X

Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration

Posted: May 18, 2011
Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52974/feedback-la-noire-review-psn-restoration/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270147_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_52974
In this edition of Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4tv.com team goes back to the 1940s to give their review on Rockstar Games' detective simulator, L.A. Noire. Also, we discuss about Sony's PSN being restored and what free games we should get.

Comments are Closed

  • M3rc_Nate

    22/M/WA - I am excited to play/own LA Noire. No i did not pre-order nor plan on paying more than $30 for the game, but thats less about its quality and more about how im $60 level excited for very few games (BF3, ACreed, ME3). I have no issue with its length because its a certain type of story. Theres only so many hours you want to play as a detective, compared to loving playing 80 as a assassin or mage.

    What LA Noire really brings to the industry that i like is even though i love a ton of games and almost all involve killing/shooting. I really want a genre that is fun and deep but doesn't have me killing people and LA Noire is somewhat the closest iv seen a game be to that genre. Yes it does have shooting but it looks like just in real life as a detective, you want answers, you dont WANT to shoot anyone, so its not a goal to kill or pull your gun.
    Maybe even a game that could semi fit that dream genre is one that i have guns but you can play it so you beat/win the game never having fired a shot (so through conversation and compromise and negotiation) or you beat/win the game by killing every single person in the game. Give me that freedom to see what type of person i am. Am i naturally inclined to be evil and massacre or inclined to be compassionate and try to solve things with words.

    Honestly I dont give a Frak about MW3. I am done with the games. Its fast food gaming, no quality, no substance, a Michael bay production/story. COD4 was revolutionary and IMO the COD killer isnt BF, or MOH, its Call of duty. I think they will burn themselves to the ground. I think they shoot themselves in the foot and are dieing of infection and BF3 & BF4 will help put it out of its misery.
    Dont care about any of the games listed to release except hitman i am excited for. I am saddened by the lack of excitement but i kind of understand. I just love how hitman (blood money) was not just a walk in the room shooting. But it was like splintercell or AC where you have very perticular things you need to do at certain times to accomplish your task/mission. (such as poison the cake then hide then snipe then change clothes and walk out front door). That excites me.
    Game im most excited for? BF3. I LOVE AC, ME, Hitman, Uncharted etc. But BF2 was....the holy grail of shooters for me. Realistic yet had a shot of fun. Instead of COD's overdose of fun with a tiny shot of realism. I cannot wait to get BF3 and play it every day alone or with friends for the next 3 years like i did with BF2.
    I will pre-order BF3 and get it release day delivery (or steam). MW3 i MIGHT buy when its $10 on steam a year after release.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 2:26 PM
    M3rc_Nate
  • cardinalsfan1122

    AAAAHHHH! Blair's creeping in the window!

    Posted: May 18, 2011 2:20 PM
    cardinalsfan1122
  • Cutebrute

    Well, I for one can't wait for Feedback next week :D

    Posted: May 18, 2011 2:17 PM
    Cutebrute
  • Aaron82

    Nikole is so cute in that outfit.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 2:15 PM
    Aaron82
  • AWilke

    I'm a sophomore in high school. All my friends got this game yesterday. All my friends love it.

    +10 young generation

    Posted: May 18, 2011 2:08 PM
    AWilke
  • rbernard80

    I'm confused about that Kingdom Hearts release date. Brotembruary only has Eleventy-Four days...

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:57 PM
    rbernard80
  • fmaguy91

    Blair Herter is a creeper at around 51 mins.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:56 PM
    fmaguy91
  • Kasai123

    I'm 15 and I got this game the day it came out. So far, its one of the best games I've played in the past 8 or 9 years. I love it. It looks amazing, the gameplay is unlike any other game I've played and the story is great. Im only in the Traffic desk and its great.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:54 PM
    Kasai123
  • fpsjoe

    I think what they touched on about L.A. Noire was very good. Some of my friends picked up the game and didn't like it because it was too slow for them. They were used to FPS and traditional Rockstar games where the foundation was on action. For me personally, I LOVE THIS GAME. Sadly I'm in the middle of finals week here at Fresno State so I am still near the beginning, but when I come home from school it is a lot of fun to sit down, relax and enjoy a good mystery.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:51 PM
    fpsjoe
  • cwbys21

    Dana and Nikole look so beautiful and classy in the throw back clothes.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:46 PM
    cwbys21
  • RobbieRotten

    A few cars as collectibles? Is she unaware of the film reels and other stuff??

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:41 PM
  • flyingchicken

    wait didn't G4 have a link to the Mass Effect 3 spoilers?

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:35 PM
    flyingchicken
  • RobbieRotten

    I love how they kept saying gamers are "smart" they will get "it", right in front of nicole who is kinda coming off as one of those "dumb" gamers who did not get or like it. Just having her on here gives her a bad look cause she just comes off annoying and ignorant, I understand having an opposing opinion on the show to raise a healthy debate but there was no debate everyone else was seemingly in LOVE with this game. Shes never bothered me before of course I prefer Abby but in this episode she really came off as an obnoxious gamer.... Not because she disliked the game but in the way she portrayed her opinion, trashy. I am sadly suprised.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:35 PM
  • bigjonn

    Of course, he wears a fruity looking hat, it suits him well.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:26 PM
  • RbEeAtDwLeIeNnE

    I have to agree with Stephen, my wife was interested in watching me play LA Noire, and she pointed out famous people. Like the Captain of the police squad? He was from The Hunt For Red October. I asked my wife, "What do you want to watch on TV" after she got done with some overtime work, and she said, "I want to watch you play this." She is totally NOT a gamer, and she was sitting there interested in the cases, helping me in the interrogations, and was completely impressed at the almost OCD level of detail in the game.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:24 PM
    RbEeAtDwLeIeNnE
  • Barbuganot

    They better dress up as superheroes when Arkham City comes out.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:19 PM
    Barbuganot
  • NotAnEvilDooer

    Lmao!! Blair Herter in the window!

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:17 PM
    NotAnEvilDooer
  • RbEeAtDwLeIeNnE

    Again, @Nicole, you can turn off the cues for investigating a crime scene in the options menu. Then you have no "chimes" to let you know there is a clue there. It ramps up the difficulty to find "crucial" pieces of evidence.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:06 PM
    RbEeAtDwLeIeNnE
  • frankurban

    my mom watched me and a few of my friends play L.A. Noire, and said, "If there wasn't so much cussing I would want to play this."

    This person has never shown interest in any video game ever. So yeah, Noire is doing something right.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:06 PM
    frankurban
  • Tacoboy1111

    At 19 I would say i'm at the younger demographic of gamers out there and I absolutely love LA Noir. However personally I have always fallen in the spectrum of players who love Single player and story heavy games. While I do enjoy the occasional game where I can turn my brain off and multitask I'm much more interested in games that scratch my brain a bit; otherwise I get a bit bored. I agree that the somewhat more unrealistic action sequences that are the norm in most games don't really fit here. There are times playing LA Noir that I wish Cole was a bit more vulnerable when it came to the action sequences.

    Posted: May 18, 2011 1:03 PM
AdChoices