X

Feedback -- Best Of E3 2011 & Duke Nukem Forever Review

Posted: June 22, 2011
Feedback -- Best Of E3 2011 & Duke Nukem Forever Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/53846/feedback-best-of-e3-2011-duke-nukem-forever-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/275826_LGST/feedback-duke-nukem.jpg
Video_53846
In this edition Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4 team discuss about the best videogames that were shown at E3 2011. Also, the team get a bit dirty with Duke Nukem Forever as they share their opinions about this controversial game.

Comments are Closed

  • playsbydesign

    About Battlefield 3 DLC:
    To me, it's not about the possible imbalance issues and I feel the point was missed. It's about publishers cutting content out of their games and stating You can't have this unless you live in a certain region, shop at a specific store, or pay more on top of what you have already payed. It's getting out of hand and gamers are just too spineless to do anything about it. They'll complain on forums, they'll sign petitions but at the end of the day they will still toddle off and buy the game and all the content that should have been in the game from the start.
    It's time to take a stand and it's for that reason I will be exercising my right as a consumer and will not be buying this game at all. At the end of the day my principles are more important to me than playing a game. /steps off of milk crate. (Adam has the soapbox)

    About Duke Nuke'm Forever:
    I for one am glad it was stapled together and released. A bad game in terms of design? Absolutely, however, this means that the franchise is no longer bound to this pre-existing idea. It's free to move forward and evolve and not be hampered by 12 years of wild expectations. The Duke franchise has been humanized and I personally think that's exactly what it needed .

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:31 PM
    playsbydesign
  • OcelotFox

    I actually love the irony of Bobby Kotick playing the rather broke owner of the Oakland A's during the early Moneyball years. Maybe he's a huge fan of the team, or he just has a Bill James baseball bible sitting around the office?

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:24 PM
    OcelotFox
  • Tacoboy1111

    Anyone else notice that they bleeped out when Adam said the sh word but not when Kevin said the F word?

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:19 PM
  • frankurban

    I do think preorder bonuses are a little ridiculous.

    Here's the thing... Pretty much every game I've bought for the last 3 years I've bought on day one. However, I haven't preordered any of them. Every time I go to Gamestop I know there will be enough copies for me to get one, even on the launch day. Why? I don't know. Maybe games are selling less, or maybe the retailers are just ordering enough copies, but games never sell out anymore where I live. So I do buy them day one, but never preorder them.

    And i'm not the only one. Nobody preorders games where i'm from, because every time i go and get a game on launch day, the employees give me the codes for the preorder bonus anyway because NO ONE PREORDERED, and they are just lying around going to waste.

    It's all just amounting to nothing...

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:16 PM
    frankurban
  • lucidity

    They make a good point in that the developers were forced to go back to the drawing board when Halo released.

    It's unfortunate that they spent the next decade at that drawing board.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 2:59 PM
    lucidity
  • cwhas2godhands

    You mean - Dice vs. some cut-and-paste gaming studio.

    Dice wins

    Posted: June 22, 2011 2:47 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • Crash486

    I really like Steam and I own over 100 titles in my steam library, however I think the PC gaming demographic as a whole really needs to take a look at just how Steam dependent they have become. I for one know I have become shamelessly Steam dependent. As great of a service as steam is for playing online games with friends and buying games digitally at ridiculously low prices, there are a few glaring problems with it that well all tend to ignore.

    1. Account piracy: as far as i know, steam doesn't offer any kind of insurance for your account. I know I personally have thousands of dollars invested in my steam account. If anything were to ever happen to it, it would be devestating.

    2. DRMs: Most people have broadband internet these days, very rarely do you connect to your computer without having a live internet connection. Some people might not even be aware that steam imposes an online authentication system to allow you to play your games. What this means, is if steam can't connect to their authentication server, you don't have access to your steam games unless you have set steam to work in offline mode while you had a live internet connection. This was actually a huge problem at QuakeCon last year, as the internet was quite spotty, and many people who had not set their steam accounts to work in offline mode simply could not access their game libraries.

    3. Installation: Steam installs all of your games under the hood, if something were to ever happen to steam, what would happen to your game library? Especially if you had to reformat?

    I like steam as much as the next guy, but as a gamer, I have become far too reliant on it. Not to mention, a little competition is good for the consumer. So far Impulse, Direct 2 Drive, and GOG really haven't been able to give steam a run for its money. Maybe Origin will do a better job.

    ;TLDR
    Origin might be good for the PC gaming world in the long run, especially if it's competitive with steam pricing and DRMs.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 2:26 PM
    Crash486
  • tsoul19

    Dumb iPhone, the one time it doesn't want to correct my spelling, I meant guess, not quess!

    Posted: June 22, 2011 1:52 PM
  • tsoul19

    Duke was a 90's game that needed to jump to the 2000's but I quess Duke wanted to party like it was 1999 still and thats why the game sucked!

    Posted: June 22, 2011 1:50 PM
  • GarciaVegas01

    Haha...No sensor 25:42 into the show.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 12:45 PM
    GarciaVegas01
  • Nomen

    I have to say that I knew that Duke was going to be bad but lets be honest that is not why people wanted to come out. The idea behind this game was to take advantage of the longstanding inside joke in the gaming community. But also it is supposed to feed that nostalgia craving that people have. What I want to know is whether nostalgia can really make up for an out of date and in some cases just plain bad games.

    Aslo good job sneaking in the F bomb on the Crank 2 reference.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 12:31 PM
    Nomen
  • DXX117

    I actually enjoyed Duke Nukem Forever. I pre-ordered it on Steam and played it the day it came out and laughed at most of the jokes and thought all of the boss fights were hysterical. Maybe it's because I'm 17 but I literally almost fell out of my chair when Duke said,"Green power armor is for **." I love the Halo series and the Gears series but I like the classic direction it took. It was a nice break from modern shooters like Call of Duty where all you do is shot and kill but in Duke the player is shrunk and you have to save a hot chick or pop some popcorn for a lap-d. I would give this game a 4/5 not for mechanics and such but just for being fun to play.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 12:28 PM
    DXX117
  • WillingSpade

    Feedback right before work! Perfect timing!!

    Posted: June 22, 2011 11:42 AM
    WillingSpade
AdChoices