X

iPad 2 Review

Posted: March 14, 2011
iPad 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/51750/ipad-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/264099_LGST/as20110314_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_51750

Kevin Pereira and Candace Bailey give us a review of Apple's new super tablet, the iPad 2. What's changed? What's better? How does it hold up now that the market is full of tablets? Find out with this review.

What You Need to Know

  • It really is thinner than the iPhone 4 and about 30% thinner than the original iPad
  • A lot of people didn't like how heavy the first iPad was, so this one is about 4 oz. lighter
  • The newer dual core processor is supposed to double performance, and provide up to nine times better graphics when you're playing games and it's noticeably faster
  • Launching applications or loading web pages is definitely quicker than the original, which we expected, but the system itself is also peppier
  • Some games are already optimized for the iPad 2, like Infinity Blade and Real Racing 2; these look and play fantastic, and they really lend credence to the claim that the iPad is a full-fledged gaming device
  • Apps like iMovie and Garage Band are designed for the iPad 2 because of its speed and they're killer apps
  • iMovie runs better than it did on the iPhone 4, but the larger screen is really what makes this app a useful tool; it wasn't the easiest thing to use on the iPhone's small screen
  • Garage Band is a ton of fun on the iPad
  • We finally get front and rear cameras on the iPad
  • The rear camera takes good enough pictures and records 720p video, but it's not even close to the quality of the iPhone 4; it also doesn't have a flash
  • The front camera is only VGA quality, but of course, it works just fine with FaceTime; we liked FaceTimeing on the iPad more than the iPhone because of the huge screen
  • Apple also added video output, but you have to buy an HDMI adapter for an extra $40
  • Everything you do on the iPad 2 is mirrored through HDMI, whereas before, the original iPad would only have video out of certain apps

Price

  • $500 for the 16 GB Wi-Fi version

Overall Rating

  • 5 Seals of Approval Out of 5 (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • At that price, this is the best tablet on the market
  • Original iPad owners don't need to upgrade, but if you waited to buy, now's the time

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Dreamyn

    video doesnt even play for me :S this site sucks since yall redid it some mnths ago

    Posted: April 24, 2011 1:49 PM
    Dreamyn
  • szir

    10 O'Clock Live has a different view of the iPad 2. The review with Charlie Brooker is very funny :)
    ( youtube.com/watch?v=CmWnAE-SFe M )

    Posted: March 17, 2011 9:17 AM
  • chronoboi

    She should have done the drum roll on that iPad 2 app.

    Posted: March 16, 2011 7:02 PM
  • billclinton2006

    5 out of 5 really? This thing is not the best tablet on the market! No Expansion slot or camera flash? Or even Flash video? This thing is lacking what most people that buy apple products, a common sense and a brain. G4 please get off apples and steve Jobs nuts. The Ipad 2 is not revolutionary at all! Nothing special that i can see about it. Its an over sized iphone 4 without the retina display and lack of a flash. But we all know all the tards that love apple are going to run out with their little black turtle necks on and buy one. Fricken SHEEP!

    Posted: March 16, 2011 4:17 PM
  • luckyduke24

    I don't know what they're doing with their smart cover but mine does not fall off. Nor does it not stick, maybe theirs is faulty. Yeah it sucks that it doesn't have flash for the camera but to be real here who the hell takes pictures and videos with clipboards anyway? I have digital cameras and a cell phone for that. Nice and portable. Sure it doesn't have flash but who the hell expected it to? I sure as hell didn't seeing as it "apple" come on now people. Yeah I like the Xoom more and when the wifi only version comes out on the 27th I plan on getting it too seeing as the flash update comes out friday. Why is it that if you want the iPad you have to be on Steve Job's nuts? I personally hate Steve Jobs but do I regret buying the iPad? Not at all.

    Posted: March 16, 2011 8:21 AM
    luckyduke24
  • gabravo2005

    What an EPIC FAIL! If you are going to do a comparison of iPad2 vs the Xoom then you need to put the 32GB Wi-Fi/3G version of the iPad 2 vs the Xoom. $729 (+$40 for the HDMI adapter) vs $799, hmm so what's the better deal now? Sure I'm not pleased that I have to send my Xoom away for a few days but you know what I'll still have 4G speeds. 32GB used up, hey just no problem, I'll expand it! iPad iCan't???

    Posted: March 15, 2011 11:24 PM
  • Sefalus1118

    "they're trying to make it the best it can be" LMFAO, Apple doesn't do that, they add a few features and maybe change the design, increase the speed a bit and then sell the yearly update to anybody that can't stand not keeping up with the joneses...you'd have more money if you weren't trying to be so affluent...BUY ONE AND BE HAPPY WITH IT!!!

    Posted: March 15, 2011 10:32 PM
    Sefalus1118
  • Tmidiman

    Nice, but I'm fine with the first iPad. ( Using it right now.) iPad 3 or 4,...maybe, but tfor now the one I have works great for iBook and the music/Photoshop apps that I have now. Most likey I'll stop buying apps so my performance doesn't suffer.

    Posted: March 15, 2011 8:12 PM
    Tmidiman
  • Warrior567

    WHY DO I HAVE TO WATCH AN AD TO REWIND?????

    Posted: March 15, 2011 7:27 PM
    Warrior567
  • EVA zero

    The first one defined what a Tablet should be, this version keeps it ahead of the pack that is coming out. I look forward to another year of "iPad killers" not coming out. "iPhone killers", "iPod killers", and now "iPad killers"... it is ridiculous.

    Posted: March 15, 2011 5:03 PM
    EVA+zero
  • Rob03Cobra

    What. Kev is such an apple nut swinger. That is a solid 3 ... 4 is a stretch. No way is it 5 out of 5. He even has a list of negatives. Does Apple own G4?

    Posted: March 15, 2011 4:46 PM
    Rob03Cobra
  • macross2012

    I really never bother with Apple stuff for the simple reason Kevin mentioned. They nickle and dime you to death even when the original product you buy is expensive. Usually you buy a computer cheap and they charge you an arm and leg for other things.. Here they screw you both ways..


    Not a big apple fan...

    Posted: March 15, 2011 3:50 PM
    macross2012
  • Blue_Vortex

    I personally think the Xoom is better than the Ipad2, either way if you waited for the ipad 2 get a netbook with touchscreen capabilities (cheaper and has more features)

    In fairness to the price of the HDMI out cord for the Ipad 2, the hdmi output dock for the zune hd was 36 dollars (and that's it without the avi and hdmi cords).

    Posted: March 15, 2011 3:45 PM
    Blue_Vortex
  • SirCitadel

    ipad thinness comparison, or excuse to stare at candace's chest? decisions decisions...

    Posted: March 15, 2011 12:00 PM
    SirCitadel
  • blndsight

    I will pause my normal requests of removing and replacing candace with a WTF for Kevin. Normally I am on board with his reviews. But 5 out of 5 for a IPAD that cannot run flash and has no expandable memory is crazy. Dosen't sound perfect to me...................Pausing for Steve Jobs to Awkwardly get out from under Kevin's Desk. That's right, do the Walk of shame Stevie.

    Posted: March 15, 2011 10:15 AM
    blndsight
  • Thogin

    oo kevin is beefy

    Posted: March 15, 2011 9:03 AM
    Thogin
  • ushouldrun

    no this, no that, pay to add this, now how much did Apple pay for 5 out of 5????

    Posted: March 15, 2011 8:23 AM
  • incredibilistic

    Leave it to the always unrealistic and tragically delusional Android fans to cite the LED flash as a reason to spend $800 on a half-baked device and an infant OS.

    Yes, half-baked. You have to send it back for a week to get upgraded to 4G, the USB and SD card slots are useless until Google/Motorola submits an update and after nearly 5 years Adobe still can't get Flash out of the starting blocks. Not to mention the insane price tag. Rushed to market doesn't quite tell the whole story but it's a great Once-Upon-A-Time beginning to a tale of deception and idiocy.

    I really wanna know, for those screaming about not having an LED flash for the back camera, how many photos do you intend to take with your Xoom? Do you really see yourself holding this thing up in public to take a snapshot? That's what your friggin' phone is for. Besides, the cameras on the Xoom aren't anything to write home about either but at least your crap photos will be bright and (likely) overexposed.

    I'm not against competition. It keeps the big boys in check but based on EVERY review I've read/seen on the Xoom -- well, except for AOTS -- is that it feels rushed and wasn't quite ready to go up against the iPad 2.

    As for G4, I don't think they're Apple lovers at all. I'd almost call this review, even with its 5 out of 5, heated and insulting to Apple. Not that it was totally unsupported but Kevin crapped all over the Smart Cover and the HDMI cable with a great amount of vitriol. Meanwhile the Xoom review was mostly fluff and they glazed over stuff like Flash being absent and didn't concentrate enough on the price.

    Posted: March 15, 2011 1:29 AM
    incredibilistic
  • karasublue84d

    I have an ipad, I won't upgrade still ipad3 goes out next year, I agree with the 1st comments posted ealier, APPLE MARKETING STRATEGIES will hold some expected features like flash with camera, and Adobe has already an App to convert some HTML5 apple uses

    Posted: March 15, 2011 12:11 AM
  • asol

    Kevin is such a Mac Head , I would have gave a 4 out of 5 , But No! Kevin is a Mac hore so we get a 5 out of 5 ... So stupid..

    Posted: March 14, 2011 9:20 PM
    asol
AdChoices