X

PlanetSide 2 Overview & Combat Preview

Posted: July 14, 2011
PlanetSide 2 Overview & Combat Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/54157/planetside-2-overview-combat-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/277683_LGST/planetside-2.jpg
Video_54157
Matt Higby, Creative Director for PlanetSide 2, and John Smedley, President at SOE, gives G4tv a overview preview and in-depth look at the combat system behind PlanetSide 2.

Games in this Video:

PlanetSide 2 (PC)

Comments are Closed

  • Fb62

    $15 a month to play this game? too bad it looks really cool.. will never suscribe to any other video game again, (unless they come out with an elder scrolls mmo) League of Legends proved you can make a free game and make bank... i dont understand why more companies dont follow.. i am willing to pay for a game, just not more then what its worth

    Posted: December 21, 2011 9:38 PM
    Fb62
  • InHumanMarine

    Anything that will give Troll-Master Dpsx7 something else to do besides trolling around is welcomed.

    Posted: July 16, 2011 5:00 PM
    InHumanMarine
  • BoydofZINJ

    @Empyu I have alphaed and beta tested a few MMOs. Some of them turned out very very bad and (very few of them) turned out very good. The one thing I can tell you is this:

    Developers will do what ever they want. Sometimes its great and other times they let the whiners control their actions and the vocal minority become empowered. I would assume headshots would do more damage than pinky toe shots. However, I can bet you big money it is too early in development for them to comment.

    In the video, they mention they were going with a well known anti hacking system. Which leads me to believe they will do very little against hacking. They will probably use some generic system like Punk Buster. While its a good system, its too easy to get around it. I am betting BIG money SOE will hire Punk Buster to deal with the hackers. Sadly, hacking is one of those things that can never go away.

    Someone shoots you, as you are hiding behind a bush. Is that a wild lucky shot or did he cheat and see thru the bush? You use stealth and do not fire a shot or get noticed by anyone and then BLAM you get head shot from across the map. Again, was it luck or a person using programs to help them? Unless you follow each person and study them for hours... it may be impossible to prove hacks.

    I am playing World of Tanks a 3rd person MMO war simulator of tanks. Bushes can provide cover and hide targets if the they stop firing and moving. However, bushes do not provide protection against weapons. Sometimes I will randomly snipe specific bushes (they only have a half dozen or so maps) and every so often I will score a hit or kill. I have been called a hacker when I kill people who hide in bushes. Why did I shoot at a bush on hill 125? When nothing has come out of that bush the entire match? I know that bush can provide an enemy tank to snipe at us without revealing the enemy tank. I have scored a few kills in that bush from invisible tanks. Sometimes I have used that bush too and been killed when I know I have not been seen. Was someone hacking?

    What some people call hack is what other people call "knowing" where a person will likely be. Hacking is very hard to determine. Sadly, the shooting genre will always have hackers and people who know their maps and likely snipe spots too. Ultimately speaking, hacking is something that needs to be addressed and SOE has been hit hard by hacking and I hope they take a very serious anti-hacking stance.

    The ONLY thing I do not like about this game so far is... is... is... is its from SOE. I vowed never to play another SOE game. They ruined so many games for me and SOE does nerf hammers like you would not believe. Its possible to balance without nerfing - unless you are SOE.

    Posted: July 16, 2011 8:04 AM
    BoydofZINJ
  • Spybreak

    I hadn't known about the previous title but like he said my internet infrastructure or the knowledge of MMOs was very limited then. I'm looking forward to this game because both have improved although I don't think satellite internet will work especially well with a MMO FPS. Hopefully I'll be some place else or fiber optic finally decides to show up in my town.

    Posted: July 14, 2011 10:11 PM
    Spybreak
  • Empyu

    This is really frustrating because I've been looking for answers to my own questions about this game, and I can't seem to find any place online where the developers acknowledge them. I guess I could always reactivate my SOE account and ask on the forums, but I'm pretty sure the usual response will be to wait for another press release.

    I just want to know if the tech they're using will allow them to give player characters multiple hit boxes. At the very least I'd like to see two. In the first game, everyone only had one which meant a headshot did the same amount of damage as a bullet to the pinky toe.

    I'd also like to know if they have a system in place to deal with greifers. The hacking problem in PlanetSide was eventually taken care of. What they couldn't stop was having people on the opposite team log in as characters on your side and start wreaking havoc. There was a penalty for doing stuff like that, but it was pretty weak and did little to discourage that behavior.

    More importantly, I'd like a guarantee from the developers that they won't split the playerbase again. The first expansion to PlanetSide created a whole new zone that nearly doubled the size of the world. While this gave players more fronts to choose from, it also split outfits seeing as how not all members were willing to pay for the expansion.

    I have nothing against them adding more content for people to pay for, but they should at least consider giving all players access to new zones so people can play with their friends regardless of whether they pay or not.

    Posted: July 14, 2011 8:10 PM
    Empyu
  • XenMastre

    Planetside came out before World of Warcraft which revolutionized MMO gaming. Planetside 2 is also building on everything that worked and didn't work in the original. With probably every single PS1 veteran returning for more fun on Auraxis, the global market for MMOs in general being larger than it was almost a decade ago, and actually having technology that will work for the genre means I think PS2 can be a grand success. I'm just excited for the veteran vs. newbie players who probably will (hopefully not!) be coming from the pre-tween COD MW community... *shudder

    Posted: July 14, 2011 7:59 PM
    XenMastre
  • BoydofZINJ

    Macross you always troll? You or the white cat? Have you posted anything positive in the last month?

    It was mentioned that you can modify your weapons to fit different situaitons. He mentions you can modify an assault rifle (this starts about time index 4:28) to be more accurate AND more powerful if the situation demands it. Question, when does it not demand a more accurate and more powerful assualt rifle?

    Posted: July 14, 2011 6:40 PM
    BoydofZINJ
  • Aaron82

    I think Planetside 2 vs Dust 514 will be a truly interesting battle.

    Posted: July 14, 2011 6:14 PM
    Aaron82
  • ZigZag557

    I'm lookin forward to it. :>

    Posted: July 14, 2011 5:56 PM
  • ShadowX157

    I wouldn't see this game being bought, with all the Ace games like MW3, BF3, Bio Shock, Assassins, Uncharted or even Gears or Elder Scrolls coming out, this game's just a waist of money.

    Posted: July 14, 2011 4:18 PM
  • macross2012

    Game should have stayed dead. Was boring back then and I cant see much of a change would matter now

    Posted: July 14, 2011 3:15 PM
    macross2012
AdChoices