X

Sessler's Soapbox: The National Review of People

Posted: April 12, 2011
Sessler's Soapbox: The National Review of People
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52351/sesslers-soapbox-the-national-review-of-people/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/267041_LGST/soapbox-4-12-11.jpg
Video_52351
Adam discusses the controversy over Metacritic's developer/people pages.

Comments are Closed

  • thejman85

    zzzzzzzzz i herd better soapboxes

    Posted: April 12, 2011 5:35 PM
    thejman85
  • mronoc89

    I could get behind a system of rating people, only if it was a specific system with only two possible ratings:

    Human Being
    Reality Television Star

    Keep in mind, that's not including reality television shows about people doing their jobs, only the ones about people who become sickeningly famous and wealthy by contributing absolutely nothing to society.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 5:04 PM
    mronoc89
  • Silent-hero

    Rating people on a group effort isn't logical... I agree with Adam. People shouldn't be put on a tier list....that just does not make sense.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:57 PM
    Silent-hero
  • Ailya

    I agree. We should never rate people. Ever >_> Imagine if we did this in all aspects of life. Oh you people are 5s you have no business being around 9s >_>

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:36 PM
    Ailya
  • michaelmcallister

    Moderators, can you please delete my duplicate posts? For some reason, only the first page of comments were showing when I attempted to post my comment initially, so my post was not actually appearing on my screen after it was submitted.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:34 PM
  • tchrist91

    I completely agree with Adam. It's really sad to see where the industry MIGHT turn to, and here's hoping that it doesn't.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:32 PM
    tchrist91
  • Wrathofsauron

    Metacritic has WAY too much influence. This sounds like it will make it almost impossible to get a job in the industry.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:29 PM
    Wrathofsauron
  • PR__SLAYER

    i also believe adam is right. there is a fine line that tells us if were going too far, and were getting close.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:21 PM
    PR__SLAYER
  • Illuminate88

    I wholeheartedly disagree with you Adam. There's nothing wrong with posting the average score for the things someone has worked on. Do you not already ostracize the games people make if it's bad? This is simply an extension of that. The career score holds people accountable for what they work on. Obvious comparisons can be made between the career score and a resume. The greatest difference between the two is that the person in question makes the resume and is thus able to tell little white lies or stretch the truth while the career score is calculated by a third party with little or no bias. Also, making grandiose assumptions that the career score will be the end all be all for a position at a company is ludicrous. Lastly, if a particular team of people excel shouldn't each member of the team be recognized? The career score benefits those people that would get little to no recognition for the work they put in. In my opinion, the industry that has the most to gain from a career score is the film industry. The only people who receive a wide range of recognition for a film are directors and actors when they consist of 1/10th of a percent of the people who make a film a reality. You know what I mostly just realized? That I only see movies in the theater and buy games at retail if they get high review scores. I don't have enough time to spend on entertainment that is below a 9.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 4:02 PM
    Illuminate88
  • AK1RA666

    I agree 100% with Adam on this one. This whole rating thing is out of hand. The need to put a number to everything is annoying. When I was employed at Gamestop, there were so many people that would not buy a game or even give it the time of day if it didn't get a high rating score. I started to wonder how many people actually read the reviews people put out rather than just looking at a numeric value associated with a game. The way the media side of the industry is heading and is currently at really saddens me as a gamer. I have watched the industry for the last twenty years fight with too many outside judgments to be brought down by it's own media outlets.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:42 PM
    AK1RA666
  • OuroborosChoked

    I give this Soapbox a 5/5 ;)

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:31 PM
    OuroborosChoked
  • AngelsandDemons

    Rate them all....designers, developers, the best boy and even the guy who fetchers the coffee and porn at midnight...maybe it will encourage the industry to develop top quality and meaningful games...I even think they should do it for video game reviewers...God knows they need to trim the fat there.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:24 PM
    AngelsandDemons
  • feeishkane

    APRIL FOOLS!! Oh wait were 12 days too late

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:22 PM
    feeishkane
  • classic7

    No Adam you are not just old or crazy, this whole thing is completely asinine. I'm totally with you Adam.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:21 PM
    classic7
  • littledragon092

    I give Adam a 9 out of 10.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:20 PM
    littledragon092
  • michaelmcallister

    Nice! Wish these were longer though.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:16 PM
  • Zrow89

    Right on, Sess, You can't base a developer's value or career on the outcome of one or two bad games. I mean, Stallone's first movie was a porno (terrible one at that), Troy Aikman's first season with the Dallas Cowboys went without a win, except for that game he didn't play.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:10 PM
    Zrow89
  • FuzzofPekinopolis

    I completely agree with everything that you said! If Metacritic wants to get personal, I think these people should unite with a defamation of character lawsuit. Or something along those lines, if possible.

    There is just too much involved in making games. That person with the low score may have had no other choice than to make that bad decision about that bad game. But if he wanted to keep his job he damn well had to do what he was told.

    At least for me Metacritic can suck it!!!!!

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:05 PM
    FuzzofPekinopolis
  • xScarecrowX

    Adam,
    *Hand Raised*
    That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard of! Why should people judge one designer because a game, that sometimes hundreds of people worked on, is bad. Yes, because he sat in a room thought "I'm going to make a terrible game." then made the game be himself. *Sarcasm*

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:02 PM
    xScarecrowX
  • Donkeylips

    They could just rate the studios overall i think that would be fair.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:01 PM
    Donkeylips
AdChoices