X

Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration

Posted: May 18, 2011
Feedback -- L.A. Noire Review & PSN Restoration
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52974/feedback-la-noire-review-psn-restoration/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270147_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_52974
In this edition of Feedback, Adam Sessler and the G4tv.com team goes back to the 1940s to give their review on Rockstar Games' detective simulator, L.A. Noire. Also, we discuss about Sony's PSN being restored and what free games we should get.

Comments are Closed

  • gtateen

    I am 13 and I love this game best story ever

    Posted: July 19, 2011 12:01 AM
    gtateen
  • Haymaker710

    It would've been great if they had an old timey radio broadcasting room with old fashioned General Electric mics and they were all smoking.

    Posted: May 25, 2011 12:15 PM
    Haymaker710
  • theBEAST137

    I am 17, and overall I really loved L.A Noire. I played through it in large chunks of 3-5 hours, and I think that may have affected some of my later opinions of it because I did start to think it was losing its lust near the end. Another thing i really didn't like about it was I felt like the last act of the story focused less on Cole and more on the corruption of L.A, and I thought that it was kind of jarring the way they did it. They eventually made it work, and it ended up making the game that much better. I felt like the searching of the clues was relatively slow, and its something that you need to be motivated to do, but Rockstar did a great job of motivating the player with all of the cases of making you really want to catch the criminal that committed such a terrible crime.

    Overall, it is a landmark game, both in terms of maturity and in gameplay structure altogether. It is a game that will probably be studied on the same level as Portal 2, however for completely different reasons.

    Posted: May 24, 2011 3:50 PM
    theBEAST137
  • WniO

    I didnt like how the game was an open world and had nothing to do... if you make a sandbox game, give players the option to go out and explore or else do levels... like every other sane game. plus it would look even better.

    Posted: May 24, 2011 11:04 AM
    WniO
  • Skodmunk

    The rapture did happen !! but somehow only my left nut got whisked away. Where art thou my left nut !!

    Posted: May 24, 2011 6:26 AM
    Skodmunk
  • G4Punisher1

    nikole looked great she had a lot of effort put into her outfit. especially with the make-up. Nothing more hot then a girl who looks like a girl should. Instead of so many of them trying to look like men.

    Posted: May 24, 2011 2:45 AM
  • nerdintheclouds

    I have to thank Steve Johnson for finally saying something that I never hear. About 27 minutes in when the group is talking about younger gamers and the possible reactions from this demographic, Johnson says that young gamers are smarter then they are given credit and I'm very happy to hear him say that. I've been playing mature games since I was 10 and I hated that adults always thought I was to young to understand and I felt it to be an insult to my intellect.
    I am aware that 12 year olds yelling racial/gay slurs is common occurrence in online gaming but that doesn't mean that every kid under 18 lacks the capacity to enjoy a deep mature game like L.A. Noire. Maturity comes from ones ability to respect others likes and stay true to ones likes coupled with the appreciation of something truly marvelous regardless of whether or not its ones cup of tea. So thank you again Johnson, for acknowledging the fact that mature gamers are people who thirst for games that are fun, intellectual, groundbreaking or maybe a combination of these not just people who have traveled around the sun more then others.

    Posted: May 23, 2011 7:00 PM
    nerdintheclouds
  • Axxe428

    As an older gamer who is an avid videogame fan, having seen the evolution of video games from when I first started playing (the first non-arcade game I played was on the Commodore 64 back in 1982), I have to say that L. A. Noire is the most original and fresh game I've seen come along in a very long time. I think that the impact this game will make on the industry is equivalent to the impact made by the original PlayStation when it released, and revolutionized the potential of compact disc technology and what that format could bring to video game developers. I personally love this game, and hope that other developers will be willing to take a risk and develop similar IPs akin to what Mr. Sessler and Mr. Johnson were suggesting, rather than continue to play it safe and release new iterations of established franchises (Call of Duty, Battlefield, Need For Speed, Super Mario, etc.) It will find a fan base of intelligent, mature gamers who, like myself, are looking for something more cerebral, as round after round of Black Ops or Bad Company 2 can only satisfy for so long before it becomes more of the same. L. A. Noire engages me like few other games ever have, and not since Knights of the Old Republic or the Mass Effect series have I felt like the choices I make really do have an impact or give a sense of ownership to the narrative and conclusion.

    Posted: May 23, 2011 11:09 AM
    Axxe428
  • Lifendz

    God, I love how Adam gets caught up in the air when he begins a sentence. "I I I I I I" "But But But But." it's hilarious. It's like he has tourettes.

    Posted: May 22, 2011 10:34 PM
    Lifendz
  • superninja234

    I am 16 and I love L.A. Noire and so does my 14 year old brother. We both find the story very involving and we love using the clues to prove that someone was lying. I don't like the action parts that much and the driving is kind of pointless because of how tight the controls are. But as far as story telling goes this game beats even Portal 2 which I thought was the epitome of video game story telling.

    Posted: May 22, 2011 5:57 PM
  • Walnutbread

    As far as the question about other settings that the noire concept could be applied to: I don't see why it could not work in a modern setting, especially with the popularity of crime drama TV shows. Maybe this is how a good CSI game could be made?

    What I would like to see is how the noire style of game can be applied to things outside of a detective story and maybe Heavy Rain is an example of how that type story would play out.

    Posted: May 22, 2011 2:49 PM
    Walnutbread
  • Zanfare

    I am a teenager and I feel that story is a very important part of a game. I am probably one of the only teenagers that likes Halo a lot more than Call of Duty because of Halo's deep story. I have been looking forward to playing L.A. Noire for quit sometime now and I feel that it is a great game. I think that L.A. Noire is so far going to be game of the year this year. That or Portal 2. Any gamer can like L.A. Noire if they are expecting a story driven game. If they expect L.A. Noire to be another GTA than they are going to be disappointed, but I feel that Rockstar is making their best games yet with Red Dead last year and L.A. Noire this year. L.A. Noire is fantastic!

    Posted: May 22, 2011 9:35 AM
    Zanfare
  • gking4

    what is up with that guy that was running at 30 seconds?

    Posted: May 22, 2011 6:49 AM
    gking4
  • DoppelgangerII

    Loved L.A. Noire. In the words of Cliffy B "its a chocolate and peanut butter type situation". It combines the chocolaty goodness of sandbox worlds with a peanut buttery center of point and click adventuring.

    It reminded me a little of Westwood Studios Blade Runner game. I know a licensed IP is probably to much to ask for but a Blade Runner game would make an awesome follow up. Voight-kampff tests just seem like a perfect application for MotionScan tech.

    Posted: May 22, 2011 12:00 AM
    DoppelgangerII
  • ownthenoob

    blair that was the randomest stuff i have ever seen at 51 min and 26 sec funny as hell.

    Posted: May 21, 2011 6:25 PM
    ownthenoob
  • merivigian

    I don't think age has much to do with it, but I do grant that it has a bit. I'm 16 and I bought LA Noire day one and I was interested in this game when the first trailer came out (about 3 years ago, the black and white/sepia trailer). I think it has a lot to do with preference and maturity. I know a few friends that won't classify a person as a true "gamer" unless they playing CoD every hour of your life, which shows that you do have to be mature to play a game like LA Noire.

    Posted: May 21, 2011 1:06 PM
    merivigian
  • Arktek

    Agree with Nicole about BF3/MW3... but I really wanted to comment on seeing Blair Herter with a creepy face behind Adam near the end of the show!

    Posted: May 21, 2011 1:01 AM
    Arktek
  • tachFX

    I have to disagree with some of whats said. L.A. Noire isa unique and fun game and different from other Rockstar titles, but this game wasn't made by Rockstar it was team Bondi so I am ok with the differences. But I finished the game on the first day and got almost all the trophies in one shot, finishing my second playthrough to see what's different, but after that I have all of L.A. with nothing to do. I feel the game has kept a little to much linearity for a video games sake.

    Posted: May 20, 2011 11:50 PM
    tachFX
  • ShyBunny

    I can't believe none of them can remember Pursuit Force. X-play gave the game a 3/5 and Adam did the video review.

    Posted: May 20, 2011 10:53 PM
    ShyBunny
  • Itssuperdelcious

    I say you dress up for all your game of the weeks, Then get Morgan, Nikole, and Abby on the show. Game of the week? Any DOA really. Just sayin know your audience.

    Posted: May 20, 2011 10:04 PM
    Itssuperdelcious
AdChoices