X

New Review Ratings System

Posted: January 17, 2012
New Review Ratings System
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/56945/new-review-ratings-system/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/290858_LGST/x-play-ratings-change.jpg
Video_56945
For years X-Play has reviewed games using a 5-star system, but starting now that all changes. Adam Sessler and Morgan Webb explain.

Comments are Closed

  • Hydronide

    Adam looks like max payne now.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 10:49 AM
  • FuzzofPekinopolis

    Trityler, you Sir are completely wrong!

    1. Beards protect your neck, jawline, and lips from the sun and cold/wind.

    2. If lost in the open ocean, beards can be used as a filtering device for all kinds of seafood (krill).

    3. Zombie Apocalypse? Beards will keep all the tainted blood from entering you mouth, thus saving you from being infected.

    4. Face pillow.

    These are just a few of the things that a well kept beard can do for you. And that is why you are completely wrong. 5/5

    Posted: January 18, 2012 10:43 AM
    FuzzofPekinopolis
  • spikeykirby

    amy?

    Posted: January 18, 2012 9:41 AM
    spikeykirby
  • Buckeyes67890

    Everyone go look at the IGN GOTY YouTube video comments. They are hilarious!!! Yes G4 employees can laugh at them too. HAHAHA

    Posted: January 18, 2012 9:22 AM
  • Trityler

    Remember X-Play, there will always be jerks on the interwebz you can't reason with, no matter what your rating system or opinions are. I still say throw the numbers out the window, encourage people to read (or at least listen) a bit. Those are skills we can use in the real world. And because everyone else is giving their two cents about it, I give Adam's beard a 3 out of 5. "A 3 is a beard. It dosen't really excel in any department, but it works." Full review later.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 5:05 AM
    Trityler
  • flash3x3

    finally decided to let the hair go huh? I feel ya man. male pattern baldness is a bitch! Baldies unite!

    Posted: January 18, 2012 4:47 AM
  • Funk_Doc

    Adam with a beard and talking about a number/star rating system and actually adding .5 rating system!!?!? The 2007 Adam is rolling over in his grave. It really is 2012 head for the hills!!

    Posted: January 18, 2012 3:52 AM
  • jstein1992

    Haha Adam you are kind of starting to look like Hugo Strange from Batman Arkham City

    Posted: January 18, 2012 12:59 AM
    jstein1992
  • H2OGoliath

    A little too late for this, guys. We should have had this change a LONG time ago.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 12:35 AM
    H2OGoliath
  • xplayfan1500

    I think the new rating system is fine. It's now completly similar to the movie rating system used by critics for years. It's also very clever because it takes the hot air out of everybodys arguments. When people burn up the comments section because a game gets a 5 that isn't perfect. To which no games are perfect. I look at it this way for example. Under the new system Call of Duty MW3 maybe would have scored a 4.5/5. Wereas Battlefield would score a 4/5. Thus saying that MW3 is better than Battlefield 3, but not as good or amazing as Skyrim which we all know would score a 5/5 in any rating system. So bravo Xplay, you just made yourself more interesting.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 8:38 PM
  • markoclix

    wow. Not digging the beard/ shaved head Adam. Oh well. Kudos for trying something different.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 8:07 PM
  • ToddOfWar

    If they would rerate Zelda Skyward Sword it would Get a 4.5/5!

    This means the reviews will be better!

    Posted: January 17, 2012 7:51 PM
  • NortheastMonk

    .5; thats an embarrasment to the person who spends the money. This adds so much paranoia to choosing which game you already haven't decided on purchasing. I like it a lot.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 6:45 PM
    NortheastMonk
  • Cloud1986

    Did X-Play just go back to the rating system of GameSpot TV? Is it 1998 again?

    Posted: January 17, 2012 6:39 PM
    Cloud1986
  • Jtoon

    So what would SWTOR really get then?

    Posted: January 17, 2012 6:37 PM
    Jtoon
  • joughy

    Dude...Adam, the new look is dizope! (although you're biting my style...bald head and a beard...yeah, that's mine)

    Posted: January 17, 2012 6:16 PM
    joughy
  • Mystyr_E

    Still won't stop the comments lighting up with vitriol and bile.

    Imagine the scenario: Mass Effect 3, one of the most anticipated games of 2012....

    getting a 4.5.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 6:10 PM
    Mystyr_E
  • Waas666

    I was hoping that it would have jumped to 1-10 but 1/2 stars will help. On a side note, I am so happy that Adam finally decided to just shave his head.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 5:25 PM
  • Skithee

    Boo Metacritic!

    Posted: January 17, 2012 5:10 PM
  • Avaj

    So now it is just going to be an x/10 score? Ok.

    Posted: January 17, 2012 5:10 PM
    Avaj
AdChoices