X

Feedback -- Brink Review

Posted: May 11, 2011
Feedback -- Brink Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52876/feedback-brink-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/269557_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_52876
In this edition of Feedback, Emily Gordon (the girl from the corner) joins Adam Sessler, Kevin Kelly, and Stephen Johnson to talk about the review of Brink. Find out why Brink didn't live up to hype.

Comments are Closed

  • crazyginger

    Great show, but in Brink discussion you missed the biggest example of how multiplayer-only doesnt work so great. Shadowrun. Purely designed for the hardcore multiplayer, much moreso than brink, but failed in public reception even though the game was, and still is, incredible.

    Posted: May 19, 2011 5:51 PM
  • D10078

    BRINK was on my list. But, $60.00 for a game that is the same in either mode is a waste. I like shooters, RPG's and any other possible game. But a game that was hyped to be all the shooter's best and multiplayer fell short for me. Make up your own minds wheather or not this is a viable purchase for for you $$$.

    Posted: May 17, 2011 6:54 PM
    D10078
  • D10078

    BRINK was on my list. But, $60.00 for a game that is the same in either mode is a waste. I like shooters, RPG's and any other possible game. But a game that was hyped to be all the shooter's best and multiplayer fell short for me. Make up your own minds wheather or not this is a viable purchase for for you $$$.

    Posted: May 17, 2011 6:54 PM
    D10078
  • sgtpower

    Brink is an OK game, but it is not worth 60$. I wish they would rate games buy whether or not they are worth 60$ buck or not. That would help me out. I kept saying to myself "this game is cool but damn I paid 60$ for it!

    Posted: May 17, 2011 7:51 AM
    sgtpower
  • jreezy19

    Now that I think about it, Microsoft doesn't care about making games. It kind of makes me sad for them because they used to have a lot of first-party titles. The only reason I'm planning on getting another 360 is because most of the people I know play online games on 360. I am a fan of Microsoft but I think I've realized that Sony is the best at providing quality first-party titles for hardcore gamers. Now I know why I've been a PlayStation fan for almost 15 years.

    Posted: May 17, 2011 1:25 AM
    jreezy19
  • RapidFATE

    Awesome show guys and gal! Loved your discussion on the single player/ multi-player aspects of gaming. I too one day hope we can get to a place where gaming isn't surrounded by killing of either people or objects, ha-ha. It is very unsatisfying to step back and see that as the corner stone in SO many games. More immersive worlds and other human yearnings on a social aspect as oppose to killing those that are trying to kill us. Some with a political aspect may be fun, but then you've instantly eliminated 98% of the gaming market since most are young boys and they could care less if you could diplomatically solve a dispute amongst two nuclear powers. /shrug. Ohhhhh well.

    Posted: May 16, 2011 9:16 PM
  • psboomjr

    Brink is an awesome first person shooters it makes the concept of it more different and challenging. Sure the game is for idiots who can't figure out how to do objectives or what it is but if you are smart enough to understand it you'll love it. Story mode I like because even though there's not enough solid story it's still good. On both sides you are another soldier fighting for what your character believes, thats it not some super man that does amazing and impossible things, but another soldier. One thing I really love this game brings so much reality that other games don't have. Unlike COD knifing doesn't instantly kill you and you don't recharge in 5 secs. This game brought in things like explosions knock you down and you must push yourself up as well as getting hit by a gun. everything that you do, you as an individual do, it doesn't do it automatically, but you do it manually. The guns may not be a huge variety as other games, but the guns can be made for you as an individual and what you want as a gun; not what kills you faster like people who play COD. The repeated challenges and games don't bother people because majority of games are repetitive; especially COD that has been repeated for so long with small new features that make real no difference. The computers in the game are a pain to fight against which is good because its a challenge, your team computers help you as well, but could never replace a human, but all computers are stupid because they are, can't help it. I think the last thing I will rant about is how people they there's not enough maps and low graphics and the lags, well guess what that all can be fixed through updates and downloadable content.

    Posted: May 16, 2011 7:39 PM
    psboomjr
  • Blackronin357

    Kinda mad they hated on Brink, but to each his own. I just wish there was some minority on there that had a urban perspective. I wish I could be on that show just to bring a real different perspective to the show.

    Posted: May 16, 2011 11:24 AM
  • balbar

    Keep Emily on board! She has intelligent things to say and she knows what she's talking about. The show flows so much easier just like it did with Abbie. Great show as always.

    Posted: May 16, 2011 10:10 AM
    balbar
  • raiderbouch13

    Just finished both sides of Brink...a review score of 2 is absurd...yeah, more to the story would've been nice but the teamwork action in this game definitely makes it work.So what if Morgan can't S.M.A.R.T. her way up a couple ledges...if you ask me she can't SMART anything.Bulletstorm got a 3,why Brink didn't ? You got me ?

    Posted: May 16, 2011 7:41 AM
    raiderbouch13
  • OneHappyRobot

    Best Part about Brink.... No boot option for betrayals >:]

    Posted: May 16, 2011 6:59 AM
    OneHappyRobot
  • Sir Vanity

    Hahaha. Veggie tales reference! "Where's Bob? And Larry?" I remember one. The Jericho one with the French peas singing about how their walls would never collapse.

    Posted: May 15, 2011 9:34 PM
  • elite_hoster

    All they need is stoned lepricon and holucingenic drugs, and it's a party

    Posted: May 15, 2011 5:22 PM
    elite_hoster
  • PrometheanArsonist

    The romantic subplot in Thor was completely unnecessary.

    Posted: May 15, 2011 4:31 PM
    PrometheanArsonist
  • Cyph3r05

    These guys must of never heard of Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory or Enemy Territory Quake Wars; same concept as Brink. In fact, minus the wheel and vehicles in ETQW, those two were games were alike. Sessler seriously never heard of Unreal Tournament? ... Come on...

    The videos was a glitch, you were only supposed to see the first, all good now. Lot of people play it. ;) All good for me.

    Posted: May 15, 2011 3:13 PM
    Cyph3r05
  • Crash486

    Adam: "Are there other games that are so strictly multiplayer like this that are sold at retail?"

    Unreal Tournament has always been predominately a multiplayer game with single player bot matches. It's always been very widely successful.

    Posted: May 14, 2011 7:03 AM
    Crash486
  • UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI

    I'm dispointed that Mass Effect 3 isn't coming out this year. But if they do make a Nintendo version of Mass Effect 3, the touch pad controller will have many great uses in the game. Maybe Bioware saw the potenial of the touch pad controller, and wanted to included for Nintendo.

    Posted: May 14, 2011 12:13 AM
    UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI
  • DarthHerter

    And how can Lakers get beat by one of the worst playoff teams in the league... Because this season they sucked and despite how great Kobe is, he can't win with a good Center. 3 rings with shaq, he left they were barely making the playoffs and barely getting out of the 1 and 2 round. Gasol shows up and they made the finals every year since he been there except this season haahaa. Go Heat!!!!

    Posted: May 13, 2011 8:26 AM
    DarthHerter
  • DarthHerter

    so you don't like brink because you don't know how to play it. awesome guys. i think its a pretty good game. One thing about the fps industry is that i think that some of them are unjustly compared to CoD, which kinda sucks. if a new shooter comes out and its not like CoD or too much like it, i think they kinda catch a lot of heat for it. Sort of the way every touch touch screen phone is compared to the iphone.

    so you don't like Thor because of the way he flies is what i gathered from this episode. Name one superhero that can fly that doesn't fly with his arm out in front of them. sessler stick to your movies from the 1950's and like the modern age of movies to the rest of us. Next week we will find out all of the stupid reasons you don't like Thor.... I can't wait!

    Posted: May 13, 2011 8:22 AM
    DarthHerter
  • Big_red42

    it would be nice if they didn't mention the things they couldn't talk about, rather than saying I can't talk about it. its just as annoying for politicians as it is from you guys.

    Posted: May 13, 2011 12:34 AM
    Big_red42
AdChoices