X

Sessler's Soapbox: The National Review of People

Posted: April 12, 2011
Sessler's Soapbox: The National Review of People
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/52351/sesslers-soapbox-the-national-review-of-people/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/267041_LGST/soapbox-4-12-11.jpg
Video_52351
Adam discusses the controversy over Metacritic's developer/people pages.

Comments are Closed

  • michaelmcallister

    I wish Adam could make these longer. While I do not necessarily agree with everything he says on certain issues, his perspective is thought-provoking.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:59 PM
  • michaelmcallister

    I wish Adam could make these longer. While I do not necessarily agree with everything he says on certain issues, his perspective is thought-provoking!

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:58 PM
  • michaelmcallister

    I wish Adam could make these longer. While I do not necessarily agree with everything he says on certain issues, his perspective is thought-provoking!

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:56 PM
  • michaelmcallister

    I wish Adam had time to make these longer! His commentary on certain aspects of the video game industry is fantastic! While I do not necessarily agree with everything he says, it is certainly thought-provoking!

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:53 PM
  • michaelmcallister

    I wish Adam had time to make these longer! His commentary on certain aspects of the video game industry is fantastic! While I do not necessarily agree with everything he says, it is certainly thought-provoking!

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:51 PM
  • BobitoZ

    Having a score on a creator is completely irrelevant when done in the present time of the creator.

    Look at Van Gogh or Edgar Allan Poe. What would their score be during their lifetime.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:50 PM
    BobitoZ
  • Biggey

    amen

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:48 PM
    Biggey
  • RandyMercer

    I completely agree with Adam, at first I laughed this off but then I thought about the effect scores actually have on people, the same effect numbers have on people. This is the subjective thing I have ever seen; I guess as soon as we complete school we go back to the school of life. Pretty soon there's going to be a website that rates Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes, then here comes Ouroboros type of effect. Where they loop, vying for hits, ridiculous. I don't know what it is with society and the obsession of numbers. Metacritic was a site of mine to go and see if I agree with the critics but the system of "weighing" the scores if very much flawed and this is just showcasing the ego and narcissism of the page in general. They were already doing it with Actors and musicians. I don't know what else to say.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:42 PM
    RandyMercer
  • rikkuster

    I think Adam makes a good point about people who are hiring looking at these scores and basing the scores on an individual who is applying for a job. I suppose this is something that could be cleared up in the interview but people only get one chance to make a first impression and if that first impression is a lousy metacritic score, that's not good.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:18 PM
    rikkuster
  • Wozman23

    I always love when I got to a metacritc page and there is a huge disparity between the critics' average and the users' average. That alone proves the system is flawed.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:13 PM
    Wozman23
  • FalleStar

    You could look at the bright side of it, any development studio that is willing to base their hires on MetaCritic scores isn't the kind of developer I'd want to work for anyways. If the management in the organization is that ridiculous in their hiring process, I can only imagine what other crazy nonsense they put their own employees through.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:11 PM
    FalleStar
  • Bi-PolarBear

    ugh scoring people reminds me of that speech that guy made about Your Life a RPG. The future just seems to be getting creepier and creepier specially with how much we rate and consume product cause they know we as a society will eat that stuff up

    Posted: April 12, 2011 2:03 PM
    Bi-PolarBear
  • frankurban

    Nah, you're not old. I'm 21 and I can see how pointless, if not possibly harmful this can be to people.

    The example you gave about people not being able to work on the good games right out of school, etc was perfect.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:57 PM
    frankurban
  • SDwiz

    I've been to metacritic lots of times,and they usually place ratings based upon all critic scores for movies,music,games,ect.But now their doing it to people? it seems a little shady to me.He's right if you make it out of a gaming school you will not end up at Epic,Bioware,or any high rank gaming company.But to tell someone on internet pages about John Doe worked on this game and it really sucked,that's a low blow.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:57 PM
    SDwiz
  • JustTheBeginning

    Games are not made by one person so its not fair to contribute a whole game to one person. So no they should not be rating people, maybe developers though.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:51 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • bolo73

    Sound and image are still off on my screen. Nice soapbox Adam. I would hate to work in a field where someone gave me a score that followed me where ever I attempted to work.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:48 PM
    bolo73
  • TD_ThA_MoNsTa

    I don't think it is that you're getting old Adam, because I'm 19, and I agree with you. I think metacritic might be going a little crazy as so far to rate individual developers. Because seeing as how companies use metacritic scores to gauge on how successful their IP's doing within the market, they might use this as a judgment on just how good x person is at the job they're trying to find within their company, and it is kinda sad. All developers essentially start from somewhere, and that's usually from a place of mediocrity, mainly stemming from inexperience, and a lack of knowledge. But with working on those projects from their past, they at least take away knowledge that'll help them with future work, and now to hear someone might be shunned from working on an IP because of some number that'd been given to them from a website that rates videogames is really sad and stupid. It's one thing to do it to protect consumer's intersts as far as on what to buy, but to mess with someone's livelyhood is just plain wrong.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:44 PM
    TD_ThA_MoNsTa
  • Trityler

    I'm for the metacritic score of people...as a whole race. It'll incourage self improvement and teamwork.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:38 PM
    Trityler
  • pattractive

    all fixed! both sd and hd versions should run smoothly now.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:23 PM
    pattractive
  • Rankshot

    Hey Adam I didn't know you were japanese

    Posted: April 12, 2011 1:20 PM
AdChoices