X

Dell Streak Tablet Review

Posted: January 27, 2011
Dell Streak Tablet Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50951/dell-streak-tablet-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/259200_LGST/as20110127_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_50951

The Dell Streak tablet is one of the smallest and lightest tablet computers yet. Weighing only 7.7 oz and with a 5" multi-touch display running on Android 2.2, the Dell Streak offers web surfing, email and dual cameras for only $100 with a contract. Chris Hardwick and Candace Bailey review the Dell tablet.

What You Need To Know

  • We've used a thousand Android devices so we know what the good and bad ones feel like, but this Dell Streak tablet was really good.
  • The touch screen is one of the most responsive we've used with the swiping, scrolling and multi-touch all on par with an iOS device.
  • The Dell Streak also has a unique X-Y axis design where you wipe up to get the menu, and swipe left and right for different home screens.
  • Users will be pleasantly surprised with how well the Dell tablet works.
  • Dell also included a bunch of custom widgets, like recent applications, music shortcuts and social networking.
  • Each widget is the size of a home screen and are extremely well designed, which we applaud Dell for.
  • The Dell Streak is almost as fast as the iPad or Droid X when using apps.
  • The tablet is a little behind when launching our favorite app, Angry Birds, but we still think it's quick enough to handle every day tasks.
  • The 5 megapixel camera comes with a flash and a second front facing camera for video conferencing.
  • The dual cameras are only okay.
  • Pictures blur easily in low light with just a little hand movement, even with the flash.
  • You can also record HD video but it's kind of mediocre.
  • The front facing camera is only VGA quality but works as advertised.
  • The Dell Streak's web browsing features were really good.
  • The tablet has the same browser that every other Android 2.2 device has, but the 5" screen with multi-touch really makes it work well.
  • The Streak supports Flash and feels faster than even the Samsung Tab's browser.

Price

  • $100 with an AT&T contract.
  • $400 unlocked on Dell.com.

Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • evilkymonkey

    Sorry to say I Brought the Streak for my brithday. The 99 doller Streak thur ATT does not have the 2.2 update. And ATT is giving me the run ah run. I give the 99 doller streak 2 out of 5. The Unlock Streak has 2.2, that your 5 out of 5 Streak. Stuck with a 1.6 phone for two years. Yay.

    Posted: February 14, 2011 9:03 PM
  • CoreyShaughnessy

    Is this the original Streak from a while back? I know Kevin said it was, but I thought Dell did a revision/ relaunch with it? Maybe that's the one with 2.2.

    Posted: February 8, 2011 7:37 AM
  • ldivinag

    was eyeing this at best buy when it was $299. then black friday came and it dropped to $250 and almost bought it then. then a week later, around $200. really almost got it then too. then BB and ATT dropped the sucker to $99. that was it for me. so now i'm locked to ATT again for another 2 years... :(

    i bought mine mid december 2010 cause i read from dell's site they were gonna upgrade 1.6 mid december.

    LIARS!!!!!!!

    anyways, i used the QDL tool to upgrade to 2.2 very nice. but dell's UI for 2.2 blows. i mean it limits you. went with PRO LAUNCHER as main UI. very nice. and i get tethering!!!!! (which i think ATT is delaying the 2.2 upgrade. 1.6 doesnt come with it)

    now, i'm hearing rumors that feb 1 will be the official over the air upgrade. but then again, i wont believe it til i see it.

    am i happy with the phone? yeah. i came from iPhone 3G which was getting slow. and i hated zooming in and out web sites.

    btw, the dell streak 5 ( 5 since dell will be coming out with a tablet that is 7" around feb 2) uses a very proprietary connection (PDMI) which costs $20 per cable, so heads up on that.'

    plus, i was so spoiled with every gadget i could ever want for my iPhone, so beware that after market support for the streak right now is mainly a couple or so batteries and lots of cases. otherwise, go invent it yourself. lol...

    Posted: January 31, 2011 10:35 AM
    ldivinag
  • Spectre51

    You can also update to stock 2.2 by using the QDL tool on a 1.6 AT&T locked streak. It will update it to build 305 then you can use the OTA update to the latest 2.2 from Dell. Its a great device and uf you install the StreakDroid custom rom it is even better.

    Posted: January 30, 2011 10:56 PM
    Spectre51
  • TheJackofClubs

    ive had this phone/"tablet" for over half a year. its cheaper than 4.3" phone while being better. with its steel housing and gorilla glass, its heavy but built very tough, it can take a serious drop. the 2.2 upgrade really makes it something i can recommend for people to use as their daily mobile device. some may not like landscape preference dell has taken but it will rotate to portrait almost everywhere now making it great for use as a phone.

    Posted: January 28, 2011 11:44 PM
  • foxhoundep3

    You can upgrade to 2.2 by putting a custom ROM (Dj steve's 1.6.1) best ROM ever, this is by far the best device i have ever owned, dont believe me ????? check this out http://twitpic.com/3qyf5z

    Posted: January 28, 2011 6:12 PM
  • skbuddha

    I have a Dell Streak that I bought from Best Buy on contract and it came with 1.6. It doesn't come with 2.2 nor can you update it through Dell's website. You can get 2.2 only on unlocked devices, so this video is misleading.

    Posted: January 28, 2011 1:55 PM
    skbuddha
  • bgreene

    @HackCyberPunk It's actually running 2.2 for our review here, and it comes with the 2.2 update if you buy it with a contract. If you buy unlocked, it will update to 2.2 when you first connect it to the internet via WiFi.

    Posted: January 28, 2011 11:27 AM
    bgreene
  • drangel_jam

    I don't like Cadence's voice. She's very sweet and all, and has that girl next door feel, but her voice sounds like an annoying girl next door. She needs a speech coach.

    Posted: January 28, 2011 7:11 AM
    drangel_jam
  • HackCyberPunk

    Dell Streak comes with 1.6 from AT&T. No update to 2.2 yet, and Dell has no clue when to expect any changes. Also Dell is the tech support for the Streak not AT&T. With those two issues in mind, I give it a 4 out of 5. Not bad since it will get 2.2 someday, and though Dell tech support is crap, the device still puts any Sony smartphone to shame.

    Posted: January 28, 2011 12:23 AM
    HackCyberPunk
  • DrStrangeL0ve

    love the hat

    Posted: January 27, 2011 9:18 PM
    DrStrangeL0ve
  • mrexxx

    Look at that Pacman monsters. It's like. "WOW.. what? WOWOW"

    Posted: January 27, 2011 9:16 PM
    mrexxx
AdChoices