X

The MMO Report: Guild Wars 2 Preview Special

Posted: June 30, 2011
The MMO Report: Guild Wars 2 Preview Special
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/54023/the-mmo-report-guild-wars-2-preview-special/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/276353_LGST/mmo-6-30-11.jpg
Video_54023
Casey heads up to Bellevue Washington to visit ArenaNet and see what they've been up to with Guild Wars 2.

Games in this Video:

Guild Wars 2 (PC)

Comments are Closed

  • Volkon

    Let's catch you up with reality, shall we? In Guild Wars 2 there are no ally-targeted spells. None. You simply cannot be a dedicated healer. You can't target someone and toss a heal. You also can't be a dedicated tank... you'll spend all your time on the ground. There's no skills in place to absorb massive, continual amounts of damage, nor are there any spammable big heals that a tank would need. It's more about controlling the enemies movement - snare them, knock them down, don't let them be able to cause damage instead of someone absorbing it. Back to healing briefly... there are some spells that have splash effect heals for allies that give them little buffs. There are also things like engineer med-kits, things they drop on the ground and you need to actively go get for extra healing. But no... you cannot and will not be "lf healer". If you are, the rest of the people heading into the dungeons will be doing /facepalm emotes as they go buy you laughing.

    Posted: July 1, 2011 5:01 AM
    Volkon
  • PatrickFF

    Sorry to burst the bubble but people will still not want to heal, dps will not stop to heal and people will still be forced to heal in parties. You will still be lf healer in giuld wars 2

    Posted: July 1, 2011 4:35 AM
  • TheOneTSum

    I will play this and SWTOR with fits of Elderscrolls and Mass effect inbetween. I mean i guess the only issue between SWTOR and GW2 is your dedicated time, because one is free one isn't and i already plan on buying both, i'll switch off back and forth inorder to not get tired of either one, and the thing i'm seeing is, a lack of need for actual guilds, no responsibility, play when you play, because it actually is a story of your character you're playing and not something you have to make up for with other people. So the only responsibility is to your character. So i plan on playing both enjoying both, because MMORPG's are finally becoming more than loot grabs.

    Posted: July 1, 2011 3:26 AM
  • logdog200x

    Damnit! I was prepared to enter a long comment about how I had never played an MMO before and was torn between SWTOR with my irl friend or the more progressive GW2. Then my computer threw a hissy fit. Im naturally more excited for GW2 as it seems to be the next step forward for the MMO. But then there is the alluring prospect of running around as a sith and ruining peoples day. Then there is the issue of free to play. All these factors combined with my computer illiteracy and the fact that I will need a new pc to play either is giving me a mini panic attack! I want to get into these games especially GW2, but *sigh* the MMO man got me down.

    Posted: July 1, 2011 1:25 AM
    logdog200x
  • iceknightangel

    Can not wait for GW2 Asura necromancer looks like will be playing this for a long while!!!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 11:27 PM
    iceknightangel
  • InvincibleOverlord

    Best MMO Report Evar!

    Seriously thanks for all the great footage. Almost as good as being there myself.

    I'm lying. I wanted to raid ArenaNet's snack area.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 11:02 PM
    InvincibleOverlord
  • jernmon

    You have finally gained my respect Mr. Casey!! I had seen another report that mentioned GW2 and I got the feeling that you disliked it. After watching this week's Feedback and this, I know GW2 is a big blip in G4's radar (as it should be).

    As for me I dream every night that I'll be able to play this game the next day, but, alas, I'll have to wait until it's done (or for beta if I can get in).

    Posted: June 30, 2011 8:51 PM
    jernmon
  • Ntanel

    I am going to check out that Second Life convention. It sounds entertaining.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 8:24 PM
  • Mikey22295

    Wow nothing on PvP? Thats a downer.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 8:19 PM
  • RPG-fan

    Great stuff on GW2. The game could be the one to change how MMOs plays. The challenge has been made, your move SWTOR!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 7:54 PM
    RPG-fan
  • filchingfeline

    Casey, you know the road to hell is paved with good intentions... I only socalize when hookers and alcohol are involved.

    Oh and, even if Tera is my favorite child...

    SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!!!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 6:12 PM
    filchingfeline
  • metalspoon60

    Casey could you please upload all the footage you recorded! Please!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 6:08 PM
    metalspoon60
  • Cern

    I hope this GW2 is as good as it looks, and it looks like a game changer.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 5:20 PM
    Cern
  • infymys

    Excited about this game but damn, how about some freaking info on PvP?

    Posted: June 30, 2011 5:07 PM
  • IrishSailor

    Yeah, I just can't get excited for this game. It's not Arena Net's fault, it's just, after 11 years of high fantasy MMOs I'm completely burned out on them. I'll probably still check it out, because it is free 2 play, but I'll be spending most of my time in TOR.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 4:11 PM
    IrishSailor
  • Rawtorp

    Seems like they took a bit of Rift, tossed it together with SWTOR, jumped 250 years past the last game and are gonna toss it out. Does not stand out any better than it did before.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 4:02 PM
  • GlyphJJ

    GW2 is going to be amazing! Finally a game world that is entirely made up of events instead of quests.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 3:38 PM
    GlyphJJ
  • Jackal91

    G4TV, ALL your videos have extremely low audio. It's a simple fix, it is really. INCREASE THE VOLUME!!!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 3:10 PM
    Jackal91
  • Mashpotaters

    The dragon on the Guild Wars 2 shirt the guy has looks like the dragon used for Dragon Age: Origins. You could literally just replace the words with Dragon Age and it would look like a Dragon Age shirt.

    @KessorMunta
    Yeah, I'll be playing both also. Price shouldn't be too big an issue because Guild Wars 2 is micro-transaction, while SWTOR hasn't announced the pricing. It's more of a question of time.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 3:02 PM
    Mashpotaters
  • krashofny

    *GOES ON A BARBARIC RAMPAGE* I.....WANT......GAME.....NOW!! !!!

    Posted: June 30, 2011 3:01 PM
AdChoices