X

Feedback -- Best Of E3 2011 & Duke Nukem Forever Review

Posted: June 22, 2011
Feedback -- Best Of E3 2011 & Duke Nukem Forever Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/53846/feedback-best-of-e3-2011-duke-nukem-forever-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/275826_LGST/feedback-duke-nukem.jpg
Video_53846
In this edition Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4 team discuss about the best videogames that were shown at E3 2011. Also, the team get a bit dirty with Duke Nukem Forever as they share their opinions about this controversial game.

Comments are Closed

  • kingnick21

    Duke Nukem is a Classic Real Goon . Im not one to try and talk someone into liking something, especially if they're on their own wagon of Hating . Those people who whine about what the game is missing, obviously are sadly missing out on the entire concept . The creators did what us "Fans" wanted, and nothing more . No over the top extras, just nostalgic fun . If it is too offensive for you, then play the WII . I can guarantee that Duke could be a playable character in ANY game, and succeed in doing what ever it is he wanted to do, whether it was kill the zombies, or pay/kill the prostitutes . It is a FUN GAME, that holds back NOTHING that todays politically correct world wishes that it would have . Period .

    Posted: June 23, 2011 2:09 PM
    kingnick21
  • Namzor

    I have to agree with Matt's reasoning about why DNF was delayed. You have Duke3D releasing in May 1996 then just look at the further FPS releases after that. Quake, 1996; Goldeneye, 1997; Unreal, Half-Life, 1998; Halo, 2001; Half-Life 2, 2004; its no wonder why the game underwent so many graphics engine and gameplay changes. Each game marked a pivotal turning point in the shooter genre and DNF had to either innovate or get shelved. Which it did a few times and why its also feeling like so many different games conjoined together. Its an amalgam of all the things that the genre innovated over time. I don't really think that its the worst parts of old and new, like was said, but there are some things I could of done without. 2 weapon limit? Really? Sigh..... And regenerating "Health" are the only real things that I'm upset about. Give me the old school health for a game like this. The rest is like Kevin said, Fun.

    As to how to bring Duke into the modern age? I totally agree he could be a story NPC in Borderlands 2 (which Randy Pitchford kinda hinted at during the Gearbox Community Day). Let the player find him frozen somewhere like "Encino Man" (sorry, first reference that popped in my head), then basically have him interact with the player and hit on anything female that moves. Then when hes "modern", give him a game.

    As to the whole preorder DLC issue, look up Dungeon Siege 3 limited edition or other european releases of games and you'll see why Europe does it better. You get everything, no matter when or who you buy it from. Thanks alot US retailers.........

    Posted: June 23, 2011 2:14 AM
    Namzor
  • permanent_nirvana

    I want Borderlands 2.

    Posted: June 23, 2011 12:38 AM
    permanent_nirvana
  • kings_legacy

    I have to give credit for Infinity ward actually starting a new trend modern day shooters instead of everything being world war 2 shooters although now you got over saturation of modern day shooters now.

    It will be interesting to see if Respawn can change the shooter world again instead of gaming companies trying to copy the success over and over of something that happen a few years ago (Activision milking CoD for all its got right now)

    Posted: June 22, 2011 11:22 PM
    kings_legacy
  • B-minus

    i read those long comments because usually people that write that much actually has something interesting to say and make good points. I'm not saying every long comment is that way because sometimes one is wrote by a troll or someone that's not smart enough to have that long of a thought process. I admit i have wrote some really long comments before a while back like a year or two i used up all 5,000 characters i got on a rant and it just continued on and on. These comments above arn't too long though i read through both in a few minutes didn't waste much of my time

    Posted: June 22, 2011 10:20 PM
    B-minus
  • Ailya

    I dislike all the DLC stuff too. It's so dumb. Just include this stuff in the game. What this really does is give people an excuse to pirate stuff. I downloaded the Mass Effect 2 and Fallout: New Vegas pre order bonuses.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 9:22 PM
    Ailya
  • mos2000

    I make really lame comments - that I think are witty, in hopes that my corny sarcasm will get me a free 6 pack of code red from G4, or even a role as Brock's son on a live action Venture Bros. .....SUPER lame....

    Posted: June 22, 2011 8:18 PM
    mos2000
  • filchingfeline

    I write really long comments on g4tv videos because I think someone reads them, someone as lame as me. Just like everyone else who writes long comments. Lame.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 6:18 PM
    filchingfeline
  • gtamaster503

    Way. to Sensor. 25:40

    Posted: June 22, 2011 6:10 PM
    gtamaster503
  • Ragrappy127

    Thank you Adam! I just finished Duke Nukem Forever last night and I have to agree a lot with what you said here. I personally would love to see Duke put in with more modern characters and watch them clash.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 5:56 PM
    Ragrappy127
  • MuppetPastor

    Ok, this is going to be a very critical comment. Here goes.

    When do you film these feedback episodes? I'm guessing a day or so early, right? So why is it that the news you have, even if it's filmed a day or 2 ago, is SO out of date? You guys NEVER seem to have the most up to date information ... why? Not just on this feedback, but on many feedback shows in the past, you'll say something and I'll be like ... didn't [someone] respond to that like a week ago? And you'll rip on it for like 10 or 20 minutes over something that already has had a resolution. You guys spent so much time talking about the pre-order DLC for Battlefield 3, but it was mentioned a week or so ago that it would be released for EVERYONE for FREE later after the game is released. You didn't mentioned that at all, and if you knew about it already, you didn't want to let people know. Then Keil mentioned the Back to Karkland pre-order bonus and said it sucks because it's keeping cetain content from people. Are you serious? This has been known for months, but here goes AGAIN: these 4 levels (I think it's 4?) are going to be FREE for EVERYONE who pre-orders the game regardless of where you get it. If you pre-order the game in some mom and pop shop you will get it. How is this keeping content from people? This is NOT new, Gears 2 has done this, and MANY other games have done this. Content is NOT being kept from people. If you don't pre-order it, then you can buy it later.

    Ok, this one is really bothering me. Why do you guys just flat out dislike certain companies? Let's talk about this feedback. You guys really don't like EA, it's apparent from the way you talk about them that, despite the fact that you might THINK or say you respect them, you really don't. EA has done nothing different from every other publisher out there like Bethesda, Epic, 2K, Activision ... yet you always single out EA for some reason. They might not be the best company out there, but it's things like this that show up in your tone all the time and it makes no sense.

    Let's use this feedback for example: you're calling out EA on their use of DLC. EVERY single big name title that comes out now will have pre-order DLC. If they don't, they will not sell well at retail, so they ALL will do it. Every single big name title. Yet you focus on EA saying that they're stupid and it sucks that their games have it. You guys rip on Origin, but I bet NONE of you have used it (Keil even says that he has to uninstall it like 3 times a year because it's on his computer?). I'll bet not ONE of you on the feedback panel has ever used it. If you had used it, you would realize the benefits of it. It's NOT steam, true; it doesn't have the features that the steam client does yet, but it's getting better. It even has some benefits to the Steam client: it NEVER has to be running to play your game (after 1 activation, it can be closed forever; you never need to run it, no matter what game you play). Therefore it takes up no memory and doesn't have any background crap running, unlike Steam, (even if you play it in offline mode). I like the EA download manager better than Steam, to be honest, but even if I or someone else is NOT a fan, you can't deny the benefits of it: they're a fact.

    I just don't get why I feel like I need to come on here and tell people the way it is. You do NOT give all the information for the stuff you rant about, and so people only hear one side of something that is [sometimes] not even an issue even BEFORE your feedback episode goes up. I'm not a fanboy of anything, but I do like to always help the underdog. I don't always do it, but why do I feel the need to come on here all the time to correct misinformation and root for someone or something that you guys have written off and won't even acknowledge? I know it's almost like a joke "ha ha, G4 loves MS and hates Sony, ha ha" but to be honest, with the amount of anti-Sony stuff you guys say, I find it hard to believe it's not true. You guys to belittle a lot of companies, with Sony and EA at the forefront, along with Nintendo and a few others ... but why don't you mention the positives about what you're talking about?

    Ugh, sorry about this, didn't mean to lecture. But that's how I feel.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 5:28 PM
    MuppetPastor
  • mos2000

    I liked DNF. This game is not a perfect 10 - far from it. However I think the assertion that the game sucks mainly because the gameplay is "outdated" visuals aren't "fluid" and doesn't contain that "current cinematic feel" is absurd. Not because its my opinion, but because it's the opinion of many hard-core gamers across the stratosphere; and no I don't include Duke fanboys. I'm not one. Honestly I gave two rats @#% if DNF ever came out. However after giving it a try, I appreciated the nostalgia in this game.

    The attempt here was to make a game with a classic Duke feel, for those that truly appreciated the era. It does just that. Challenging gameplay, classic level design, tough as nails opponents; all with a nostalgic anchor. I will be the first to admit additional platforming could have been replaced with more shooting - but again, it's not a 10. It does enough to fairly reach the mark it was attempting. Fans of that area will appreciate it for that alone, not what so many foolishly expected/wanted it to be. Some graphically souped 7th gen style shooter. Gearbox made it very clear that was not going to be the final product.

    With that said the assertions of this game in comparison to others graded astounds me. As of late, G4 has been more sensible in logical in their reviews than others - but that's not saying much. I'm not faulting G4 because their view is different then mine. My issue is that them and mainly all these game pundits claim to base their opinions on a broad understanding of the community. That these reviews are not to simply display their personal preferences on an entertainment basis; but to provide "recommendations" that in general are applicable to the community on avg. With that said, the community in whole rate this game between a 5.5 to a 6/10. Those that are familiar with and like the old-school PC genre of games will enjoy this. Many of us still exists, we make up a very large sector of the community, therefore dismissing those that like this as far and few "fanboys" is out of touch with the community as a whole.

    Don't get me wrong - I'm not some 90's gaming hippie wanting everything to play like some 8-bit "gem". I'm a rabid hard-core gamer that wants the overall experience to be pushed to that next level. However, I don't distinguish that "next level" as merely souped-up visuals, a bunch of Michael Bayish explosions for merely pressing a button, and that ever so sickening "clever story-line". I stay true to my roots, and find a successful game to must have challenging gameplay that test and enhance my "gaming IQ", good level design that fit the games theme and bring a sense of urgency to the player while engaged, and a fair amount of intuitive strategy involved for a player to reach success.

    For instance, my favorite game this gen, though not purely a shooter, is Bioshock. I love the gameplay, the strategic implementations, the use of elements and weapons, and interaction with enemy AI. With this alone, the game is an 8.5. The graphics and story elevate to a 10. Half the community fit into this boat. To discredit us as fanboys because we don't think certain "nooks and crannies" are a must in a descent shooter - again - is out of touch with gamers as a whole.

    That's because the avg gamer age is in the early to mid 30's. Again there are a lot of older gamers that are familiar with therefore will like this, and younger gamers who are unfamiliar with it and hate it. Everyone doesn't fit neatly into this mold, but the vast majority do. Game reviewers tend to side more with the younger generation, because they are the most vocal, hence the negative reviews.

    If you appreciate this classic genre you will like Duke. If you think the 90's FPS style of play should be buried at sea, with no trace, you won't. All I have to say is that no one was duped, no one was fooled. Gearbox said EXACTLY how this game would play. It would have served many greatly had they listened before they bought it. Instead they unwisely expected their own anal litmus' for a "good" FPS to be applied - to an installment of a cult classic series of all games.....LOL

    Posted: June 22, 2011 5:23 PM
    mos2000
  • steeltoedloafers

    With EA's opening their Origin service, what does that mean for EA franchises already on Steam, like Mass Effect, Dead Space, Dragon Age, and Battlefield? As a player of both Mass Effect games on the PC, it makes no sense to finish one of the best trilogies in gaming on two different services.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 5:16 PM
    steeltoedloafers
  • NickhatesAlabama

    watsup

    Posted: June 22, 2011 4:53 PM
    NickhatesAlabama
  • Mystical_Knight

    Yay, more Morgan! *squishy hug* Please keep having her on more, well, instead of just once in a blue moon like how it used to be. Where is Stephan, haven't seen him on Feedback in a little while.

    Sorry if I seem creepy, just love Morgan's personality, more sarcastic humor please! :-)

    I wonder if Adam got the new DLC for L.A. Noire yet....or maybe you finished it already.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 4:42 PM
    Mystical_Knight
  • biggernerdthanu

    I thought today was Tuesday and we got a special early feedback. ohh unemployment life....

    Posted: June 22, 2011 4:28 PM
    biggernerdthanu
  • Mashpotaters

    The DLC thing is pretty out of hand. I hate it, but I can't really say that honestly because I was one of the people that sold the Transformers: War for Cybertron Demolisher code for 80 bucks, then maybe a month later it was released as DLC. I can see where the release DLC is a problem. I have no problem with it when it's cosmetic because what do I care about an extra skin here, and an extra skin there. The Transformers DLC codes I had a problem with because they weren't just skin; they were characters for Escalation (their version of horde) and in Escalation each characters has different abilities (that's also a reason I think they sold for so much, you know gamers and what they'll do to get an edge), so the DLC characters were an important part of a certain game type.

    Where I'm getting at is that they need to quit making pre-order DLC if it's in any way going to impact gameplay. I don't think anybody cares if you get an extra skin to choose from for pre-ordering, but if it in any ways affects the game it needs to just come with the game no matter what.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 4:14 PM
    Mashpotaters
  • AbnPete

    Ok I'm a 36 year gamer and when I played Duke back in the day I couldn't believe it could get any better, but it did. Games like Halflife, Medal of Honor, Call of Duty, and Gears just keep pushing the limits. I was hoping, and I am sure so were a lot of others, that DNF would have learned from those games and been more of an updated next gen Duke 3D. What it ended up being was a dumb down Duke 3D with a few updated jokes. But that's not that bad part. The worse thing about it is that they hyped the game to be something it wasn't, charged us 60 bucks while laughing at us, and giving us the finger as they mooned us while driving by the midnight release at gamestop. The same thing almost killed gaming in the 80's with a game called E.T.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:52 PM
  • Mashpotaters

    I agree that other services trying to pop up taking titles away from Steam, only to try to exclusively release it themselves is going to lead to a mess. It just reminds me of how some networks won't deal with Netflix streaming because they want to use their own service which aren't as successful because they want it available exclusively from them. For instance HBO won't deal with Netflix streaming because they want to keep their stuff on their service, but it would be more beneficial to them to work with Netflix streaming. In the case of Steam, it seems like the same things will happen. Publisher A now has their own Steam service type of distribution, so they take their games off Steam and put it exclusively on their service. This type of stuff ends up spreading everything out, and just becomes problematic. You end up needing to go here for this game, then here for that game, then over there for that game. It's just much better to try to work together to have everything in one location.

    Posted: June 22, 2011 3:41 PM
    Mashpotaters
AdChoices