X

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Video Review

Posted: September 21, 2011
Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/55384/warhammer-40000-space-marine-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/283375_LGST/warhammer-40k-space-marine.jpg
Video_55384
Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine takes the power-armored space soldier out of the strategy arena and into the action shooter, and Adam Sessler weighs in on the results with our review.

Comments are Closed

  • kursawow

    damn adam. Do you not know what FURY MODE was? Jebus Crist... Also, this game was nothing like gears.

    Posted: September 25, 2011 12:13 AM
    kursawow
  • Kleins92

    I picked this game up during the closing sale at Blockbuster a couple weeks ago. I hadn't heard much about it, all I had seen was a preview somewhere, I think it might've been during G4's E3 coverage. So i was expecting it to be just a crazy over-the-top bloodfest that wouldn't really hold any lasting value to me, but as I got going through the game I started to really enjoy it! I also have never played a Warhammer game before this and now, after playing this, I really want to. It seems like it's a really cool universe. But ya, this game was definitely a pleasant surprise for me.

    Posted: September 24, 2011 9:52 PM
    Kleins92
  • Jordan_160

    2:26 WORLD OF WARHAMMER!!!!!!
    You're getting mixed up Sessler.

    Posted: September 22, 2011 3:56 PM
    Jordan_160
  • The Emperor's Champion

    Anyone who enjoys Warhammer 40,000:Space Marine and is looking to learn more about the series/games/universe, I invite you to come on over to the Bolter & Chainsword. The B&C is the most important Space Marine-dedicated website on The Internet (and I mean dedicated to Space Marines themselves, not just the new game), and just generally one of the most prominent Warhammer 40,000 forums (of any kind) in existence.

    It's a friendly and helpful place. Quite possibly the best run forum on The Internet, TBH.

    http://www.bolterandchainswo rd.com/

    Posted: September 22, 2011 2:36 PM
    The+Emperor's+Champion
  • njdss4

    This game is pretty fun, but for me (who knows nothing of Warhammer), the story doesn't mean much and it feels rather generic. The combat is fun for the most part, but the health restoring attack becomes more trouble than it's worth rather quickly. While you're doing the special attack to restore health, all other enemies can continue to attack you, and you can actually get killed while stuck in this attack animation. The only way for the attack to be practical is if you always wait until there are close to no enemies left before doing it so that you don't get attacked while stuck in the attack animation.

    The best way to regain health in Space Marine is to use your Fury bar, which gives you an attack boost and regenerates health. It fills up fast enough that I almost always had it handy when I needed health.

    This game is a good start for a new third person shooter series, but I hope there are a lot of improvements for the next one.

    Posted: September 22, 2011 10:30 AM
    njdss4
  • jugglaj91

    Not a fan of the series itself, although I was aware of it. Yet I love this game. I got it and Dead Island and this was the game I wanted to play more. I personally cannot see how people can compare this to Gears of War, yeah its similar but nowhere near the same type of gameplay. I actually enjoy this more than Gears sometimes for the fact that I can actually attack with a melee weapon and have it do something. My only complain is the lack of maps, and multiplayer game types.

    Posted: September 22, 2011 1:41 AM
    jugglaj91
  • Beefy1223

    This is a fair assessment in my opinion. The Warhammer 40K series of VIDEO GAMES, (not to be confused with the also spectacular table top game ((If you are into that kind of thing)) Have been terrific. Dawn of War and it's expansions were awesome and very deep, just like said table top game. This game did Warhammer 40K justice, and is VERY enjoyable to fans of the games from the past. SO to put it plainly:

    If you are a fan, you'll love it.

    If not, it's just another over-the-shoulder shooter.

    I agree, 3/5

    Posted: September 22, 2011 1:07 AM
  • turbo5tj

    I will agree with the assessment of this game when comparing to other games of it's type. But, though I have no problem with Adam's view on the game, I have to point out that this game was designed around a genre that is completely different from games like it. People are comparing this game to Gears of War. I personally have never played the game and probably never will because it doesn't hold anything for me story-wise.
    I have not only financial investment in Warhammer 40,000 but I also love the stories and genre of the 40K universe. This game beautifully brings what was only available in the old games of Space Hulk and Fire Warrior which are NO WHERE as fun to play as this, and I've only played the Demo. Granted the system is new and different from all others, but that's because it's paying homage and truth to the universe of 40K. The guys who made this game obviously are staying true to the roots and know what fans want. If you love Warhammer 40,000 you will LOVE Space Marine. If you don't then Adam's review is something you should listen to.

    Posted: September 21, 2011 6:43 PM
AdChoices