X

Darksiders 2 Gameplay Preview

Posted: August 8, 2011
Darksiders 2 Gameplay Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/54606/darksiders-2-gameplay-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/279969_LGST/darksiders-2.jpg
Video_54606
In Darksiders 2 it's heaven vs. hell with mankind completely obliterated, but this time around in the sequel told from Death's point of view. Blair Herter gets early looks at armor categories, skill trees, quest hubs and more.

Comments are Closed

  • Mr.Blacktab

    SOOOO pumped for D2. Im really confused as to the story line though. At the end of the last one you see the other 3 horsemen finally coming to earth thanks to the 7th seal being broken. War then responds that he will not be fighting his battle to redemption alone. So, how or why did they decide that D2' storyline would be running parallel to the first one. It doesn't make sense. As sweet as its going to be, it's kind of bad story telling. Wasn't War's whole journey or "Darksiders 1" to redeem himself to the council. So why would his brother Death be running around singularly trying to redeem war on a completely different path. Wouldn't Death have been fighting with war or at the very least not coming to earth as a comet at the end of the D1 shouldn't he already be on earth or in the underworld or whatever?

    Posted: January 13, 2012 8:57 AM
    Mr.Blacktab
  • GunMetal2012

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: December 13, 2011 8:57 AM
    GunMetal2012
  • TherealPyxx

    Pros: Game looks phenomenal, gameplay if spoken true will be right on target. Upgrades and loot drops is a nice add on feature. RPG - Adventure style play (DS2) vs Hack n Slash (DS1) could be an interesting turn about. pending on how it plays out. Anticipation Factor.

    Cons: Character "Death" too soon to play out pending on story line. but just basing this off the given story as explained thus far, it's way too soon to play Death as a Character to save Humanity. Otherwise as I said unless there is a plot twist to bring out the other 2 horsemen.

    DS1 starred the 2nd (per The Bible) Horseman, War, in which brought chaos and confusion to the world while riding his famous Red Horse. Destruction was left in his wake. But as the storyline suggest in DS1 This was played off as the 1st Horseman who came to Conquer all. But if inspired by Biblical events then the right of passage Via the Darksiders Game should go War, Famine, Pestilence, then Death. Where as the Famine and Pestilence could go hand in hand as some type of Twins who were out for revenge. Then Death comes in to clean up all their mess. Rather it be for saving fate or just to clear up the names of his fellow Horsemen. That's just my personal opinion.

    The problem I have is that THQ stated in a previous interview that Darksiders will not have a sequel to it based off the sales of original. And that they just did not see in profit in making a sequel. However since the people demanded that a Darksiders 2 be made, then THQ stated that if they were to make a sequel then they would make it to where it would include the other 3 Horsemen and they would just end the series there. I am totally blown by this decision and disappointed that THQ decided to do this.

    Plus we're not even too sure if THQ included all 3 Horsemen as stated in that previous interview; or just Featuring "Death" as a "Savior of Mankind" in the only sequel we may see of the Darksiders series. It is my personal opinion that you can not start a game based on the 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse without making it a series that features all 4 Horsemen. Let alone starting the game series itself putting the order of the Horsemen in the wrong sequence as per the game suggests.

    But the sequence order may not be a factor as much as the it's intended considering the real issue is that you have a sequel in which ruins the whole order of the Horsemen and then to top it off made Death look like a "Casey Jones"(TMNT hockey masked guy) wannabe. If you're gonna make a Death then at least make him look like a Death embodiment or some type of Skeleton Faced mask covering what truly lies behind the mask waiting.

    I agree with a couple of the weapon choices I seen in the video. The Long Halberd and Scythe I seen were excellent choices. The Dual wielding swords I honestly think it should have been left to a different horsemen. The 1st Horsemen via The Bible, has a Bow as his main weapon, rode a white horse, and was set out to Conquer. The 2nd Horseman, War (game name), Has a great sword, rode a Red Horse, and set out to take peace from the earth and have everyone kill each other. The 3rd Horseman, Rode a Black Horse, and had a pair of Balances, Creating a "Famine". The 4th Horseman was Death riding a Pale Horse, setting out to Kill with a Sword and Hunger, and with Death were the beasts of the earth.

    Translation: 1st Horseman = a ruler of mankind, aka Anti-Christ, ruling all the nations under his reign of chaos. 2nd Horseman (war) a general who starts World War III, 3rd Horseman, The Mark of the Beast Creating lines for those who takes the mark so that they can get food and those who do not take it starve themselves to death. Creating a Famine for them. and Finally the 4th Horseman Death, After all the dusts has settled in comes Death to clean up everything with it's final blow. Killing off those who were still left alive from the Famine, and clinging to Life. Alongside of the Beasts of the Earth taking it's rule over man to create a balance. Which makes sense, since we are currently killing off the animals.

    If you're going to create a game using the above reference as a game knowledge background into a storyline that has a plot twist to it then by all means go for it. but please THQ don't distort the Truth.

    Posted: September 29, 2011 8:12 AM
  • VillarrealAndy

    VillarrealAndy's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: August 10, 2011 12:57 PM
    VillarrealAndy
  • Infinity's_End

    way to keep splicing footage from DS1 to make this video seem longer than what you had...

    Posted: August 10, 2011 10:12 AM
    Infinity's_End
  • markkingking

    gt as in

    Posted: August 9, 2011 10:11 PM
  • TheColdOne

    +1

    Posted: August 8, 2011 7:07 PM
    TheColdOne
AdChoices