X

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception Video Review

Posted: October 25, 2011
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/55949/uncharted-3-drakes-deception-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/286812_LGST/uncharted-3-drakes-deception.jpg
Video_55949
Does Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception live up to the almost impossibly high standards set by Uncharted 2? Find out as Adam Sessler delivers our review.

Comments are Closed

  • M6000

    wow seems like Adam thought UC3 was some stank to bad to because I thought UC2 was one of the best games this console generation.

    Posted: February 20, 2012 6:52 PM
    M6000
  • justtroy

    To many critics want a masterpiece from every big franchise ut they need to get down to the bottom line, is the game fun or not.

    Posted: December 30, 2011 11:22 PM
    justtroy
  • justtroy

    Their are plenty of games that are more of the same but get a higher score. Naughty Dog set out to take uncharted 3 a step ahead of uncharted 2 and it did just that. I think the people at xplay were looking for a revolution but all they got was a great game.

    Posted: December 30, 2011 11:20 PM
    justtroy
  • shingo

    What an on-point review.

    Posted: December 1, 2011 7:38 PM
    shingo
  • RobGrizzly

    This is the best review of this game I've read.
    I don't think X-Play was any less nitpicky than they are on any other title. IGN gave Uncharted a 10, but I take that with a grain of salt because its reviewer is already biased for the franchise, and literally said he found basically no faults in the game (all games, even the best, have faults, so this is a huge red flag). Most other reviews were more sensible (Gamespot, GameInformer, 1up, etc) but only Adam Sessler touches on the point I was waiting for: UC3 is more of the same, for better (production value) or worse (repetative combat). Consider Arkham City's 5/5. This is a sequel that expands on nearly every aspect of its predecessor. Drake's Deception, like Gears, Resistance, and other threquel shooters, only shows minor tweaks.

    Posted: November 1, 2011 10:24 PM
    RobGrizzly
  • solidejake

    So... Games like Halo 3 ODST and every CoD get fives, but Uncharted 3 gets a four for being "too familiar"?

    Posted: October 31, 2011 9:03 PM
  • RickyS1192

    Yeah I know i havent played the game but im a hardcore fan wouldn you if they gave Skyrim a 4/5 im sorry but im more of a ign person now

    Posted: October 28, 2011 7:13 PM
    RickyS1192
  • D3thN1gh7

    Wow, I was expecting this game to get the best review a game could possibly get. I'm kinda shocked that UC3 didn't quite top the second one. Ah well though, we all know it will still be an awesome game. :)

    Posted: October 27, 2011 7:58 PM
    D3thN1gh7
  • Bloodthr0e

    It's okay Mr. Sessler, we still love you. We may not agree with the reasons you marked this game down, but we certainly understand them. We just hope this "been there, done that" mentality was applied to other franchises when being reviewed, like Gears, Halo, and Call of Duty. That way it would come across as less strange for this game. I know G4 likes to claim it is the most trusted website, becaues you did a 1000 person survey, which would be like me saying John Mccain was the most popular candidate after surveying only 1000 random people, but a lot of us can see clear signs of inconsistency in the reviews here.

    Posted: October 27, 2011 10:23 AM
  • darthernie

    He mentions uncharted 2 way to many times...

    Posted: October 26, 2011 4:12 PM
    darthernie
  • eddiehavok

    I think that a game review should have the previous installments kept in mind. If a company can't improve on what they've already done then what's the point. It's been common practice for titles to forgo calling itself a sequel due to lack of evolution in gameplay. I do believe if it ain't broke then don't fix it but don't slap a 3 on the box and give us a 2.1. There's a reason some games aren't sequels but the main one is that they didn'tadvancesell enough to warrant calling themselves one (FO:NV, HALO:ODST, etc.) and I feel like this practice should be respec ted. more, I'm looking at you MW3, BF3, TDU2, and GoW3. But I've gotten very sidetracked. I like this review, and since I'llbe spending $60+ on it, its good to know that the prequel is better in many ways. What better way to review then to compare it to its predecessor. You can't compare apples to oranges, but you can compare apples to slightly older apples. Its also appreciated that you do spend a good amount of time on the flaws of a game, especially when the highlights have already been discussed for the last 6 months. Oh yeah, GTA has it down in regards to titling a sequel as such but that's all I'm gonna say about that.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 3:50 PM
    eddiehavok
  • ZaXo

    @justtroy

    Gar! Reply won't work.

    You're wrong. If you actually listen, he's not claiming that it doesn't live up to HIS expectations. He's separating it into two problems:

    1. It doesn't prove to be the one-up on Uncharted 2 that it was claimed to be. Both the designers and fans built it up to be something better than Uncharted 2 in the way it was presented and built. Obviously, anyone with a brain knew that it couldn't be a whole TON better, because U2 was nearly perfect, but it was still possible to top what had been previously done. Looking at the fact that so much of the game seems to be retreading what was done in U2, it doesn't seem like they lived up to that hype, does it?

    2. He calls out the obvious problems that the game posesses that the Uncharted 2 didn't. The animations being so strange at some points (and possibly hampering gameplay) is a clear step back. U2 didn't have that problem, and now it's suddenly present. Granted, they were trying something new; trying to improve the game. But Naughty Dog should have been smart enough to realize that it wasn't working up to the standards they set for themselves, and done something about it... even if that means pushing back the release date. Same thing goes for the Co-op problems, and the sometimes dumbed down A.I. You and I both know that they're capable of more, and so does he. THAT's his point. He's not saying that the game is bad, just that Naughty Dog could have done better, and seemed to have been a little lazy because of their success with U2.

    In the end, you're claiming that he's being unfair, because you don't want to admit that their might be problems with such a fantastic game. But other than the tanker section, and the plane, I haven't seen anything that (as he said) isn't just a rehash of what was done in U2; just in different environments. I personally don't think that's a bad thing, and if you notice, neither does he. Retreading gameplay that everyone loves is never a bad thing until you start to run it into the ground; but that doesn't mean it's a good thing either. He just feels that Naughty Dog is a great enough company that they could've done better, and I agree. That's not an insult (even though you seem to think it is). That's a compliment.

    Oh, and blind loyalty (as referred to in your newest comment) to the point of disregarding major flaws... is sad.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 2:23 PM
    ZaXo
  • justtroy

    Adam sesslor, I have no problem with him but I was just expecting him to praise uncharted 3 the way he praised uncharted 2, I guess people aren't as loyal as I thought.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 2:05 PM
    justtroy
  • justtroy

    So he clearly just rated this game on the fact that it didn't live up to his expectations but it's still great. Come on we need more honest game reviewers. Just because it didn't seem better to you doesn't mean that it isn't better to everyone else, review for everyone not just yourself.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 1:57 PM
    justtroy
  • eastoaklandboy510

    At least he was honest , i been seeing perfect scores so far , this is not gunna stop me from buying it or borrowing it from a friend & never giving it back for a couple months like the last game .

    Posted: October 26, 2011 1:03 PM
    eastoaklandboy510
  • BradyHawk101

    Good review. I have not played the game but I did play the other two in the series and UC2 set the bar so high, I can see how this might have come up short. Its sad that a company feels like they have to add pointless multiplayer. The uncharted series is such a good single player experience they shouldn't take extra time and cost to add multiplayer that could be added to the single player experience. You all need to understand that some of us look at games like art. Art is all in the eye of the viewer. I like to play a good array of games and have many different experiences with them because I enjoy it. How many of you actually read his full review? Adam wrote and showed clear examples of why this game is not a polished 5 of 5. With the bar set so high these days can you blame him?

    Posted: October 26, 2011 11:27 AM
    BradyHawk101
  • Morris1129ps3ID

    If you don't like giving a number or grade to a game why don't you just say "Don't Buy The Game","Rent Only",Buy The Game" plain and simple. That way you are not apart of the metacritic score. Also only review games after they are released to the general public just in case their are any patches or updates for the game when it is released. To me your review was like saying the first time I went to Disney Land was GREAT but the second time was alittle boring.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 10:23 AM
    Morris1129ps3ID
  • platinum_parker

    Good review! I really appreciate your worthwhile honest opinion. Uncharted 2 really did set the bar high.

    Posted: October 26, 2011 8:43 AM
    platinum_parker
  • Webhead19

    Some people need to realize that when the game hasn't come out yet, they can not complain in any manner about the opinions of those who have played the game and have been testing video games for longer then most of us have been around. Thank you Adam Sessler for giving us your honest opinion!

    Posted: October 26, 2011 7:48 AM
    Webhead19
  • Nitestick

    Wow just wow. Seems to me that while you might not agree with Adam about his review calling him a moron is unusually harsh. I have been an avid X-play fan from way back and I have seen Adam review a metric ton of games and rarely have I disagreed with his call. When they gave Duke Nukem a 1 out of 5 it was fair. I would give it a higher score for many reasons but you couldn't deny it had issues.
    And to the comments about comparing any game to its predecessor you have got to be kidding me. Of course you are going to hold up a sequel to its numeric prequel, I have never read a review of a sequel game that didn't at least mention anything that came before it. And if you factor in the level of achievement that Uncharted 2 attained you would be doing a disservice to your fans if you didn't hold Uncharted 3 to a higher standard.
    Seems to me there are a lot of people bitchin about a game that has only had a beta out. If you want to buy it go ahead, nothing to stop you but for god's sake people grow up. The reviews are free!

    Posted: October 26, 2011 6:39 AM
    Nitestick
AdChoices