X

Dead Island Gameplay & Story Preview

Posted: March 10, 2011
Dead Island Gameplay & Story Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/51681/dead-island-gameplay-story-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/263619_LGST/dead-island.jpg
Video_51681
BlazeJ Krakowiak, Brand Manager at Techland, gives us a closer look at the gameplay mechanics, characters, and story for Dead Island.

Comments are Closed

  • alexkidd3d

    Hmmm, I'm concerned. Like the reason the internet went wild for this was it's serious emotional tone. Clearly this is what people have wanted, an edge of realism and emotional punch..... in contrast; a frikken electric machete? that brings it into over the top sillyness. I already suspect this game will fall into a schizophrenic heap not knowing whether to be serious or 'fun'. Ideally it should be closer to condemned than dead rising.

    Posted: March 11, 2011 1:24 AM
  • KingAlex623

    title sounds like i would have seen gameplay w/an interview, not screenshots w/an interview. perhaps they should edit the title of the video. still excited for the game though, looks awesome.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 7:24 PM
    KingAlex623
  • SliQuid

    hopefully it cant possibly be as lame as deadrising......please let it live up to the trailer, please...

    Posted: March 10, 2011 7:16 PM
    SliQuid
  • 2ply

    I really like the thought of an Open-World RPG zombie apocolypse, though from what i've heard recently I seems to be going more of the Left4Dead 'not very serious' route.

    Would have much preffered it to be on the pure realistic/grounded side of things, and that's what the trailer suggested, instead of another 'ZOMG zombah *boom* LOL!!' full of wise-cracking characters and making pokes at it's self all the time.


    We have enough of those types of games/mods/dlc already, it's time for someone to step up and take it as seriously as a movie such as "28 Days Later" or the show "The Walking Dead" would.

    As was mentioned in Feedback, I can only hope the intial impressions the trailer put out there causes them to do just that, or atleast tone things down a bit to sway more towards that side of things.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 6:35 PM
    2ply
  • not242

    The game LOOKS good but im not so shure a developer like techland can pull this off.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 5:01 PM
    not242
  • sy_cred

    Ahh no gameplay yet but still sounds and looks really good. Assassin character hell yeah stabbing zombies in the head and running away. Yes I kite like a man hahahaha.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 4:03 PM
    sy_cred
  • IntelliMoo

    L4D3 looks great! ;)

    Posted: March 10, 2011 3:44 PM
    IntelliMoo
  • bryansellner89

    i thhink this might be one of those epic games that i ACTUALY watch the cut scenes in...

    Posted: March 10, 2011 3:36 PM
  • Overquoted

    Honestly, my biggest concern is that it lives up to the trailer. As important as gameplay is, after that trailer, I demand a heart-wrenching story. I ended up hating Dead Rising for it's useless story and characterization (which became progressively more annoying the more I replayed a chapter). The trailer has been the entire reason the internet has become aware of the game. I mean, I even came across a link to it on Salon (which never mentions video games).

    Emphasize story, deep characterization, etc. Make us hurt over the deaths of NPC party members.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 3:11 PM
    Overquoted
  • Hitman_Mr.47

    I am looking forward to this. I just hope it isn't as dull as playing a Left 4 Dead game alone.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:58 PM
    Hitman_Mr.47
  • Flameblade9

    I would prefer third person. is that an option?

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:54 PM
    Flameblade9
  • kingdavey90

    is it first person? or can it be 1st or 3rd like fallout

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:27 PM
  • sandman-xxl

    20-30 hours of gameplay sounds good still not sure if i'll get it for ps3 or 360

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:27 PM
  • narutrunks1

    i cant wait to see wat they have for multiplayer, maybe some super awesome co-op which maybe will take this game to a whole new level. this is so far in my "games i want for 2011-2012" list

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:19 PM
    narutrunks1
  • narutrunks1

    i think this will be one of the best zombie games in the zombie game history. it looks cool looks like there is a lot of things for us gamers to explore and it really looks like they should add some very dramatic cutscenes while we`re playing.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 2:17 PM
    narutrunks1
  • ninenightmares

    i am for now on calling my xbox the x360 with an accent because that is the cool way to say it :D and i cannot wait to kill zombies all over again:D

    Posted: March 10, 2011 1:46 PM
    ninenightmares
  • that_sterlin_kid

    "20-30 hours of gameplay"<--- That made my mouth drop... I MUST HAVE IT NOW!

    Posted: March 10, 2011 1:39 PM
    that_sterlin_kid
  • mrfatpockets

    Dead Rising + Left 4 Dead = Awesome

    Posted: March 10, 2011 1:06 PM
    mrfatpockets
  • Symicide

    Ohhhh ohohohoh oh cannot wait . Finally a good zombie game.

    I'll put Dead Island right next to Dead Rising 2 d(^_^)b

    Posted: March 10, 2011 12:58 PM
    Symicide
  • CLFresh

    I see gameplay and I assume people playing through the game... I really don't see much of a difference from this and Dead Rising.

    Posted: March 10, 2011 12:22 PM
    CLFresh
AdChoices