X

New Review Ratings System

Posted: January 17, 2012
New Review Ratings System
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/56945/new-review-ratings-system/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/290858_LGST/x-play-ratings-change.jpg
Video_56945
For years X-Play has reviewed games using a 5-star system, but starting now that all changes. Adam Sessler and Morgan Webb explain.

Comments are Closed

  • crazyfooinc

    Thank gosh this site is keeping the stars; I prefer them over the 1-10 system.

    Posted: January 21, 2012 9:34 AM
    crazyfooinc
  • untitledbymiles

    oh.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 10:38 AM
  • Blaze016

    Wasn't there a Soapbox episode that Adam backed the old system not too long ago? Also, was this a decision made at the top that was forced on the reviewers or mutually agreed on by everyone?

    Personally, I liked the old system, but at least there isn't a Letter grade or *gets chills* 100 point score system (I include IGN's system in this category).

    Posted: January 19, 2012 9:52 AM
  • hoof_hearted4

    i like this change. adds for a little more accuracy when using that scale, but like they said. read the damn review or at least watch the video review (preferably both)

    Posted: January 19, 2012 9:36 AM
    hoof_hearted4
  • scoobythebeast

    If you can't read you can't vote, wasn't that a Jim Crowe law? lol

    Posted: January 19, 2012 9:16 AM
    scoobythebeast
  • shaggysasquach

    there is a good reason for this. the fact is in a 10 point system everything under a 5/10 is considered a crap game and so 1-4's are rare if ever used and really dont mean much. and the fact is people just view the numbers differently. case in point people will accept that a 3/5 could still be a game worth playing (like dead island, fun to be had but with a lot of flaws). but if they see a game rated 6/10 it carries with it a more negative feel and is seen as a bad game or one to steer clear of.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 8:33 AM
    shaggysasquach
  • Bloodthr0e

    Half a star is like half a gold medal. Hopefully, this will alleviate the problem of people ranting about how much they hate rating systems on a review site.

    Posted: January 19, 2012 8:29 AM
  • liarsthieves

    Iam cORnFuSEd isnt that 1 out of 10 Their tRying 2 Oh wow my head hurts just thinking about it . Jazz say High..... oh yeah vote ron paul

    Posted: January 19, 2012 7:28 AM
    liarsthieves
  • Blannthum

    It's been awhile since I've seen X-Play...and when I finally watch a video I see their changing, well adding to the rating system. It's fine with me, oh and Morgan looks skinnier than usual and Adam looks...wait I can't believe I'm saying this...he looks slightly edgy...lmao =D I bet a lady friend made him change up his look. Lol.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 11:58 PM
  • Dr_Worm

    I'm surprised that the rating system is going to include half-stars, but I'm not mad. Sessler has explained multiple times why numerical ratings are flawed, and people complaining about this change, let alone the scores of the games themselves, is damning evidence of that opinion.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 11:41 PM
    Dr_Worm
  • erob90

    So they say they are keeping the 5 star scale but now adding 0.5?? LOL, that's a 10 point scale. Why are they keeping the stars? they could've made it clearer by just starting using 1-10 numbers, that's after all the correct way to read it from now on.

    So bottom line, they are just dropping the 5 point scale for a 10 point scale. was that too hard to explain?? LOL =P

    Posted: January 18, 2012 10:29 PM
    erob90
  • Hydrafiend

    Sounds fine to me, as long as they keep a rating system-don't go the Kotaku route and say, "we liked this, we didnt like this," and then the reader who does not have a ton of time on their hands is sitting there thinking-"ok does that mean that I should get this game or not?"

    Posted: January 18, 2012 8:56 PM
    Hydrafiend
  • Hydrafiend

    Sounds fine to me, as long as they keep a rating system-don't go the Kotaku route and say, "we liked this, we didnt like this," and then the reader who does not have a ton of time on their hands is sitting there thinking-"ok does that mean that I should get this game or not?"

    Posted: January 18, 2012 8:53 PM
    Hydrafiend
  • littleb242

    i could care less, what ever steams their ships

    Posted: January 18, 2012 7:19 PM
    littleb242
  • Flight_Eagle

    Why yes, Rarity is a 5/5. But really guys? Half stars now? Don't get me wrong, I like it, but you just did what you always said you never would. This is now a 10 half-star system. Weird, but hey, you're trying new things.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 5:55 PM
    Flight_Eagle
  • ProudFilipino

    Its gotten a little to easy to get a 5/5 and now its going to be rare to get a 5/5 because the game has to be extraordinary? really guys how many 5/5 have you given COD games? when its just about the same thing every year? I agree that you need a need rating system but come don't be lying to us like that lol still love X-Play though =)

    Posted: January 18, 2012 4:05 PM
    ProudFilipino
  • kfd056

    About Damn Time!

    Posted: January 18, 2012 2:23 PM
    kfd056
  • SoapManpv

    i remeber in older episodes when xplay used to yell at their fans saying that they would never change to a 10 point rating scale - you can still call it 5/5 - but they definitely just changed to 10 points...

    Posted: January 18, 2012 1:09 PM
    SoapManpv
  • Trityler

    Lol. Don't get me wrong, FuzzofPekinopolis. I have nothing against beards, I just think Adam's isn't anything special. Especially when you compare it to BOTYs of the past. Grooming qualities are solid, and it has everything you would expect from a AAA beard released sometime before or after the holiday season. But it doesn't really do anything to set itself apart from the heard. I personally would recommend my friends to rent this beard first before laying down $60 for a new copy. (I don't see the point in buying a used beard at Barberstop for $55, I'd rather pay the extra $5 and support beard developers. Plus, whenever I buy a used beard, it never feels like it's my own copy, if you know what I mean.) Still, I know that there are bigger fans of the genre out there than me, who will probably enjoy it a lot more than I did. But, I think we can all agree it won't go on to become a classic like 98's The Legend of Grizzly Adams: Beard of Time. All I'm asking is that people read my full review (when it comes out) before they start complaining about the score. Although, the good points you brought up are making me consider bumping it up to a 3.5 or 4. The beard market is saturated with zombie blood protectors, but I have never reviewed a zombie protector beard with a krill filter feature before. And I do like rewarding beards with fresh new ideas, even when there is room for improvement. Hopefully the sequel will have multiple ways you can develop your beard, and lots of new beard abilities to unlock.

    Posted: January 18, 2012 12:55 PM
    Trityler
  • Malapropism

    actually you can vote if you can't read,
    i wonder if 5 will really become a rarity, because it's still the reviewer's decision, i think it would really become a rarity if you had more than 1 person reviewing a game

    my guess for first 0.5 game is dynasty warriors

    Posted: January 18, 2012 11:06 AM
    Malapropism
AdChoices