X

Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration

Posted: May 18, 2011
Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52974/feedback-la-noire-review-psn-restoration/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270147_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_52974
In this edition of Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4tv.com team goes back to the 1940s to give their review on Rockstar Games' detective simulator, L.A. Noire. Also, we discuss about Sony's PSN being restored and what free games we should get.

Comments are Closed

  • Thor93

    I adore this game sooooo much. I am rather tired of just constant action when it is uneccesary. Yea I love uncharted and resistance and halo. However these complex story games are so fresh

    Posted: May 19, 2011 6:15 PM
    Thor93
  • thefreed

    I am 20 years old and I am SURPRISED Adam said this was the most mature game he has played.
    The most mature game that I played in my memory is Shin Megami tensei nocturne and many atlus games are pretty mature.

    But I've been interested in this game ever since I seen a quick look of it, and it kinda reminds me of phoenix wright game play which is not bad at all (Also it seems like it's done better).

    I think a noirish modern setting can work. The thing is, TODAY might be the most noirish age people live in except many people are just not aware of it. They're blissfully unaware.
    I could think of an idea for a noirish game in a modern setting... but it would have to be with some dangerous ideas...

    Posted: May 19, 2011 4:48 PM
    thefreed
  • Techie

    Did you notice Blair in the background towards the end. lol what a silly man.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 4:11 PM
    Techie
  • The Nameless Monster

    Cyber Punk game like Blade Runner or Ghost in the shell And maybe Blue Velvet .

    Posted: May 19, 2011 1:43 PM
    The+Nameless+Monster
  • undead58551

    im 17 and i really want this game

    Posted: May 19, 2011 1:20 PM
    undead58551
  • frankurban

    So when you guys say "younger gamer", what age are you talking about exactly? Because I am much younger than most of you (21), but I still love L.A. Noire (and many other slow/smart games). So are you talking about "11-16 year old" young? Or just "younger than you" young?

    Posted: May 19, 2011 12:44 PM
    frankurban
  • codmerced

    I love seeing Blair at 51:31 lol

    Posted: May 19, 2011 11:53 AM
    codmerced
  • balbar

    Also lulz at creepy Blair Herter peeking in on the taping at 51:30.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 11:16 AM
    balbar
  • balbar

    Major lulz @ the Dora the Explorer > Seal Team 6 reference.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 11:13 AM
    balbar
  • BONERJAM

    Another great Feedback. TBH these are the types of videogame conversations that I wish took place online but sadly the internet forums are usually reserved for trolls and fanboys. I can't wait for next week. Also, L.A. Noire is awesome.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 10:44 AM
    BONERJAM
  • xCDSx

    How would one go about message the feedback show...

    Posted: May 19, 2011 10:25 AM
    xCDSx
  • ninenightmares

    awesome feedback and the Sess, wow pwning trolls and she-trolls lol

    Posted: May 19, 2011 10:08 AM
    ninenightmares
  • CodenameESC

    Dana I believe that is a Tulle veil.
    new
    newSo the fact that RockStar* has taken a new direction with L.A. Noire is so important, because new IP is really what spawns creativity and passion in gamers and developers in my opinion. There is a reason Hemingway didn't write the 'Sun Rises Again' because he would have a dedicated audience, hell at one point he wrote 'The Fifth Column' a play, and that I like to believe is reason the artists create, for the sake of inspiration not just to placate an audience. It's important that L.A. Noire stepped away from the standard GTA "Open World" model because that model has never really been that open. Yes you can buy whatever you want, kill whoever you want, and have sex with whatever hooker you want but that's where the Openness ends in all honesty The Sims is more of an "Open World" than any GTA game has ever really been. Don't get me wrong, I have liked GTA since the first time I got to move a little dot man around a city shooting things and putting bombs in cars, but admitedly it never really enthralled me the way a "Closed World" game can. Technically we live in an open world called life everyday and most of the time I don't get to much done, and that is the same thing that happens with Open World games I never get much done and by the time I get back to the plot I'm kinda bored of this world since I already stolen every car, killed lots of unpleasnt gang members, had plenty of illict sex, and have fought the US Army one to a hundred, and all of it outside the active narrative of the game.
    new
    newI think there will be a following to this from older and I think a decent amount of younger gamers. I know we like to crap on younger video game enthusiasts a bit, perhaps it's the trama from being trash talked by 13 year olds who kick our asses in some death match game online, but I know I was once a wee lad and so was everyone else, and this is a game I would have definetly been interested in. So that is really what we have to remember, because I'm sure our elder ones talked down to us the same way. Though that is something that isn't wise for use to continue, I know most of my peers feel that hey I was born into the gaming era these kids don't know how long it took to have a hearty Video Game industry. The reason to change is that this the first medium to have such a large swath of different ages that are now all interacting together online and we ought not discriminate by age, do the thoughtful thing and discriminate by individual stupidity.
    new-ESC

    Posted: May 19, 2011 8:43 AM
    CodenameESC
  • Darktak

    I am a 12 yr old and i think this is the best game ever and for all those who hate this game they must be call of duty jerks.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 8:25 AM
    Darktak
  • Pyro727

    I would love to see a H.P. Lovecraft or Sherlock Homes game with this game play!

    Posted: May 19, 2011 8:10 AM
    Pyro727
  • prydie

    The assertion that LA Noire is a Rockstar game is going to trip a few people up. Whilst Rockstar are the distributers of the game the creation has to be credited to Sydney, Australia based developers Team Bondi and its president Brendan McNamara who came up with the story idea, its setting, time period and development of the revolutionary animation process MotionScan. It is understandable that if the game keeps getting referred to as a Rockstar game then certain expectations are going to be unjustly applied to it. This is NOT a GTA game. It uses some of the same mechanics and engines you would find in an open world game but just because Rockstar are distributing it, it is unfairly being linked to a genus that includes GTA4 and Red Dead Redemption. Team Bondi deserve some credit for this outstanding game and I am ashamed that Its name is only ever mentioned briefly as if the project was farmed to them. If you love the game so much Adam, how about showing its developers a little respect.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 7:54 AM
    prydie
  • jwxx304

    Don't tease me about Kingdom Hearts 3! Otherwise jolly good show.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 7:49 AM
    jwxx304
  • Skithee

    At 24:50, what might be the single best The Sess moment begins...

    Posted: May 19, 2011 7:41 AM
  • piedpiper31

    I take issue with him being on with LA Noire as an RPG with no reason for exploration. Adam asks a good question with "Why can't Rockstar make something that's different?" and that is fine, but you have to hold it up to other games within the genre. Heavy Rain AND LA Noire are RPGs, they just are.

    But to say that giving me a lack of motivation/incentive to explore a large grandiose world because it's not GTA is ok is just no ok. If you picked any JRPG with a linear heavy story and lack of exploration, FFXIII, it would have been panned: and that game was. Few games now are offering us reasons to explore the world they inhabit, and a game like this where the culture and style are as much characters as the people themselves is wasted. That being said; I have been loving the game for the story telling it presents and the puzzle solving involved. I would have liked more reasons to do side missions or incentives to do them.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 7:37 AM
  • bubers

    Is it just me or did Adam get annoyed when the girl said she want a reason explore L.A. I can tell that Adam loved L.A Noire, I am playing and it is great i love a great story in my game but i must say if there was no action this would be a more interactive point and click. Now they need to find a perfect blend of game play and story.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 7:03 AM
    bubers
AdChoices