X

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Video Review

Posted: November 21, 2011
The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/56371/the-legend-of-zelda-skyward-sword-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/288507_LGST/the-legend-of-zelda-skyward-sword.jpg
Video_56371
If The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is something of a swan song for the best-selling console of the generation, the Nintendo Wii, then it's a pretty good way to go out. Find out why as Morgan Webb and Adam Sessler deliver our review.

Comments are Closed

  • cause4chaos

    I completely disagree with everyone that is angry they did not give skywardsword a 5. I think Morgan and Adam are the only sane reviewers out there. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this game and the motion controls were excellent apart from the extreme frustrating learning curve. But honestly this game was so sterile. I didn't care about a single character apart from maybe Groose, and even then I felt he was wasted. They were just so lifeless. Take FI for example, she was far more annoying than Navi and was incredibly cold. I really thought this was a huge step back story wise for the franchise. I really missed the interaction Twilight Princess offered with all the interesting characters and place. And the filler in the game felt like a chore. Whenever I had to complete a "goddess trial" I moaned.

    On a more positive note, what the game did right was amazing. The puzzles are the best Zelda has ever produced, and every item was used to the fullest, which was a nice change from only using an item for the temple your in. I also enjoyed the idea of a past based in the future (lanayru desert , robots etc). That opens up a whole new timeline of possibilities for Nintendo to play with if they so choose,

    Posted: January 20, 2012 8:03 PM
    cause4chaos
  • Mariolovesalwsome12

    its priceless timeless and underribibe its a master peace and the best Zelda ever! ign Gave it a 10/10 and U shode have gave it a better review come on guys! :)

    Posted: December 11, 2011 11:44 AM
    Mariolovesalwsome12
  • erib

    If there's any game that deserves a 4/5 it was Twilight Princess. It was great but it had a slow start, tedious wolf link sections, and limited NPC interaction in Castle Town.

    Posted: December 10, 2011 6:23 PM
    erib
  • celestial_nymph

    Pffft these guys know nothing! Zelda does NOT get kidnapped in this game! XDD Haha so stupid! Play the game and then call me! Also I think everyone is mistaking Legend of Zelda with Mario! Hahaha omg.

    Posted: December 10, 2011 4:40 PM
  • bootytwaps

    all of you wanna get slapped.. your just asking for, go run along and play your call of duty and your battlefield kill for fun... join the band wagon, does anybody play video games for fun any more? gosh dang.. G4 you are so gosh dang biased if there wasnt Zelda there wouldn't be a lot of video games around these days.. assassins creed? yeah Zelda was its influence.. so you could say meah i might as well kill my grandma.. im better then her.. shes the same person every single day..

    Posted: December 6, 2011 1:59 PM
  • Sanity's_Theif

    I have to agree with the score, Zelda games are the top tier of video games for sure, and I'm right near the end of the game, but I have to agree there are some VERY annoying things in this game

    -Fi pointing out obvious crap ALL the time, "Master I calculate that there is an 85% chance that key opens a door" NO FREAKIN WAY!

    -Can't skip the text which makes Fi's constant rambling even more frustrating and especially all the shop owners when you know what they're going to say EVERY TIME

    -"You picked up a blessed butterfly" I KNOW, I HAVE 73 OF THEM!! And you can't skip the text which makes it even worse than in Twilight Princess with the rupees

    -Backtracking, I absolutely hate tedious things like this, and the dungeon design just makes this worse, they're all VERY small and you have to tread your way back a lot, that's not clever, it's just annoying

    -The challenge is near 0, the bosses are too easy, I have yet to die once and I'm at the end of the game, I still have 3 bottles of fairies that I never had to use, this also makes all those new potions pointless as you don't need them

    -Until you get the treasure medal, collecting stuff to upgrade your weapons is a huge pain and it's just not fun

    -Skyloft is a barren wasteland in the sky, there's practically nothing to do, and it looks very bland, at least in Twilight Princess you had many different areas to travel to that looked different at least

    -There's no field, you can't just go from one place to the next, no, you have to find a stupid bird statue, fly up, make your way to the area, then drop down, it's far too tedious

    -The beginning of the game is VERY slow, it's just far too annoying and drawn out for what we all know is going to happen, ZELDA WENT MISSING! YOU GOTTA SAVE HER!? There's a surprise! Twilight Princess' opening was slow too but at least it was more original in that you had an established reason for going out to save stuff instead of some tree or boat telling you to just save the world, or in this case, the cliche princess goes missing, and you got to establish yourself in the community of Ordon

    -No character development, Fi has the personality of a dead goldfish, she's annoying and so is her voice, I don't want to hear my Zelda on autotune like a bad rapper, and Ghirahim is just there, and then gone for most of the game, we don't get to know him at all, at least with Zant we got a story from him and he was interesting to say the least

    -Jack in the box, sure Ganondorf did it in Twilight Princess, but really, if you didn't see him coming half way through the game, you just plain aren't smart, and I can forgive it because Ganondorf is awesome gives off a good deal of nostalgia, in fact, him not being in this game is a deal breaker for some people, but this new guy, Demise(Oh what a clever name) just sounds like a big bore, I'll get to see shortly though

    -No night flying, sounds like a lame excuse to me

    -Surface world is like a small congested maze, no breathing room, it's just plain not fun to be there, no secrets to look for in a field to break away from the action like past Zeldas

    -The story is boring, this is the first Zelda game where I just don't like the story, there's 0 epicness in this game besides jumping off your bird really high up and skydiving down

    -The music, though beautifully orchestrated, is severely lacking compared to past games, I only recall a handful of tunes, most just aren't memorable and I'm very dissapointed

    -Constant recalibration, the controls are good, but when aiming stuff, every few seconds I have to recalibrate to the center, this is VERY annoying

    -Finally, the graphics, if the game actually looked like a painting, I wouldn't have a problem, but it doesn't, it just looks like a blurry mess and it gives me headaches after playing for just 20 minutes, there's no Picasso at the Nintendo office so they really should just avoid doing this again, the unrealistic looking environment also kills off my immersion in the game, in Twilight Princess, I felt like Hyrule could be a real place, I felt connected to the world and Link, not in this game though, I had the same problem with Wind Waker

    That all said, I think it's a great game, but I haven't been this annoyed with little things in a Zelda game since Wind Waker, so I have to agree that all those little annoying things rack up and bring the game down a bit

    Posted: December 5, 2011 9:45 AM
    Sanity's_Theif
  • Vyro

    X plays rating system isn't for "how much you'll enjoy it", it's for "how many cons are in it." 5/5s usually have absolutely no cons. There were like 2 or 3 for this, so it got a 4/4. I'm still excited to get it eventually though, I'm a huge Zelda fan, and I'm sure I'll enjoy it as much as every other Zelda game. But it got a 4/4. Big deal. That doesn't change the game.

    Posted: November 25, 2011 4:45 PM
    Vyro
  • Smasher122

    The cons do not justify a five. This game is a masterpiece

    Posted: November 23, 2011 3:18 PM
    Smasher122
  • secretgamer

    COD gets a perfect 5/5 0_o

    Posted: November 23, 2011 9:58 AM
    secretgamer
  • Pabl007Gunner

    This only one persons review of Skyward Sword so you cant get pissed at Morgan and Adam for it. This is exactly why I don't like sites that only has one person reviewing the game and because they use a poi t system that doesn't do justice to the games.

    Posted: November 23, 2011 7:44 AM
  • B3@sT M@n

    Most Japanies games are terrible in the eyes of Americans. Sorry SONY and Nntendo its true

    Posted: November 23, 2011 6:45 AM
    B3%40sT+M%40n
  • Glossy

    I'm sorry X-Play, but to give Skyward Sword a four is very disappointing. You gave Twilight Princess a perfect score five years ago and honestly, in my opinion, Skyward was much more charming when it came to plot, controls, and abilities.

    Posted: November 22, 2011 9:45 PM
  • kfd056

    im like around 20 hrs in the game and I dont understand how these critics can sleep at night. For review sites that have a 5 star rating system. This game deserves 5 stars. This game is just amazing. The characters. The connection between the player and the world. Words cant explain how good of game this is. The bond between link and zelda within these 20 hrs that I have played. I can already feel how powerful it is. No Zelda game has done it better. Also, the combat is the hardest among the 3D zelda games. Just wonderful.

    Posted: November 22, 2011 5:45 PM
    kfd056
  • keyatzin

    me and my brother were going to get this, then we realized we'd need to pay an extra $30 for the motion plus dongle. I can't justify paying that much for one game.

    Posted: November 22, 2011 4:16 PM
    keyatzin
  • DooMTacK

    I've officially lost faith in G4's reviewing capability. If this is linear, then what is a game like MW3?!
    There are way too many reviews which are based on personal feelings here on G4, which is why i will no longer ever base a purchase on what is said here...

    Posted: November 22, 2011 2:22 PM
  • Rankshot

    Hmm, from what I've heard, Skyward Sword took a Page from Metroid's Book, where you have to travel back to previously explored areas and explore sections of that region you couldn't get to before.

    And since when did Linear Games become a Bad Thing, besides, I think this game was Trying to give the player more of a Story to Follow than having More Areas to explore, Yes exploration is Zelda's Strong Point, but not for this game this time around.

    So in all I think this game is awesome, and should have gotten a 5/5, which is what i'd give it

    Posted: November 22, 2011 2:01 PM
  • cooperjs1

    To all the people saying that Zelda seems like the same old stuff. All I can say is DAMN RIGHT! If it didn't have certain aspects of gameplay and storyline, it wouldn't be Zelda. The only question about Zelda when it comes out is "How will they make it awesome this time?" End of story. This game is an awesome Zelda game. Hands down a 5/5!

    Posted: November 22, 2011 1:27 PM
    cooperjs1
  • BONERJAM

    A great game . The controls are great. I can't help but smile when I have to swing my sword at a certain angle and achieve it, even flying the bird isn't a chore. It seems like it will easily take 25+ hours to beat not including side quests. The story seems pretty good so far. The graphics are great(for the Wii) and the art style is awesome. My only complaint is Fi, I cannot stand that annoy autotune sound that comes up when she talks.

    Posted: November 22, 2011 10:00 AM
    BONERJAM
  • FaithoftheAir

    After playing the game, I'd say a four is accurate. Thought the story is a lot better then it has been in while, and Link seems to actually have a personality in this one, rather then a blank face. the one-for-one controls are definitely awesome, (have to say I loved pulling the sword out myself rather then watching a cut-scene :) ) It seems a lot more "magical" then it has been for a while too. The visuals are gorgeous, and though the graphics aren't "as good" (and by that I mean realistic) as the one in say, skyrim, they look beautiful in other ways, such as, at points it really CAN look like a moving painting.

    Only downfall I see is that the map. I wish there were more places to go to! They could have done A LOT more with that part of the game, and they didn't. But other then that, it's an amazing, immersible plot, and really fun gameplay.

    4.5/5 for me.

    Posted: November 22, 2011 9:39 AM
  • hayseman

    Its a shame that they finally fully utilized the Wii's brilliant control system near the very end of this systems life...

    Posted: November 22, 2011 6:35 AM
    hayseman
AdChoices