X

Nintendo Wii U Hands-On Preview

Posted: January 24, 2012
Nintendo Wii U Hands-On Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/57054/nintendo-wii-u-hands-on-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/291172_LGST/wii-u.jpg
Video_57054
Nintendo's Kit Ellis gives Jessica Chobot a hands-on with Wii successor and entirely new system the Wii U, with looks at backwards compatibility, and prototype game experiences Chase Me, Battle Me, Panorama, and Zelda.

Comments are Closed

  • dj10fld

    Unless they plan to dominate E3 with so much content for the Wii U I don't see it coming out this year. Or at least not releasing as strong as it should be. As we have yet to see any actual games for the system. And not just 3rd party games that are being released on multiple consoles, but exclusive nintendo only brands (i.e. Zelda, Mario, Donkey Kong, Kid Icarus, Metroid, F-Zero etc...). These are going to be the games that will make people want the system. Not concepts but full on games. Because why would you go out and buy a new system to play 3rd party games if you already own a ps3 or 360, just to what..experience the different control scheme....not good enough. Come ON nintendo show us some 1st party killer apps or your system is going to fail at launch

    Posted: January 25, 2012 7:37 AM
    dj10fld
  • Bomblord

    Well it looks like Nintendo is first out of the gate on a new play control I hope it catches on better this time according to all sources they are getting better 3rd party support and finally fixing the online so this thing may be the best system on the market considering its launching a year before the competition and is going to only be 20% less powerful than the xbox1080p meaning it will have a larger install base and more than likely get most of the good ports.

    Posted: January 25, 2012 5:58 AM
    Bomblord
  • Aaron82

    Maybe they should call it DS HD rather than WiiU.
    It'd be interesting to see some DS games made for larger screens.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 9:55 PM
    Aaron82
  • teac77

    I'm interested in how the Wii U will stand out, while not being able to play DVD/upconverted DVD/Blu-ray. I don't see anything compelling about a "new play style" from short in-house Nintendo games.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 9:07 PM
    teac77
  • Game_Wizard

    Content, content and more content but make damn sure it is good as well. If the PS3 and XBox can keep pumping out awesome titles year after year, so can this system. But if it is treated like the 3DS where the bigger titles don't come out till 6 months to a year after launch and very little content and launch itself, you are just shooting yourself in the foot.

    Which is very sad since Nintendo used to be the standard that gaming industries followed, that was the at the forefront of innovation in this industry especially when the Wii first came out but then all the potential wasn't utilized and now everyone has a Wii but no games that will make people care.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 8:41 PM
    Game_Wizard
  • heckenschutze

    sorry but the Wii U is terrible..... played with it at E3 2011... waste of time. Nintendo needs to target the hardcore gamer now; we know they intended the Wii for the whole family, but now its time to focus on those of us who like video games to the extreme and the Wii U is definitely the wrong direction.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 8:29 PM
    heckenschutze
  • realdt

    The beauty of the Wii U, it isn't finished yet! I'm happy that Nintendo is being extremely vague on the console. How else can you defeat your competition? Let them figure out what they're going to do and try to integrate into YOUR secret project. I think the Wii U will completely pass the Wii. After watching this video, I'm seeing some of these ideas take shape and where they're going to go with this touchscreen controller. I'm very impressed!

    It should be interesting to see with Nintendo and Microsoft have in store for the next gen. Plus, I really hope Nintendo does more of these "experiences" as well with the games!

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:57 PM
  • NINJA_KITTENS

    Well I'm a sucker for new tech.
    I'll admit I bought a Wii, in hope that hardcore shooters would make gaming exciting in new ways. Sadly I was misguided and went back to my PS3 (after selling my Wii).
    I'll admit I played and enjoyed the Playstation Move and the Kinect, yet I was not sold on these concepts. Maybe because I am lazy.
    However, digging deeper I've seen the cool (granted hacked) things that the Vita can do, essentially streaming games from the PS3 to the Vita, and its ability to actually play these games remotely.
    Of course Sony will not allow this to ever happen but if abilities like this can happen on the WiiU (for example playing battlefield 3 or skyrim in my hands on my couch without disturbing anyone else) then I'm sold. But of course this is me wishing...

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:52 PM
    NINJA_KITTENS
  • NINJA_KITTENS

    Well I'm a sucker for new tech.
    I'll admit I bought a Wii, in hope that hardcore shooters would make gaming exciting in new ways. Sadly I was misguided and went back to my PS3 (after selling my Wii).
    I'll admit I played and enjoyed the Playstation Move and the Kinect, yet I was not sold on these concepts. Maybe because I am lazy.
    However, digging deeper I've seen the cool (granted hacked) things that the Vita can do, essentially streaming games from the PS3 to the Vita, and its ability to actually play these games remotely.
    Of course Sony will not allow this to ever happen but if abilities like this can happen on the WiiU (for example playing battlefield 3 or skyrim in my hands on my couch without disturbing anyone else) then I'm sold. But of course this is me wishing...

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:51 PM
    NINJA_KITTENS
  • Game_Wizard

    I agree with Jessica, make Zelda HD a game!

    Also, not just Zelda but just games in general and not crappy "casual" titles. You won't make much money that way Nintendo. Make a lot of games and make sure they are at launch and not 6 months down the line for no good reason.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:36 PM
    Game_Wizard
  • gottskillmour

    How would you play local multiplayer with a controller like that? I imagine those are pretty pricey so people won't be buying four of em.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:18 PM
    gottskillmour
  • gottskillmour

    How would you play local multiplayer with a controller like that? I imagine those are pretty pricey so people won't be buying four of em.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:15 PM
    gottskillmour
  • gottskillmour

    How would you play local multiplayer with a controller like that? I imagine those are pretty pricey so people won't be buying four of em.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:15 PM
    gottskillmour
  • gottskillmour

    How do you play local multiplayer with controllers like that? I imagine you won't have four controllers?

    Posted: January 24, 2012 7:12 PM
    gottskillmour
  • redmario7

    Can't wait to see the final touch of the Wii U before the announcement of a release date.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 6:40 PM
    redmario7
  • applebook

    THE DEFINITION of "gimmick..."

    Posted: January 24, 2012 6:33 PM
    applebook
  • tcs0

    The Wii U better come out this year or its all over for mankind.

    Posted: January 24, 2012 5:25 PM
    tcs0
AdChoices