X

Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration

Posted: May 18, 2011
Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52974/feedback-la-noire-review-psn-restoration/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270147_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_52974
In this edition of Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4tv.com team goes back to the 1940s to give their review on Rockstar Games' detective simulator, L.A. Noire. Also, we discuss about Sony's PSN being restored and what free games we should get.

Comments are Closed

  • Mystical_Knight

    The outfits were great, Adam, that hat suits you perfectly. Really funny Feedback, I went back and listened to a couple of sections because they were so funny, especially the "Pursuit Force" topic. "Hold on, that guys getting away, call the Pursuit Force!" LMAO, cracked me up..

    I was going to wait for L.A. Noire to come down in price, and maybe get it used for $40-30, but you know what, I'm gonna get it this Friday. Don't get me wrong, I've had interest in this game since I started seeing stuff about it last year, I just don't like forking out $60 for games much anymore. However, I always hear about when you buy a game used that the developer doesn't make money off it, only when you get it new, so I will get it brand spanking new this Friday, because you know what, they deserve it. They deserve it because of all the hard work and money that went into it the past 7-8 years, especially because of the new facial motion tech. Though I have enough reward points with that rewards program at Gamestop to get $10 off, so I also may do that, that's not wrong is it?

    Posted: May 19, 2011 5:50 AM
    Mystical_Knight
  • indo501

    I gotta say as a PS3 owner I thought the "welcome back program" was pretty weak nothing in it that I either care about or don't have already. They should have just given a $30 voucher or something, and also its pretty lame that I can't play Mortal Kombat on psn because I can redeem the stupid Kombat pass

    Posted: May 19, 2011 1:15 AM
    indo501
  • Dexter111

    Also, when I was around 12 I was playing games like Monkey Island, Simon the Sorcerer and Baldur's Gate (+ a lot of other jump&runs and adventure games) and was enjoying them a lot, I only "got" into Shooters later because they stopped making them and the Online Multiplayer with RL friends... I still have a great hunger for some fantastic RPGs and Adventure games but then I'm mainly a PC gamer and not exactly your intended target audience from the looks of it xD

    Still I think there are many a people out there ready for some change and new experiences (or old ones renewed) and a bit more complexity and difficulty added to their games that barely any dev studio is providing because the suits always carry the "latest Call of Duty sales numbers" around with them in their briefcase. There's a lot of "this won't work because..." and "the numbers indicate that..." kind of talk in the industry without trying new things which can be frustrating.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 1:09 AM
    Dexter111
  • indo501

    Who Really cares about the leaks of MW3 the single player will probably be horrible like the other modern warfare's

    Posted: May 19, 2011 1:01 AM
    indo501
  • Hitman_Mr.47

    "some people just say 'I want Battlefield 3, well then why the (bleep) are you reading this (bleeping) review you (bleephead)'"

    I love you, Adam. I really do.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 12:51 AM
    Hitman_Mr.47
  • Dexter111

    Really, not even a MENTION of Witcher 2?

    As for L.A Noire, if they still haven't announced anything about a PC version when my semester break starts I guess I'll have to make an exception and borrow the 360 of a friend for a week or two :/

    Posted: May 19, 2011 12:31 AM
    Dexter111
  • C00James

    I tend towards BIoware and Bethesday games because of the consistently good stories and great gameplay. I'm interested in Bioshock Infinite because of the same things.

    I've never really been into Rockstar games because the subject matter that they tended towards just weren't my thing. GTA games weren't my thing, I've played them a bit, but aside from cool environments I didn't care for them. I didn't enjoy the game play and the story wasn't something I cared about. Bully to me just didn't seem interesting at all to me. But when Red Dead Redemption game out I wanted to play it, the story seemed really good and the setting looked engrossing, and I feel even stronger about L.A. Noire. Being that I live in LA County and have fun LA adventures being "transported" back to that time would be really awesome.

    My over all opinion on the importance of LA Noire is that while pretty cool I think it's more about a new direction for Rockstar and less gaming over all. Since it really is similar to an old time adventure game it's more akin to a rebirth or modernization of an old genre. I'd be interested in seeing such a rebirth as adventure games could really be a good entry point for non-gamers in the same way that puzzle games are since they really don't require massive dexterity or strategic thought in the same way that other genres do.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 11:45 PM
    C00James
  • dakotasonic

    i am 14 and i play a lot of shooters and rpgs and i would really like to get la noire because it looks like a greet game far different then any other game that i have played which i have been looking for a game that looks really different i might get it soon

    Posted: May 18, 2011 11:40 PM
  • kennytowers3392

    Once again I love when Adam reviews a game because he thinks of things other reviewers do not. Plus i love Feedback!!!!

    Posted: May 18, 2011 11:28 PM
    kennytowers3392
  • NickhatesAlabama

    i'm twelve and this is my tie for game o the year. (tied with portal 2) if i count as the younger generation, then yes, people are excited and love this game.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 11:24 PM
    NickhatesAlabama
  • beinaido

    Why didn't they compare L.A. Noire to Mass Effect??? That's a successful story driven game that has sold a lot! I think this will be a successful game in the end and that's what this industry needs to lure new/mature gamers.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 10:35 PM
  • HELLFIRE11

    51:35...super creeper face in the backround. Can't remember his name

    Posted: May 18, 2011 9:22 PM
    HELLFIRE11
  • Papasmurf531

    Hey guys! I doubt you'll read this but i figure I'll write a few sentences from the "young" demographic. I have been loving heavy story games since I was in 2nd grade with the legend of zelda ocarina of time (not the heaviest story telling, I also love FPS;s like halo and COD on occassion). I am now 16 and I am loving this game. It has a good, deep, dark story to it like you said. I know quite a few kids at my Highschool are excited for it. Love the show, I wanna do something in the game industry. I'm not sure if I wanna be part of the news for it or actually develop them. I love how deeply you guys disscus the games so deeply, most of my friends dont look into games like me and listing to you guys talk on feedback kind of helps feed that void =p

    Posted: May 18, 2011 9:19 PM
    Papasmurf531
  • rikkuster

    Lol, Dana... "E3... it's our own armageddon" XD
    I almost feel bad for the G4 staff since I'm sure it's a lot of work but I still get excited for E3.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:48 PM
    rikkuster
  • DeadPool112

    Am I the only one who noticed Blair creeping towards the end?

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:37 PM
    DeadPool112
  • Ninjaonhiatus

    i mean 51:29

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:26 PM
  • Ninjaonhiatus

    54:10 blair bein creepy in the window

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:26 PM
  • nateddy

    i'm fourteen and this is my tie for game o the year. (tied with portal 2) if i count as the younger generation, then yes, people are excited and love this game.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:25 PM
  • Kemo85

    All the costumes are great, Nicole looks great and I wanna get a suit like Steves lol. I can't wait to get paid this week, gonna pick up LA Niore. It will be a nice change of pace... been playing Vanquish challenge 6 for the last 3 days I wanna slow it down some lol.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 8:21 PM
    Kemo85
  • RiseUp44

    love the game im 26 and i find this game smart and exciting starts slow but once you hit the 3rd desk it turns into a hit im hooked

    Posted: May 18, 2011 7:50 PM
AdChoices