X

Verizon iPhone 4 Review

Posted: February 9, 2011
Verizon iPhone 4 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/51169/verizon-iphone-4-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/260565_LGST/as20110209_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_51169

The Verizon iPhone has finally arrived... and now it's right in the hands of Kevin Pereira and Candace Bailey for a closer look. Find out what Apple has changed and kept the same in their new iPhone for Verizon Wireless, such as the new antenna design, size and more.

What You Need to Know

  • There really isn't much difference between the Verizon iPhone's design and AT&T’s iPhone design
  • The Verizon iPhone has the same thin, glass body that we love
  • The volume buttons and switch on the side have moved down just a hair because of the new antenna
  • iPhone cases on the market right now won't work with the Verizon iPhone
  • Sometimes when we used the death grip, we'd lose a bar, but it didn't lose a signal completely like the AT&T iPhone
  • We just got the iPhone on Monday, and so far, we've had very few issues
  • We drove to different locations here in Los Angeles and compared the two carriers, there wasn't much difference in signal bars, but we did notice that AT&T fluctuated more
  • We're also more confident in Verizon than AT&T; it's a fact that they have fewer dropped calls and better coverage
  • As for AT&T’s claims to have a faster 3G network than Verizon, Verizon seems to come out on top here in Los Angeles, just barely
  • Download speeds seem to be a little faster on Verizon, while upload speeds are a little faster on AT&T; either way, we found the difference to be small
  • One feature that's unique to Verizon is that you can now make your iPhone a Wi-Fi hotspot for up to five devices
  • Starting the hotspot is easy, just turn it on and devices can connect via Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and USB
  • It's $20 a month for 2 GB of data
  • Of course, you can't talk and use the 3G connection at the same time on any Verizon phone, which means all your devices will lose the network connection if somebody calls you; it does come right back when you hang up, though
  • This is one big advantage to having the AT&T iPhone, you can talk and surf on 3G
  • It should be noted that you can talk and use Wi-Fi at the same time on a Verizon iPhone
  • Everything else is the same; amazing interface, dual cameras, thousands of apps

Price

  • $200 with a contract

Overall Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval Out of 5 (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • The reason it didn’t get 5 Seals of Approval is, Apple will most likely be releasing a 4G iPhone about six months from now, and that should drop the price of this iPhone
  • Also, Verizon's data plan is more expensive than AT&T's at $30 a month for unlimited data versus AT&T's $25 a month for 2 GB or $15 for 200 MB

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • suryu

    ok ok ok ok okay i don't use this i phone for calls at all its a mini laptop for me yay i have another phone that don't drop calls since im not paying for it why worry about at&t no contract just wifi and if i had a phone with that hot spot crap id use it just for that many apps work off wifi

    Posted: March 10, 2011 3:46 PM
    suryu
  • muddy

    Love you Candace, but it seems you are laughing at us, not w/us...

    Posted: February 27, 2011 9:13 PM
  • Griever2112

    I personally, love my Droid, if the iPhone had come out originally on multiple carriers I would have had more of a vested interest in it, but to be truthful the surf and talk thing isn't a big deal for me, I don't use my phone as a hotspot, and if I do It VERY rare since, while I have a laptop, I use it primarily at home, where I have my router or if I'm at work (like that idiot in the commercial AT&T aired) I'm at my desk with my computer... who sits in a conference room doing paperwork anymore??

    I'm passing on the iPhone4 for a few reasons, 1) I got a droid, which I find superior to the iPhone, 2) I still have time left until an upgrade, and don't see the point in shelling out full price for it. 3) the iPhone5 will be out or announced soon so why buy this to only have the next model out in like 6-9 months.

    Posted: February 11, 2011 6:30 AM
    Griever2112
  • culero

    You needed both hands to make it loose the signal? Wow, how stupid.

    Posted: February 11, 2011 1:40 AM
    culero
  • AngelsandDemons

    tinty tiny t-shirt...Kev, stop letting your mother dress you!!!

    Posted: February 10, 2011 9:17 PM
    AngelsandDemons
  • mrlongball12

    take that schmedium off Kev.

    Posted: February 10, 2011 8:36 PM
    mrlongball12
  • TheBRADLeyB

    Yeah Bigburito I'm confused as well.

    Anyway it's kind of funny that Cell Phones have become like Computers where in order to have your newest features you have to upgrade every 6 months.

    That's why I no longer game on the computer...

    Additionally I don't really see HOW not being able to use the internet while you are talking on the phone is a huge disadvantage... I mean, If I'm talking on the phone I should either talk on the phone or tell whoever I'm' talking to that whatever I want to look up on the internet is more important then them...

    Posted: February 10, 2011 4:45 PM
  • Bigburito

    wait...so Verizon's $30 unlimited plan and $20 2-GB plan are more expensive than AT&T's $25 2-GB plan and $15 200-MB plan?

    lets just skip the fact that Verzion's unlimited plan is only $5 more and is (obviously) unlimited but that doesn't explain how Verizon's 2-GB plan (which is $20) is more expensive than the competing AT&T 2-GB plan (which is $25) that doesn't make sense.

    Posted: February 10, 2011 3:28 PM
    Bigburito
  • TheMilkMonster

    So what do I need to buy for my macbook to be able to use it with my new iphone as a hotspot?

    Posted: February 10, 2011 1:58 PM
  • G4Listen2Me

    Not being able to surf while talking is not a HUGE problem as Kevin wants to complain about. Verizon subscribers have never had that ability anyway, so the only people that wold be missing it are those changing carriers from AT&T. Plus I will make a pretty accurate claim now that 99% of iPhone owners on AT&T don't talk and surf at the same time anyway..Their phone is sitting on a table or in their pocket most of the time, unless there on a call. And even if you were surfing the web and a call comes in, what do most people do anyway with the phone??? They put it up to their ear to talk..So surfing becomes a mute point..

    Posted: February 10, 2011 11:29 AM
    G4Listen2Me
  • Porkins88

    Waiting for iPhone 5, I've already waited this long why not a little while longer.

    I see AOTS has changed ALOT. When will we get it back to Directv? I miss you guys.

    Posted: February 10, 2011 8:53 AM
  • xpheonix45x

    it all depends where u r i have AT&T an i have only had two droped calls in 5 years and i use the iPhone and have the 2gb data plan and i surf almost 24/7 on my phone and i have yet to go over

    Posted: February 10, 2011 8:53 AM
  • vulgora

    or just get an andoird....
    thats makes calls , and has flash so you can watch videos on line...
    iphone so yesterday!

    Posted: February 10, 2011 8:14 AM
    vulgora
  • Zetsuei

    ewwwww. her hands are so boney

    Posted: February 10, 2011 7:42 AM
    Zetsuei
  • Blakep267

    didnt the guy in the loop last week, kinda say the exact same stuff

    Posted: February 10, 2011 7:05 AM
    Blakep267
  • Goldmember25

    Only reason I'm not getting the iPhone is because I'm under a separate contract I started 6 months ago and it doesn't expire for a while, and to break said contract would cost close to $650 (!). That in itself is a bit of a deterrent to getting the iPhone on Verizon (specifically if you're a Verizon subscriber already).

    Posted: February 10, 2011 12:11 AM
    Goldmember25
  • TEG24601

    I have zero issues with at&t, other than slow data in a few places. I've never had a dropped call, anywhere in the US on my iPhone.

    Posted: February 9, 2011 9:42 PM
  • sousamagic

    also grandfathered into ATT unlimited from previous iPhones, the unlimited is $30 with ATT too. So really no price difference comparing apples to apples.

    Posted: February 9, 2011 9:11 PM
    sousamagic
  • inflamessoilwork

    I don't know any instance where I would personally be needing to surf and talk at the same time. I also don't get why that is such a huge dealbreaker. I'd rather look stuff up and then call someone back as opposed to dealing with ATT's garbage network.

    Posted: February 9, 2011 7:08 PM
  • thinkblue124

    whoa...i guess i have been away from G4 for a while...when did Pereira start wearing extra small shirts?

    Posted: February 9, 2011 6:45 PM
    thinkblue124
AdChoices