X

Motorola XOOM Tablet Review

Posted: March 1, 2011
Motorola XOOM Tablet Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/51517/motorola-xoom-tablet-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/262641_LGST/as20110301_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_51517

The Motorola XOOM has kicked off the tablet wars with its 10.1" multi-touch display, dual core processor and Android 3.0 OS. Kevin Pereira and Chris Hardwick review the $600 device that allows users to multi-task, stream video and browse the web on a 4G connection.

What You Need To Know

  • The XOOM has a very similar design to the iPad: it measures about 0.5" thick and weighs the same.
  • There's a micro SD slot and a 4G SIM card slot with a free upgrade when it becomes available later this year.
  • The Motorola XOOM truly does deliver an optimized tablet experience.
  • The new 3D interface is really cool and it's even easier to customize than the previous version of Android.
  • All the home screens are on top with all the widgets, apps and other shortcuts on the bottom, so all you have to do is drag and drop each screen.
  • The XOOM also offers multi-tasking: you just tap the menu at the bottom to display the five most recent launched apps, which are running in the background.
  • The touch screen was responsive enough in tapping, swiping, pinching, zooming and rotating.
  • The touch screen was just as good as any other Android device we've used, though there's still a little lag when compared to an iPad.
  • There are some complains that Android 3.0 isn't beginner friendly and may be too hard to learn.
  • The XOOM has a dual core processor, which means it is faster than the iPad, which we saw when launching Angry Birds and most web pages.
  • The tablet generally feels faster though we don't know how it compares to the new iPad 2 yet.
  • Google redesigned a lot of the standard apps for Honeycomb, including the browser, which now has tabs and is basically a full version of Chrome.
  • The tabs are a huge improvement over any other tablet browser we've used, especially because it can load multiple pages with veyr little lag.
  • Flash support is on the way and users can pinch to zoom on web pages.
  • Overall, we think the browsing experience is better than the iPad.
  • The Android Market has also improved and they've added HD apps for tablets and made browsing much easier.
  • The dual cameras are good: the rear camera is 5 megapixels and surprisingly good quality.
  • The camera flash turns everything blue, though.
  • The 2 megapixel front camera is more than adequate for video chat.

Price

  • $800 without a contract.
  • $600 with a two year Verizon contract.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • We realize the XOOM is pricey but the hardware is awesome. This is the first tablet that actually competes with the iPad and in some ways, beats it.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • jugglaj91

    I bought a xoom soley based on this review. I love it. Apple can go suck a fat one!

    Posted: June 21, 2011 11:21 PM
    jugglaj91
  • Sefalus1118

    per cubic centimeter, chris, not per squared centimeter...we live in three dimensions...

    Posted: March 11, 2011 11:56 AM
    Sefalus1118
  • DaKatzPajamas

    Also this Realdt is a total douche commenting on everything against his own opinion

    Posted: March 6, 2011 2:17 PM
    DaKatzPajamas
  • DaKatzPajamas

    Its more expensive ya, but at least they took the time and development to make a new OS for the actual item unlike the iPad which uses the same OS as the iPhone.

    Posted: March 6, 2011 2:09 PM
    DaKatzPajamas
  • szir

    It looks nice, But I almost never hear anything about battery life :(
    Nice to see Chris and Kevin hosting together :)

    Posted: March 6, 2011 8:38 AM
  • realdt

    Ironically; Motorola made the G4 processor that was in all Macs for a time. Not surprised that Moto decided to test their luck on the tablets. Sorry Moto, you screwed up my Powerbook G4, my Droid 1 and X aren't quite as good as anything HTC has made in the Droid department. Moto, just give up, you're going to do it anyway when just 1 person buys the Xoom.

    Think of the RAZOR or RAZR, how much did Moto play with that to make it reliable? First time around, it was great, second time not so bad, then how many versions that followed were just utter crap. Much like the G4 processor.

    When Moto gets their head out of their a$$3$, then maybe they could focus on beating HTC on making great Android products. Until then, they were the worm plucked out of the Apple and thrown onto the dry pavement.

    Posted: March 3, 2011 7:26 PM
  • alaskanhybrid

    I have always looked at Motorola as a Company that makes things people want equally as much as Apple, cause they are both equally innovative.

    Posted: March 3, 2011 5:32 AM
  • Lorene13

    now that is a pretty tablet...

    --side note--

    Chris Hardwick is hi-larious

    Posted: March 2, 2011 8:37 PM
    Lorene13
  • AnthroProfTom

    The Xoom is the ipad 2 killer...It is cheaper without a contract that the new ipad 32 GB version and what is that...4G...I hope anyone with stock in Apple sells while they can. Not that Appletards will understand that or anything.

    Posted: March 2, 2011 3:01 PM
    AnthroProfTom
  • devilzeye793

    i think its about time that Google should take matters into their own hands on hardware level too ! that way their OS could make even better use of Hardware resources and ultimately be super responsive !! apart from that I've always liked Android for its PC-oriented approach to the whole UI exp ... as for Apple they need to crank it up a notch ... coz currently, all i see in their UI is ..... icons ......icons ........and some more bloody app icons ..... oh wait some see thru folders too !!! WOW !!

    Posted: March 2, 2011 6:07 AM
  • micrapple

    iPad is so last year. This is well beyond the iPad 2.

    Posted: March 2, 2011 1:35 AM
    micrapple
  • PinkMohawk

    I like it so far...

    Posted: March 1, 2011 10:08 PM
    PinkMohawk
  • scoobythebeast

    And the Xoom allows for (eventually) a 32GB SD card expandable memory, which the ipad does not (i think)

    Posted: March 1, 2011 8:56 PM
    scoobythebeast
  • scoobythebeast

    I don't understand the complaint about the price. The same size memory 3G ipad is $729. Although you don't have to get a contract for the ipad, you still have to pay at the most $25 a month for 2GB of data when you can get the contract and get unlimated data over 3G and eventually 4G with the Xoom. Sounds like a better deal to me

    Posted: March 1, 2011 8:54 PM
    scoobythebeast
  • Bluewonder

    I just joygasmed...

    Posted: March 1, 2011 6:48 PM
    Bluewonder
  • DEAThHEART

    Very cool tablet. It is a little bit pricey but awesome nonetheless. I absolutely love the new android interface, it looks very simple despite the fact that some people find it complicated (idiots). Can't wait to test out this new device before i make my final decision to buy it.

    Posted: March 1, 2011 6:31 PM
AdChoices