X

Star Wars: The Old Republic Video Review

Posted: January 17, 2012
Star Wars: The Old Republic Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/56947/star-wars-the-old-republic-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/290860_LGST/star-wars-the-old-republic.jpg
Video_56947
Just how good is Star Wars: The Old Republic? Good enough to dethrone World of Warcraft? And should that question even matter? Find out as Blair Herter has our review.

Comments are Closed

  • Daegon185

    You have to remember that this game is new, It isnt going to have the Mods etc that WOW has until they are integrated and useable. Bugs will be fixed, things will improve as players play the game and give feedback. No one can deny that as a release game it has conquered the MMO world and changed it forever. WOW will never be the same, especially since there next race is a Panda haha. SWTOR is a huge game changer, and already WOW has suffered in member loss since its release. WOW doesn't listen to its fans, Bioware does, and that is the difference. From the reports I read, Bioware wanted you to be able to have that single player freedom off the launch to ease players into the game, and eventually will be focusing just on the MMO aspect after a certain level to ensure the game holds its genre of "MMO" Do your research before you complain about all the negatives. ALLLLLL games have negatives and improvements that can be done to them, depends on how much of a complainer you are, the effort was definitly p[ut into the game, I would say more effort was put into this game then ALL of the WOW expansions combined. Im a huge WOW fan, but it is just repetative now, nothing really NEW has been brought in for a long time. New races but people then go on a huge server overload of them. I remember the Death Knight addition, Everyone and their kitchen sink had a Death Knight. SWTOR finally brings something new with their unique class systems. 8 DIFFERENT, 4 per side, I think that is much better. So no Shaman on each side is the same, WoW reference. So there is finally some difference btw the "Good and Bad" guys.

    As a game release with the expectation that there will be some things wrong in the begining, especially for a MMO and anything online, I think the 5 is well deserved but now that 5 needs to be maintained and that is where games go bad. As long as Bioware does what it has in the past and listens to its fans they will succeed and they will succeed very well!!

    Posted: February 23, 2012 3:07 PM
  • WEB11

    I've been playing SWTOR for a month now and this game is really more of a single player than a MMO, since when it's a good thing not to need the help of other players to progress in a MMO? I miss the old EverQuest classic days when you actually had to interact with other players to do anything past level 10.

    Posted: January 25, 2012 12:12 PM
    WEB11
  • Designedcoma

    New link for the new iteration of the thread. Remember, remove the space to get to the page. The space that is put in there for what ever reason when I paste it in here. Remove it between the i and t in community.

    http://www.swtor.com/communi ty/showthread.php?t=198142

    Posted: January 19, 2012 1:49 PM
    Designedcoma
  • Designedcoma

    OK, so, see the space that is being put in there between the i and t in community. Remove it for the right link.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 1:41 PM
    Designedcoma
  • Designedcoma

    The link. The space in there is messing up the link so here it is again.

    http://www.swtor.com/communi ty/showthread.php?t=177776

    Posted: January 19, 2012 1:40 PM
    Designedcoma
  • Designedcoma

    I have to say, this is a bit much on the stars. Its a great game, don't get me wrong. But in my previous post as I said, just follow the thread in SWTOR customer service forums titled Horrible FPS. Now you can call them cry babies all you want, but when you have a massive rig like some of them do and they can't play the game because of poor FPS you have to wonder if the hero engine was the best option. Or, someone is not coding optimally.

    I can play the game, but only single play. Can't group with a friend, because it lags like no tomorrow and make a bad experience. I almost cancelled last night but decided I will ride this out and hope they get it running better. When I can get 60 fps in WoW which is no more graphic intensive that SWTOR but can't get 60 FPS in SWTOR something is wrong. No its not my computer, it well exceeds the minimum. In fact, I only look at recommended. I make games as well on this machine with no issues. Call the people in that thread cry babies all you want. But when this FPS issues is ignored and honestly, can't believe it was missed by G4. Here is the link.
    http://www.swtor.com/communi ty/showthread.php?t=177776
    This is on its 10th iteration of this thread I think, could be more. Yes I know how to code, tell me to fix if you want but, I don't get paid to do that from EA or Bioware

    Posted: January 19, 2012 1:39 PM
    Designedcoma
  • Tigerslim

    Fiiiine.



    SWTOR FTW!!!

    Posted: January 19, 2012 9:51 AM
  • Tigerslim

    SWTOR is a great game. This will for sure upset the WOW fan base and make them as mad as ever. dont get me wrong i am a huge WARCRAFT lore nerd and loved wow but now that game lore is sadly dead.

    SWTOR offers alot that wow never has. i enjoy the game and have not had so much fun in a MMO in a long time.


    ill miss WOW but i no longer enjoy it. On to the Future of gaming.


    WOW fan boys your hate is not needed. relax if you dislike the game then thats fine dont try to force it on others.

    every game has issues at launch even wow still has issues today. want proof look at gen forums. you all seem mad about the nerfs. so go fight one another there.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 9:44 AM
  • LongMuckDong

    Best. MMO. Ever.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 5:12 AM
    LongMuckDong
  • teac77

    It's a trap!

    Posted: January 18, 2012 7:43 PM
    teac77
  • Raqaz

    Hmmmm, 5 stars out of 5? I wonder how much EA paid G4. Look, I am a subscriber to the game, and really, really want it to succeed. But 5 stars? Really?

    "Minor gripes, including no customizable UI." OK, let's talk about that a second. No macros of any kind. Unable to move frames. No target of target. No threat meter. No combat log. Forget the inability to add mods.

    "Every class plays differently." Really? There are maybe a total of 30 or 40 quests that are unique to each class. Basically 2 main quest lines per planet (and the assorted sub-quests attached to the main quest). That's it. You have the same quests otherwise that all characters must complete simply to get the levels needed to do those handful of class quests.

    "Huttball is our favorite." What?!? Basically a free for all, no strategy, and level 50s up against level 15s. Imperial vs. Imperial. Never mind that the lag in pvp makes most pvp just a constant mashing of buttons, and let's not forget the ever popular class balance (not!)

    "Space combat is a welcome diversion." Huh? It's basically pointless. It is a glorified rail shooter. Get upgrades, shoot a few things, avoid five or six asteroids, and voila, space combat! Oh, if you press the space bar, you do a barrel roll! A barrel roll doesn't actually do anything game-wise, but you can do it!

    Did I mention no UI customization, no macros, no target of target, and meters of any kind? Yes, that makes competitive raiding a possibility. Well, hmmm, considering that all raids, including the hard levels, are basically tank and spanks? Because there's no way to do anything more complex. You have no idea of tanks/healers/dps are pulling their weight. You have no way to know why someone died and how to fix it.

    Oh, and let's talk about bugs. And random crashes for no apparent reason. And no high rez textures. No AA. No effective LFG tool of any kind (and before we get the fanbois saying that there is an LFG, it's pretty much useless, especially if heavens forbid you need to find a replacement mid-flashpoint.

    "Crafting is fun." Really? Try useless. The two professions that had a semblance of use just got nerfed to the ground. So now all professions are useless.

    Look, I am still playing. I am still pvping, still raiding. But really, G4, Five out of five stars? This game, as it is now, is barely deserving of three, if that. I have lost a lot of respect for G4's editorial fidelity.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 2:40 PM
    Raqaz
  • Immortal_Joker

    DAMN I LOVE THIS GAME!!!

    Posted: January 17, 2012 5:18 PM
    Immortal_Joker
AdChoices