X

RAGE Video Review

Posted: October 4, 2011
RAGE Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/55574/rage-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/284375_LGST/rage.jpg
Video_55574
RAGE arrives with much fanfare and a shiny new id Tech 5 engine, but does it deliver? Find out as Adam Sessler has our review.

Comments are Closed

  • Melki

    Yeah, I bought Rage when it just came out for 60 bucks. Now it's $29.95 at Wal-Mart where I live. So I wish I would have waited like 1 1/2 months and got it for half off. When I started the game I was amazed by the graphics and the firefights. The vistas are stunning. They put detail in everything. If you look at the moon in the sky you can actually see a crater in it and pieces of the moon broke off floating in the moon's orbit. This is from where the giant asteroid grazed the moon on it's crash course for earth. I was in love with the game and thought, "man, I can't wait to visit all the towns and locations in this game." but about half way through it hit me, "this game feels like it's ending allready". I felt let down, plus they're weren't really any places to discover on your own. So there wasn't really any reason to explore like the game encouraged you to do on the loading screens. The ending was the biggest let down I've ever experienced in a video game. I thought that there was no way they would end such a great game like that! I feel like the game developers had some really cool plans for more towns, more enemy variety, and more things to do but had to meet a deadline so they cut plans for all that cool stuff and just wrapped up the game before it was really finished. I'm not dissapointed that I bought the game, I just craved alot more out of it. Hopefully all those locked doors and unpassable Authority gates mean that alot of DLC is on the way. I hope it doesn't take to long before I can download some new content. I've done everything that can be done as of now.

    Posted: December 24, 2011 4:32 PM
    Melki
  • tyrelle

    this is like 1 of the best games ever. i like this better than call of duty

    Posted: October 11, 2011 10:47 AM
    tyrelle
  • toughluck65

    No mention of the constant texture popping? this annoyance makes the game nearly unbearable ..... what a steaming pile of crap this game is ... I want my $60 back.

    Posted: October 10, 2011 9:22 AM
    toughluck65
  • InnerRise

    No no. Shooter fans just want to shoot thhings.

    Posted: October 9, 2011 3:21 PM
    InnerRise
  • Kleins92

    The game was sounding really great until he mentioned the crap ending....o well still gonna try and pick it up :D

    Posted: October 9, 2011 12:40 AM
    Kleins92
  • reallyboredman

    Great review, and my thought exactly. I loved the gameplay and graphics, I tried to do every side-mission, racing, and mini-game that I could. The ending was abrupt though, I thought for sure there was going to be some massive show down or the story was going to continue. From my thought process I believed that the ending could've been "just the beginning of the war" I don't want to spoil the ending so I won't go into detail, and where the gunfights become epic. I got the last weapon and I didn't even use it because I thought I would need it later for a huge boss. I was wrong and I never even killed a person with it, this makes me a sad panda. :(

    Posted: October 7, 2011 12:04 PM
    reallyboredman
  • devinem24

    i think this review was perfect. i love this game, the engine is amazing the graphics are outstanding without any major glitches like fallout tends to have (fallout is still my favorite game tho) but i do completely agree...the ending is very stale.......i really dont wanna spoil anything but theres no boss fight and the last area you go in isnt really any longer then the wasted garage....it may be bigger but doesnt seem any longer to get through

    Posted: October 7, 2011 1:37 AM
    devinem24
  • PeckDolly

    my best friend's mom makes $77 an hour on the computer. She has been out of job for 9 months but last month her check was $7487 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read about it here CashLazy.com

    Posted: October 6, 2011 1:19 PM
    PeckDolly
  • altdoom

    Can't believe this got a 4 and Gears 3 got a 5. Really?!

    Posted: October 6, 2011 10:44 AM
    altdoom
  • H2OGoliath

    Just beat the game. Adam is right. The ending is horrible.

    Posted: October 5, 2011 1:57 PM
    H2OGoliath
  • marcusdjackson

    awesume review Adam

    Posted: October 5, 2011 12:04 PM
  • satanicwalrus

    so now that we have amazing graphics from id tech 5 can we finally get DOOM 4. please id fulfill this fans dream

    Posted: October 5, 2011 10:25 AM
  • satanicwalrus

    this game is absolutely amazing. i have to say that this is the best looking console to date. EVER when u see the dead city for the first time your jaw will drop. yes it looks that good!!!! sure the story does drag a little but i havent played the entire story yet. the car combat is really surprisingly good like mad max mixed with twisted metal. play this game in hd people or u will die!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: October 5, 2011 10:21 AM
  • Peneart

    That kinda sucks I play games a lot for the story and now I'm not sure it seems good in most other but I am really a story driven person.

    Posted: October 5, 2011 8:29 AM
    Peneart
  • CoolerThanYourMom

    once again gamefly saves me from wasting my money

    Posted: October 5, 2011 7:24 AM
    CoolerThanYourMom
  • applebook

    Will be playing on my PC, 1080p glory, thanks.

    Posted: October 4, 2011 9:34 PM
    applebook
  • THEeveryLASTinitial

    It has potential to be good. I might get it eventually. I just hope the world in RAGE is as open and full of adventure as Fallout 3 was. Shooting mechanics can only entertain me for so long. I need a vast world to explore as priority for these types of games.

    Posted: October 4, 2011 6:22 PM
  • shin0bi272

    so its borderlands with the same level of graphics as fallout new vegas with apparently some bioshock thrown in. Thanks I'll pass. Id rather play oregon trail on an apple 2e than waste my time with a game that while it looks sort of pretty is a total let down.

    Posted: October 4, 2011 4:57 PM
    shin0bi272
  • 2ply

    The part about the ending is a bit disheartening, perhaps this was another game to trip into that DLC pitfall and being less of an experience because of it.

    I guess time will tell on that one but my money is on yes, and we'll see some DLC that delivers and expands on the ends expectations.

    Posted: October 4, 2011 1:45 PM
    2ply
AdChoices