and Fable. Both games got high scores which is why I can't see them not recognizing that this is a really great game.

    Posted: February 22, 2012 10:28 AM
    shoody
  • gsting

    I have been a fan of G4 for years and for the most part agree with their reviews. Some past reviews have saved me $60. However, Disagree with Adam on this one. I do not think Adam is an idiot. I just disagree with his review of the game. KOAR is a great game that deserves to be played.

    Posted: February 19, 2012 12:37 PM
    gsting
  • Mr_Eko_73

    Wow- I've been off G4 for a long time. How long have they been putting the ".5" in the review scores? I remember a few years back they said they HATED review scores that had 1/2 marks.

    Posted: February 18, 2012 11:26 AM
    Mr_Eko_73
  • Cobrawar

    I don't understand why they keep trying to make action RPG's they fail so Badly. Especially in a fantasy setting. To say this game is a disappointment is not fair. Ive only played the demo but it seems really fun. R.A Salvatore writing and Mc Farlane on character design is a rare combination for a game. This game shows much promise.

    Although I do suspect Adam Sessler hates action RPG's as much as I do lol. Its not fair to insult the man hes just doing his Job. Dragon age origins had the perfect formula yet they seem to refuse to make another game like it, while Dragon age 2 nearly started a revolt on biowares forums, yet they continue to make more games like it, go figure.

    Posted: February 18, 2012 7:22 AM
  • chaosmagician42

    I have to agree with them on this one-played the demon and it felt like i was playing a new game with the story system form 3 or more years ago -unlike games like mass effect the mc is lifeless -and i was unimpressed with the combat -overall it need some more polish but im betting they rushed it out so they could have a tie in with mass effect 3 -which this does not help it.

    Posted: February 15, 2012 4:41 PM
  • knivetsil

    Wow, a lot of people seem *angry* at Adam for having a different opinion than they do. His job as reviewer is to give his opinion on a game, and that's exactly what he did. I don't see why he's an idiot for not liking a game that you liked.

    Personally, this review confirms for me that G4 reviews, and particularly Adam's reviews, are a perfect match for my gaming tastes. I suspected that this was true before, but KoA:R is the first game I've played of which Adam's assessment differed greatly from that of most other reviewers out there, and I have to say, I agree with him almost point for point.

    I'm 40 hours into the game right now. They've been pretty fun for the most part - the combat is great, and the leveling system is the smoothest and most intricate I've ever experienced. But now that I'm 40 hours in, I'm discovering that that's pretty much all there is to the game. The plot, the settings, and the quests are only there to serve as a backdrop for the (admittedly enjoyable) combat, but with no characters or story that I actually care about, there's nothing there that makes me want to drop another 60 hours to play this game to the end.

    Posted: February 15, 2012 12:05 AM
    knivetsil
  • pcvolwarrior81

    adam sessler, you are a tard, quite simply. this is quickly becoming one of my favorite games. i don't know what the hell they were expecting from this game, but i am heartily enjoying this one. Are the graphics as good/ realistic as skyrim? no, but they didn't have to be. Is the story as epic/ original as skyrim? WHO CARES? This is one of the most satisfying games i've played in a while. Not many games have the combat of darksiders with a full rpg world/story/customization system, etc. This one gets a 9/10 from me. HATERS GONNA HATE

    Posted: February 14, 2012 3:03 PM
    pcvolwarrior81
  • Vman91

    I agree with a lot of what Adam said in his review. The problem is a lot of people dont read the reviews, they look at the score and the score, in my opinion, says that this game is worse then it is. If X-Play is doing half scores now, I would have given it a 3.5. The combat is really fun, even if you pretty much have all the skills you will use within a few hours. But the story is severely lacking. And to those who brought up the Skyrim story; Yes the main story is nothing really amazing, but its the world in which it takes place. Not to mention all the side quest. I mean, the Dark Brotherhood alone chain was better then any of the quest I have done in KoA:R. Not to mention that KoA was just so generic to a point that it was almost laughable. But with all that said, I still feel that the number score should have been a little higher. The combat and animations are really good, but the RPG elements are just bits and pieces of everything you have done past games, and probably enjoyed them more in those other games.

    You have to remember, this review is for a $60 game. If I had to recommend a RPG to somebody who wanted a world so deep that they could be lost in there for month's at a time, it would not be KoA. But if somebody asked me for a game where they would have fun killing monsters, looting, but didn't really care why, then I would definitely tell them to give KoA a look.

    Posted: February 14, 2012 7:10 AM
    Vman91
  • whoooooopi

    Despite the review, I bought the game. After 40 hours clocked in, kinda wish I hadn't. This game is essentially "Torchlight" with the camera zoomed in. There are plenty of action rpg's out there that deliver a good story.

    This simply isn't one of them.

    I'll invest 100 hours in a game, but the story has to pull me forward. Without the story, I just don't care. Good review, Sess. Fair and accurate.

    Posted: February 14, 2012 6:27 AM
    whoooooopi
  • blueboykc

    and the sad thing believe it or not ppl on here take what he says to heart..they actually listen to this idiots review..and because of that those ppl wont buy this game..he cost them sales with a bias review..how can that be ok?!?! its not and in my book never will be...amalur is a GREAT game regardless that hack says..

    Posted: February 14, 2012 3:13 AM
    blueboykc
  • blueboykc

    look at his skyrim review he gave it a 5/5 even noting pretty much the same "flaws" as koa but gave it a 2.5..look at both reviews something is seriously off..he said the story in koa was "turgid" what about the story in skyrim? are you telling me its better? im saying its not, its generic!!

    i think the truth of the matter is he went into this game thinking it would be their version of skyrim and when it wasnt he was dissapointed..i think he went into this game with expectations of it being something it wasnt..instead of reviewing the game for what it was he reviewed it for what he thought it was going to be..he was not objective..

    Posted: February 14, 2012 3:09 AM
    blueboykc
  • Mojobechi

    How could the story be a deciding faction in an "ACTION" RPG?

    There have been some awesome games released recently totally devoted to storylines - in my opinion it's great to have a game in which it's just fun to kill stuff.

    This is one of the best Action RPGs I've seen in years.

    Posted: February 14, 2012 1:37 AM
    Mojobechi
  • axekickyoface

    I just lost all respect for this show and their reviews.

    Posted: February 13, 2012 9:33 PM
    axekickyoface
  • blueboykc

    adam sessler is a jackass...plain and simple..i seriously dont know what bug hes got up his ass over this game but it IS NOT A DISAPPOINTMENT..oh and you can go to hell mr sessler..i hope your happy with the sales you cost this great game with your bs review..i reallly hope what ever point you were trying to make was well worth it..you sorry hack..

    Posted: February 13, 2012 6:44 PM
    blueboykc
  • Heartland

    Lesson Learned:
    Gameplay alone cannot overcompensate for other just as valuable mechanisms -- story line, character involvement, and substance of the world -- that is what is at the heart of a role playing game.

    Fallout 3, for as weak an ending as it had (without the Broken Steel DLC), managed everything else to perfection -- a believable world made concrete in its consistent tone, refreshing side quests, effective VATS combat system, and finally, its sheer substance in the amount of detail and care involved in creating this apocalypse.

    Mass Effect 2 also has a visceral combat system, story line and character development as it drives you forward into new environments.

    Posted: February 13, 2012 5:08 PM
    Heartland
AdChoices