X

Duke Nukem Forever Video Review

Posted: June 27, 2011
Duke Nukem Forever Video Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/53927/duke-nukem-forever-video-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/276103_LGST/duke-nukem-forever.jpg
Video_53927
Duke Nukem Forever, after 13 years of stops and starts and teasing in between, has arrived. Could it possibly live up to a decade of hopes and hype? Adam Sessler weighs in with our review.

Comments are Closed

  • benn0730

    X-play doesn't know how to do a review after this one I'm glad you're not on Directv anymore so i don't have even the option to watch you.
    What's with the "nobody under the age of 30 knows who duke nukem is" that is a lie I'm 15 and I've played every game.
    you don't understand the game isn't supposed to be serious learn how to play a game for what it is supposed to be not what it could be.
    you guys are right about one thing. the price I agree it should cost less but only because It's using the technology from 10 years ago Blame the developers for that

    Posted: August 15, 2011 5:15 PM
  • spacelion88

    Wow that is disturbing, the portrayal of women. I wish you could rescue them & maybe have them fight alongside or something, instead of just blowing them up or seeing them melt or whatever.

    Posted: August 13, 2011 12:35 AM
  • MrRandomnator

    wow the old ones was better than this

    Posted: August 3, 2011 10:23 AM
  • Siferatu

    There are only two reasons this game got a 1.

    A better score would show that this is a legit CoD killer, and we can't have that in a corporate world. Why be fun when we can just shove more "realism" in? The average XBOX gamer can't tell the difference. However I haven't enjoyed a FPS this much since N64 Perfect Dark.

    14 years is a long time to wait, and it's evident Adam didn't take to waiting very well. I wouldn't be surprised if DNF was the reason he found out Santa wasn't real in 2001.

    Posted: July 18, 2011 11:37 AM
    Siferatu
  • GameFerret

    This is one of the only time I can say I disagree with a review from Sessler and/or XPlay. I understand the complaints about the graphics and syncing issues. But, the review seems to pose that one thought wasn't included when playing the game.

    DNF never intended to break barriers and start a new path for gaming. It was never supposed to compete with the big 2 (Battlefield and CoD). It was meant to finally be completed after engine hoping for years and give gamers that nostalgic taste from days of old while touching upon a few new features introduced by games and inturn, making fun of those games. It was meant to make you laugh and remind you of your younger days of gaming and movies. I got done playing and immediately tried to figure out how long it's been since I enjoyed watching 'They Live', 'Starship Troopers', 'Army of Darkness', and I even got the urge to play Halo again. Not to mention the previous DN games.

    And I feel that was it's purpose. Not to break barriers, but to break the funny bone on all us 'old timers' who grew up in the olden days of gaming and grew up through what is now considered the years of bad graphics. It reminds us that the game shouldn't be taken seriously and doesn't have to topple the barriers. It reminds us that among our gaming forefathers exists a mushroom addicted plumber, a bling obsessed hedgehog, a stickman and an anonymous pilot in an overpowered unrealistic space ship. So we should never take foregranted why we started to play games in the first place. It gave us a grin and flicked our imaginations.

    And it's a tribute to itself. I laughed and grinned looking at the cheesy screenshots and statues from the Duke games of past in the museum. I laughed at the fact that it's one of the only non serious game(besides pokemon and Zelda is more a serious minded game minus the chickens) that, after nearly 20 years, is still keeping true to it's core as it aged. Sonic the Hedgehog is going back after years of trouble trying out new things, Mario appears to have upgraded from mushrooms to lsd, Donkey Kong quit attacking constuction sites and put on a tie and, after a brief musical interlude, is now back at it's core. Duke was essentially a smack talking, alien killing, line stealen, babe lovin', big gun shootin' freak that tended to run on engines(sometimes outdated) with more popular games and graphics on day one. And it still is. Nothing more should be expected.

    I would have liked to see the lip syncing fixed, maybe a few more layers added. Some glitches fixed. But if I was given one thing to change about Duke Nukem Forever...It would be giving him back his dual Desert Eagles. Maybe they'll return in a sequel. If Dynasty Warriors, CoD, Pokemon, and FF can have enough regurgitation's and remakes to fill landfills, then DNF doesnt deserve to die after the hell it's fought through to stay alive. I wont say it's a 5/5, but I'd give it a 3/5 on the all around big picture of the game itself. It definitely doesn't deserve a 1. Only Bad Boys deserves a 1

    Posted: July 12, 2011 4:59 AM
    GameFerret
  • xSAKYx

    They Were Kindav Stupid To Give It 1 Star, At Least Half A Star.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 1:57 PM
    xSAKYx
  • AllyoftheForce

    Yet you will give CODMW3 a 5/5 when it comes out because it's the same rehashed junk with a 2 hour campaign. Creepy, hateful view of women? Um, you do know you're playing Duke Nukem? He doesn't hate women. He loves them, even though it's very dirty how he views them. But then again you're playing Duke Nukem. If you were expecting some kind of genre changing game, then you set yourself up for fail. It s just as basic of a shooter out there, which is what I was expecting and wanted. Yes, 12 years was too long to wait for this game. Like it or hate it I don t care, it s Duke freaking Nukem.

    Posted: June 30, 2011 6:02 AM
    AllyoftheForce
  • Veryflamable

    hey im under 30 and i remember Duke 1 2 and 3D

    Posted: June 29, 2011 10:52 PM
    Veryflamable
  • applebook

    Offensive misogyny and toilet "humor" aside, DNF is simply boring and poorly designed. I could forgive A LOT of bad qualities in a game, but I CANNOT overlook lack of fun!

    Posted: June 28, 2011 10:36 PM
    applebook
  • Komodo

    Played the demo, so sad and disappointed. No further research necessary :(
    Makes me feel bad for Jon St. John. DNF isn't living up to what he did for the original.

    Back to Duke3D. Plenty of fun still being had there.

    Posted: June 28, 2011 8:25 PM
    Komodo
  • rattyredemption

    @admins, please fix the comments, they are so buggy, i can't even see the other comments as i post this and they were visible a couple of minutes ago.

    @Freddyr91, good point, but there is also word of mouth and all the videos of dnf running reasonably well on youtube, so if the game was as bad as it is made out to be in the press, do you really think as many people would still be buying it?

    Posted: June 28, 2011 3:03 PM
    rattyredemption
  • rattyredemption

    @Freddyr91, good point, but there is also word of mouth and all the videos of dnf running reasonably well on youtube, so if the game was as bad as it is made out to be in the press, do you really think as many people would still be buying it?

    Posted: June 28, 2011 2:56 PM
    rattyredemption
  • TheColdOne

    I don't understand the crap given about the "humor" in this game. What did they expect? It's DUKE NUKEM! Personally, this is 100% what I thought the humor and "view of women" was going to be in this game. What else WOULD you expect?

    The ONLY disappointment I have in this game is the level design and it's attempt to half-ass contend with modern shooters (regenerating health and only 2 guns).

    If this game played like an updated Duke 3D, then that would be all the better.

    Posted: June 28, 2011 11:19 AM
    TheColdOne
  • ZoMbIEx23x

    They showed themselves trying to walk past a guy that's meant to keep you from moving forward until after a news report is done when they said the game was twitchy. What's up with that? I would expect that to happen if you're trying your hardest to get past a barrier.

    Posted: June 28, 2011 11:16 AM
    ZoMbIEx23x
  • joemanyt

    "Where did we go so wrong?"

    Posted: June 28, 2011 8:58 AM
    joemanyt
  • Hydrafiend

    Treatment of women? Are you kidding me? Is this not the station that actually sends a porn star chick to cover the Adult Entertainment Expo? In porn movies women are treated like little F-bots for your information, have you seen Sasha Grey's "work?" The "International Sexy Ladies Show"- so respectful of women! Gaming articles about boobs in video games? And then you have the balls to talk about a video game that is disrespectful to women, effing joke! I agree that this is a piece of crap game, but please stop the PC hypocrisy-and oh the little sexy night elf hologram dancer in SC is just so sexist lol.

    Posted: June 27, 2011 11:52 PM
    Hydrafiend
  • Rhuz

    I really don't know what to say about this review. It's wrong on so many levels, while right on some others. I own this game for the PC and haven't had any graphical issues, and am attacked by groups of enemies much larger than 3 on a regular basis. That being said, I have played the XBox 360 version, and the graphics weren't as good, but were much better than what was shown in this video. It's almost like an extra layer of 'bad' was added to the footage for effect.
    I don't know why X-Play is bashing the humor. That's like the pot calling the kettle black. Duke gets enraged by what's happening to the women in the game and even displays remorse for them. I've seen much more offensive material FROM X-Play and looked over BY X-Play.
    I think it's great to have a game like Duke in an age of stale, samey, gunmetal gray FPS games, even if it does make the mistake of slipping into some of the habits it's poking fun at.

    Posted: June 27, 2011 10:55 PM
    Rhuz
  • UnDeadAngel

    I don't think the game is as terrible the media's claiming it is to be. It's at the very least a one-night rental just for nostalgia's sake. Hopefully, Gearbox will get more time with the IP and make a game worthy of the Duke Nukem name.

    Posted: June 27, 2011 9:51 PM
    UnDeadAngel
  • hellterskelter89

    Lets not forget friends and neighbors, he was also pointing out that the game is going for full retail price and will be treated as such. Just because it has Duke Nukem on the cover doesn't mean it has to be a good game. This game looks like it could of competed with Doom 3. We're past that point by now. And game sales don't make it a good game, they make it a game that gamers who knew of Duke in his prime hyped up and a bunch of newbies bought the game on whim and are probably regretting that choice. ("I should of saved the receipt!" is probably being echoed all over the world)

    Posted: June 27, 2011 9:28 PM
    hellterskelter89
  • jcreaper666

    Sorry Adam this is something I can not agree with you on. I have a fairly discriminating taste when it comes to games, I loved Duke Nukem 3D, I really enjoyed Duke Nukem Zero Hour, and I really do enjoy Duke Nukem Forever, everyone says its such a bad game, it sounds like they have never played the original Duke games. If you go off from where Duke was and where Duke now I find it to be a pretty solid squeal.

    Posted: June 27, 2011 7:58 PM
    jcreaper666
AdChoices