X

Dead Island Video Review

Posted: September 20, 2011
Dead Island Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/55359/dead-island-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/283310_LGST/dead-island.jpg
Video_55359
Dead Island moves the zombie-killing action to a tropical island locale, and Morgan Webb weighs in on the fun with our review.

Comments are Closed

  • GunMetal2012

    I love this game but i goTta say WORSE REVIEW EVER!!!

    Posted: December 15, 2011 9:22 AM
    GunMetal2012
  • MrApophis

    Dead Island sucks without friends. And I don't have those.

    Posted: November 11, 2011 6:59 PM
    MrApophis
  • domegel

    This games does suck, the only reason everyone likes it is cuz everyone is a zombie and plays what ever everyone else is playing.

    Posted: October 4, 2011 7:46 PM
    domegel
  • maikerukazuki

    wonder if this game is worth getting?

    Posted: September 24, 2011 11:56 PM
    maikerukazuki
  • shootmister

    Ya bad review and so far everyone else thinks so. XPLAY i miss the good old days where you would give out the proper ratings.... Most of the time... G4 has kinda degraded from its former self is what im trying to say.

    Posted: September 24, 2011 3:39 PM
    shootmister
  • Mr_Paisley

    Do you guys not know that Morgan didn't write the review? You guys understand that the person VO'ing the game is NOT the person who WROTE the review right?

    Posted: September 24, 2011 3:20 PM
    Mr_Paisley
  • Terminal74

    Sorry to say Morgan....EPIC FAIL, this game isn't that bad. Once you get going a little bit, it is very fun and the quests keep drawing you into it even further. I like the RPG elements into it, as you gain XP and personal wealth or new weaponry for your zombie slaying arsenal. I could only hope that the Resident Evil series takes a note from this game and go back to it's roots from earlier games in the series...maybe even add some RPG elements to it as well. I would have to agree with all of the other posters on this subject and say that this is one of the most fun games I have experienced in quite some time.

    Posted: September 24, 2011 8:58 AM
    Terminal74
  • ShinjiEx

    If it was not for the beautiful backdrops & physics damage system then yea 3 out 5...

    So I'm gonna have to give you a No U Morgan Webb
    besides you don't even care for Zombies games so this game is a 4 out 5.

    Posted: September 24, 2011 4:42 AM
    ShinjiEx
  • derick721

    Morgan Webb, have we lost you too? I'm just going to tell myself that someone else wrote everything you just said on a piece of paper, and you were intoxicated and said "Give it here! I'll read that mother f'er!!!". That person then recorded you, and added the audio to this video, and ladies and gentleman we have our review!!

    Posted: September 23, 2011 8:26 AM
    derick721
  • funkykafka

    When does a review cross the line into pure bias?

    Posted: September 22, 2011 6:45 PM
    funkykafka
  • allenjenkins3

    Wow I have to agree with everyone above I thought and still think that the game is great, especially when it comes to the post apocalyptic Zombie world. I really enjoy finding the different weapons in different areas of the game, found a military knife that when you stick a zombie it instantly explodes, what could be more fun than that.The skills tree is also a plus.

    Posted: September 22, 2011 8:25 AM
    allenjenkins3
  • sparta60

    sigh, morgan webb, x-play overall, i'm starting to want to shoot myself everytime you make a review for a good game by comparing it to very hyped up games such as cod, gow...you guys need to learn what a video game is. This game i thought was the best zombie game i've ever played personally. If you're going to think dead rising is better, please, go cut off a finger, because dead rising isn't, and i have to say, why are all the reviews for dead island so shotty? I feel like there's no hope in x-play anymore. Dead island is NOT that shotty of a game, it's actually very well perfected as a survival zombie game unlike dead rising where your weapons magically disappear out of thin air. The leveling up in this game actually has more benefits than dead rising, you get to pick your skills just like borderlands. Another thing, don't think borderlands is better than this because it really isn't. Borderlands was a good game don't get me wrong, it's just that...it got boring after you beat it. Dead Island actually needs you to keep up with your skills and not rely on weaponry, and seeing as critics such as x-play can't handle using skills in a survival game, that just shows me how much of a fail they were playing this game. And also, i'm not even sure what they're talking about about bugs. I preordered my copy on steam and found bugs the first day, yes, but they fixed it immediately and ended up becoming an awesome game. I'm not sure if i'm missing anything, but i've spent 21 hours playing it after it came out if that tells you anything...and the killing is extremely satisfying too.

    Posted: September 22, 2011 3:36 AM
    sparta60
  • kr00lplatinum

    This game got it right when it comes to the post apocalyptic zombie world. I never felt invincible while playing and even towards the end became scared when zombies crept up on me.

    Posted: September 21, 2011 8:47 PM
  • RazkalKing

    I have to disagree with this review, the game is a refreshment to the stale Zombie games at least it keeps you busy with different quests and different weapons, if I had seen this review before playing the game I would probably stay away from it but thankfully I bought it from day one and my friends and I have enjoyed it, sure it's not the most polished game out there but trust me you will have fun, I hate to see Xplay go the way of IGN (Whom now I do not trust for reviews) but it seems that way, this is the first and hopefully LAST time I disagree with an Xplay review. Tsk tsk tsk for all of you who do not believe me check other websites for their review even IGN gave it an 8.0

    Posted: September 21, 2011 5:13 PM
  • funkykafka

    Hacky dialogue? Oh, yeah, the Gears of War games don't have any of that -- that dialogue must be written by Robert Towne. Silly health replenishment by drinking soda? Oh, right, it makes so much more sense to just naturally restore health in COD games, because it's much less silly to get shot to pieces & wait a few seconds before your health restores. Bugs at launch? Oh, sure, because Fallout 3 & New Vegas didn't have any of those. If you're going to knock a game for certain issues, you should then knock every game with those issues. If you're going to be selective about which games it's permissible to have those issues ignored or tolerated in, then at least come up with a list. This is like when I was a teenager & I'd overlook the faults of girls I liked, but other girls with the same faults got raked over the coals.

    Posted: September 21, 2011 3:46 PM
    funkykafka
AdChoices