X

Priest, Outcasts, Dexter Season 5 DVD Review

Posted: August 16, 2011
Priest, Outcasts, Dexter Season 5 DVD Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/54768/priest-outcasts-dexter-season-5-dvd-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/280543_LGST/as20110816_dvduesday.jpg
Video_54768

When Chris Gore is in studio, don't run! He's only here to bring his reviews on this week's DVD and Blu-ray releases, like the comic book adaptation, Priest, the fifth full season of Dexter and BBC's Outcasts.

Comments are Closed

  • Roof

    A buy for priest? you can't be serious...

    Posted: August 24, 2011 4:32 PM
    Roof
  • woodenspoon

    That was a weak performance. Dexter is a thousand times better than Outcasts, that was some of the weakest sci fi i've seen, the characters and drama are just not believable, and incredibly boring, by the time you get to eps 8 they finally trickled out enough story to even get remotely interesting, but it takes so long it isn't worth it. With their budget it just isn't a believable world they build, everything seems like it is filmed around a village of 8 people when the settlement is supposed to number tens of thousands.

    Priest was generic vampire and fighting priests, very bland looking and generic in every way. It was like a parody of that type of film, since it was going over such well worn ground it just had nothing interesting going on, it just went through the motions. I'd have to say if you were really bored, rent at best...not buy.

    Posted: August 19, 2011 11:29 PM
    woodenspoon
  • nCogNeato

    "Buy" Priest, and "Pass" Dexter?

    Chris, I like you. You're a great guy. But ... you just lost all critical respect.

    The cast in Priest was fantastic, but that doesn't make it a good movie. Even if you didn't like Julia's character in Dexter, you don't "pass" a full season of an ongoing series that you enjoy & plan to continue watching. Are you now going to stop watching Dexter? No. But you're recommending your audience do so?

    Chris, I like your personality, and what you bring with your other projects. But this is the last DVDuesday I'll be watching.

    Posted: August 18, 2011 4:11 PM
    nCogNeato
  • U.B.C.S

    priest should have been direct to DVD. its highly stylized but very little substance. as goes with Legion, if i dont care about the characters, i dont care about the movie

    Posted: August 17, 2011 9:04 PM
    U.B.C.S
  • U.B.C.S

    priest should have been direct to DVD. its highly stylized but very little substance. as goes with Legion, if i dont care about the characters, i dont care about the movie

    Posted: August 17, 2011 9:03 PM
    U.B.C.S
  • Hrel

    Ya'll insane. I thought lumen MADE that season. I want her to come back and help Dexter out more in the future. Crazy crazy bitches. Priest is really good, I've already watched it 3 times. Idk, I think that's probably a rent though for most people. It's a buy for me, but maybe my expectations on that one were just so low I was impressed by how good it actually was. Starting sequence is a cartoon/anime. Starts off kinda religiony, but then gets WAY better fast. Neat take on vampires I thought. I'd really like to see more of it. Also, I found myself siding with the vampries; if you haven't seen it go watch it then you'll know why.

    Posted: August 17, 2011 4:12 PM
    Hrel
  • m0ccha

    Chris has the worst recommendations that he should run a disclaimer before his segment. WARNING: Chris Gore is not a real film critic, he just tries to pander to nerds on TV. I cannot stand him and I really hate to be one of those hateful lamewads that spends their lonely hours talking about how much they hate people. I'm not one of you, I'm simply stating a fact. Now I'm going to go have sex.

    Posted: August 17, 2011 12:42 PM
    m0ccha
  • Big_Brown_Cow

    Where did Chris get that shirt?

    Posted: August 17, 2011 10:44 AM
    Big_Brown_Cow
  • 2ply

    Priest should only be a rental, not something you'll feel like ever watching a 2nd time.

    It's not particularily bad, or good, it just felt rushed/too short and doesn't deliver on what it was building up to throughout the entire movie (sequel bait). Some of it's action sequences are questionable at best too, one is even shown in this clip, people need to learn to use wires or just go CG lol.

    Posted: August 17, 2011 5:08 AM
    2ply
  • phoenix24hiko

    I guess a correction that Priest is a Korean comic (manhua) doesn't mean much, but there it is. Heh

    Posted: August 17, 2011 12:49 AM
    phoenix24hiko
  • RPG-fan

    I haven't seen Priest but people I know said it's okay so I can't really say my piece till I see it. But I do agree on Chris with passing on Dexter Season 5. Now I like Dexter as much has the next guy, but compared to the awesome season 4, season 5 was pretty disappointing. Julia Stiles cannot compare to the superb John Lithgow's acting as the Trinity killer.

    Posted: August 16, 2011 11:48 PM
    RPG-fan
  • jscott0126

    Priest a buy really? And last week with Super same thing a buy. Priest is ok if you can get past the horrible dialogue and not mention it is not action packed there is some but enough to completely sell me on it's a great action movie. Super after I watched it I was depressed that movie has serious issues with tone is it somewhat humorous like kickass or full one dark. I would not recommend it at all. I'm thinking of not watching this segment anymore and also Candace calling someone else annoying well that certainly the pot calling the kettle black.

    Posted: August 16, 2011 8:37 PM
  • iminari

    Candace, threaten to run him over with a segway. It worked for Olivia.

    Posted: August 16, 2011 8:15 PM
    iminari
AdChoices