X

MacBook Pro Review

Posted: December 22, 2011
MacBook Pro Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/56783/macbook-pro-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/290034_LGST/as20111222_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_56783

Apple's new MacBook Pro offers state of the art Intel processors, Thunderbolt technology and a longer lasting battery. Chris Hardwick joins Candace Bailey to break down these new features and whether it lives up to Apple standards.

What You Need To Know

  • The MacBook Pro measures less than an inch thick when closed and weighs a little over 5.5 lbs.
  • The laptop features a unibody construction, meaning the body is cut from one solid piece of aluminum.
  • As a result, the machine is very sturdy.
  • The MacBook comes with a standard SD card slot, 2 USB ports, a Thunderbolt and Firewire 800 port.
  • This is the 15.6" with a high-res anti-glare display that's LED backlit and has a maximum resolution of 1680x1050.
  • The details really emerge when you are working with graphics or photo editing.
  • It's not something the average user is going to need to spend the money for.
  • You can upgrade to a high res screen for $100 more or $50 for the anti-glair display.
  • Apple is charging you %50 to not include glass.
  • The backlight keyboard has changed slightly with Lion OS specific function keys.
  • Instead of a dashboard key on F3, you now have Mission Control.
  • F5 is LaunchPad, which essentially is a shortcut to Apps.
  • The multi-touch trackpad is actually glass and as a result, is very responsive.
  • Apple has upped the processor and graphics power, now with a quad core i7 processor.
  • The processors on here are all single chip architecture which makes it more efficient.
  • The model here comes with the AMD Radeon 6770M with 1 GB of RAM.
  • This machine will run Skyrim on the best of them (in Bootcamp) but when you do, be prepared 
  • to burn your lap off.
  • The graphics processor is situated at the top center of the body so that portion of the machine tends to get hot.
  • In fact, if you play close attention, you will notice that Apple doesn't even call them "laptops" anymore and are instead called "portable computers."
  • The question of whether the MacBook Pro or Air is best for the average user has gotten harder and harder to answer.
  • The MacBook Air is not as powerful.
  • The Pro's dedicated graphics processor makes it better suited for design and editing software, as well as gaming.

Price

  • The 15" MacBook Pro starts at $1,799.
  • The version we reviewed costs $2,300.


Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • The Pro has a lot of power and the unibody construction makes this one of the sturdier laptops on the market.
  • We would rate this 5 out of 5 but we feel like it's a little too expensive.

 Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • NInolobo

    I think paying 2300 for a mac it's to much money you can buy a lot things with 2300 you can get a good PC with a large monitor for less and still have money I know mac is a great machine but think about it. 2300 for a laptop you buy a Mac you also buy the name.

    Posted: December 29, 2011 4:30 PM
    NInolobo
  • Spybreak

    Lol @ Chris at the end.

    Posted: December 27, 2011 9:59 AM
    Spybreak
  • Xsuit

    "Portable Computers?" P.C.'s? Hmm...really now?!

    Posted: December 25, 2011 6:24 PM
    Xsuit
  • ZCube

    I have a MacBook Pro. Easily the best cpu I've ever had. Not a big gamer though...but that's one of the very few reasons I would get a PC over Mac. I hate Window's with a passion...until Microsoft greatly overhaul's it, I'll probably never buy another PC.

    Posted: December 25, 2011 11:50 AM
    ZCube
  • youtube.com/kuzznshazziie

    hi

    Posted: December 24, 2011 1:30 PM
    youtube.com%2fkuzznshazziie
  • youtube.com/kuzznshazziie

    Hello , KuzzNshazzie herby gives g4tv permission to use their Macbook Pro unboxing video displayed at youtube.com/kuzznshazziie , please just message me on youtube and also just give me some credit!

    Regards,

    KuzzNshazziie internation
    Youtuber with millions of views / PR of Youtube Stars

    Posted: December 24, 2011 1:30 PM
    youtube.com%2fkuzznshazziie
  • PCTech714

    The Mac vs. PC argument has been going on since the original was released almost 30 years ago. And like so often as these battles go, there is never going to be a definitive winner.

    Personally, I feel a real gamer will never buy a Mac. Native Mac support for games is minimal and those games that are released come out months or even years after their PC counterparts. Being unable to swap out an older motherboard or video card means that you're stuck with aging hardware when the next big game comes out.

    I could never own a computer that I had to buy off of a shelf. I've built all of my PCs since my 486/66 and see no reason to do otherwise, both in price and my ability to completely control what goes into my rig.

    Finally, I've always felt that there's a certain amount of laziness on the part of Mac users. They always praise the reliability of their computers, which I can agree with -- my folks would love one and they wouldn't need to call me if there's a problem...

    Posted: December 24, 2011 6:32 AM
    PCTech714
  • cptpain

    For those who complain about Macs being overpriced.... BUY one and youll know EXACTLY why they are higher priced.

    Not playing with them at the apple store or using someone elses.... BUY ONE.

    You are paying for RELIABILITY. You cant really guarantee that with mix-matched hardware and drivers designed to TRY and work with every conceivable configuration out there.
    You are also paying for the convenience that your product WILL WORK, and have dedicated software designed to run flawlessly.
    And of course you are also paying for a much better customer service experience.

    You cant guarantee that with an open platform, you can only hope for the best

    Posted: December 24, 2011 1:04 AM
    cptpain
  • crazybs

    The thing that amuses me about the whole thing is the graphics card can barely be called average. I guess you buy a service plan and a name, and forget about power. If it was about half the specs/price then a normal person would get it for their e-mail and that's it. Darn the price.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 9:56 PM
    crazybs
  • incubustable

    @icolosus, apple's target audience isn't the "hardcore", its just regular ppl. I was against apple for a long time because I didn't understand why anyone would pay for something that was more expensive but had the same specs or what "appeared" to be worse than comparable pc's, and than I bought a macbook pro. Its an ENORMOUS difference, although I did pay more (I was able to use an employee discount at the time so luckily it wasn't full price). I have had multiple pc's before, and all of them, without fail, fell apart or became unusable, and I take great care of my electronics. I tried building my own gaming rig, but found it to be far more expensive and an extreme hassle when something didn't work right, and eventually I realized pc gaming wasn't for me. Anyways, when ppl want a computer that JUST works, they go with apple, when they want..... something else (something thats less expensive), they go with pc. Its funny, I got my macbook pro a year after my gf bought hers and since than it seems like everyone we know has been switching to mac's, its like a chain reaction or something, word of mouth i guess is a real selling point for apple.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 11:04 AM
    incubustable
  • shdwlink5

    It's just not worth the price. Apple outrageously prices their stuff. The Asus G74SX is way better than that and it's a lot cheaper. I would love to get a MacBook, so I can develop iOS apps easier, but their prices are just way to high.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 10:47 AM
    shdwlink5
  • weasel1219

    Have had one for about a year and has been the best laptop I have ever had. Great stability, great performance does everything I need it to do, plus more. Highly recommend it to anyone. In fact switched all my computers on my home network to mac's, just because they are that good.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 9:33 AM
  • NOhara24

    4/5 is entirely fair. I bought my iMac back in 2009, and the only thing that's holding me back from updating is the sheer amount of money that it would take to replace it.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 8:49 AM
    NOhara24
  • TheSkaterNerd

    I agree, they're a bit expensive, but totally worth it. My 15" Pro is the greatest thing I've ever owned. Definitely worth it.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 8:44 AM
  • RPG-fan

    If price takes a one star off, then no Mac computers should get a 5 star rating. As good as some of those Macs are, a lot of them are overpriced like most Apple products. Much cheaper to build a gaming rig, if you got the know-how, so you can play Skyrim and such without needing Bootcamp and get better specs than what Apple offers.

    Posted: December 23, 2011 5:15 AM
    RPG-fan
  • icolossus90

    2 stars for price. 5 for quality. 4 is fair rating considering he did say he likes himself some apple. really if apple wants to win over the hardcore and get games like skyrim on it, they need to be at least competitive. i feel like they are trying to pull $1000 extra profit when if they were closer to $500 profit it would be competitive. /rant

    Posted: December 23, 2011 2:06 AM
AdChoices