X

X-Play Game Review Ratings Primer

Posted: January 24, 2011
X-Play Game Review Ratings Primer
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50889/x-play-game-review-ratings-primer/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/258890_LGST/ratings-primer.jpg
Video_50889
Here at X-Play we rate games. We rate games using a system of 1 to 5 stars. Seems simple enough right? Well some knuckleheads (read: certain aggregator sites that shall remain nameless) just can't figure it out. We made this for you.

Comments are Closed

  • ajax32

    Since I started Watching X-Play I've never bought a game under 4 stars! thanks dudes!

    Posted: June 14, 2011 6:14 PM
    ajax32
  • reepga

    4 of 5 its as good as the otha good ones. 5 of 5 good as the otha good ones, introduces something new, and takes it to another level.

    wow

    Posted: January 28, 2011 2:28 AM
    reepga
  • emiltheman22

    wow Ratings Primer it's so awesome

    Posted: January 27, 2011 4:13 AM
    emiltheman22
  • Spybreak

    I'm behind you Xplay, always have been. ^^

    Posted: January 26, 2011 11:27 PM
    Spybreak
  • V_Translanka

    While I totally appreciate them even making this video I still wonder about other details that go into the rating or else just the playing process of the reviewers. What I mean is things like difficulty for instance. How would you factor something like that in? Do you only play and judge based on the 'Normal' mode? Though some games can change dramatically between difficulties so maybe it would be treated more as a total package that you could choose to experience, or maybe that each one could be aimed at a different audience even? Then there's multiplayer and how that balances...and games (the oh-so-many) with some kind of level editor...so...many...things. How the hell is this a job again? lol...either way, keep up the good work X-Playaz.

    Posted: January 26, 2011 5:58 PM
    V_Translanka
  • BlackWhite3DS

    I still have to ask, what's holding Sonic back fro a 4 or a 5? Can Adam, Morgan, or anyone from the team please explain?

    Posted: January 26, 2011 10:02 AM
  • Prax150

    Wow, I don't understand why everyone's being downvoted to double digits for disagreeing with this.. I don't think anyone's been disrespectful really.

    People keep mention school grade systems. You can get a B+ or an A- in school too you know. There's too much of a jump between grades with a star system and it causes upwards bias. Almost every major release is either a 4 or a 5. And if it doesn't cause an exorbitant amount of 5s, it gives us way too many fours. If I'm only going to be a handful of games a year, how does it help me of almost every "good" game has a homogeneous score here? Decimals, even in a system rated out of 10, are very important and can make a world of difference. The more detail you can have in your rating the better. Rating things out of 5 doesn't allow enough detail for consumers to make a proper decision.

    There's a reason why G4 is pretty much the only major source to rate things out of 5 with no decimals.

    Posted: January 26, 2011 8:52 AM
    Prax150
  • lustinius

    A 5 star rating system is just fine with me. In previous posts about why x-play uses a 5 star system Adam has said that the main reason is that there is no real difference between a 7 and 8, and 8 and 9, or a 9 and 10. Once you get too specific, you get into problems of maybe you thought this game was an 8, but i thought it was barely a 7. We give it different scores, but could both agree on it being about a 4. That's why g4 put a pro/con section at the top of each review. If anything, the number of stars is worthless compared to the pro/ cons, but the stars is easier to classify and compare with other games, which is why we have reviews in the first place. If there's a title coming out that I am curious about, I don't just go out and buy it. I'll check the review to see if it's worth sinking the $60 into. I use this site as my primary review site because g4 generally reflects my tastes in gaming, and has not really steered me wrong so far.

    In short, if you don't like g4's rating system or which games g4 decides get 5's, then you can either get over yourself or find another place that you agree with.

    Posted: January 26, 2011 7:27 AM
    lustinius
  • xFlamexOfxHellx

    Basically reviews are set for each person reviewing them, there is no standards for it...

    Posted: January 25, 2011 11:27 PM
    xFlamexOfxHellx
  • johnsprogram

    Using the scale of 1 to 5 is specific, straight to the point for how the game is.

    Although, I did asked why they don't give zeroes for (even more) horrible games a few years back, considering that I've read reviews on this site that did give zeroes. I assumed those reviews with the
    score of zero are technical issues.

    Memorable quotes about asking about giving a score of zero:
    Morgan: "We have people asking why we don't give a score of zero. These people are morons."
    Adam: "...for those who kept asking for why we don't give zeroes, shut up."

    Random thought: if a game did receive a score of zero, would that make it NOT a game?

    Posted: January 25, 2011 10:05 PM
    johnsprogram
  • SCM13

    Now G4, why you gotta get the frail-minded all riled up before bedtime?

    Posted: January 25, 2011 9:39 PM
    SCM13
  • eponaraven

    I don't know if anyone realizes this .. but this isn't about your opinions, this is about THEIR Opinions, and if you don't like them, don't watch it.

    Posted: January 25, 2011 8:33 PM
  • Sally Wong

    Everyone at G4TV totally missed the boat with your very controversial recommendations for video game of the year. By reading all your personal picks, I suspect that almost everyone at G4TV is into PC games and not consul games, and I'm sure the fact that PC gamers do out number consul users 5 to 1, had absolutely nothing to do with your nominee selections.

    Oh well, who really cares what really was the best video game for 2011 any ways. It was clearly obvious to most with a brain, what G4TV's direction and intent really was, and that is just smart business in this day and age.

    So here we are less than 30 days after the fact, and G4TV is now trying to justify how they really make all their decisions when rating a video game.

    Well here is a tiny simple piece of advice, and the best rule you could ever use to Rate any Video Game. Just ask us, the little people who actually pay for all these video games, and we will always be glad to tell you what we liked, and did not like about any video game; especially what video games honestly deserve to be nominees for the " Video Game of the Year Award".

    Love and Kisses: Sally Wong :

    Posted: January 25, 2011 8:19 PM
    Sally+Wong
  • albertocpr

    I agree with sy_cred; it's simple & obviously is not like an actual grade system but was a good EXAMPLE. I do not see any difference when other sites add a .5 or .9; I still only focus on the round number; for starters an 8 is defenetly different from a 10; but no so much diferent from a 8.5. The system G4 use is by far better & direct; I don't care much about the "very good, good, not so good, almost good. Is either good or not; that simple. So, what I mean is that there is no much need for mathematics in here; just needs to be simple; 5 = Best, 4 = Good, 3 = Mediocre (or just for fans), 2 = Bad & 1 = broken, terrible, pitifull, horrible; I don't know whatever you like. I rate this rate system a 5 out of 5.

    Posted: January 25, 2011 7:58 PM
    albertocpr
  • Angelicsin87

    Wow, did you really have to explain fractions to people. 1/5, what else could that mean in a review?

    Posted: January 25, 2011 7:16 PM
    Angelicsin87
  • darth_infamous

    The 5 star system is the most straight-to-point there is. While many think adding in half stars or using a 100 point scale may be more accurate, it often detracts from the point of the review, essentially nit-picking ong likes or dislikes.

    In conclusion, unless you can pin point the feature or mechanic that numerically makes a game score higher, there is no need for a scale beyond 1-5.

    Posted: January 25, 2011 5:57 PM
  • Tmidiman

    @sonynumoneguy

    Agreed. Darksiders was a very fun game and it taught me that not everyone at G4 knows what a fun game is. That same person has had other wacky reviews, at least according to others. In that person's case I just don't give any weight to anything they say.

    Many times it's not the score that was given, but how well the reviews was written that tells you whether the reviewer is a "gamer" or someone who has a writing job in the gaming industry.

    The there are people who think they should be considered celebrities, because they write game reviews. But let's not talk about IGN right now. At least they finally got rid of a bunch of them.

    Posted: January 25, 2011 5:01 PM
    Tmidiman
  • RPG-fan

    @SonyNmbrOneGuy: yeah, the 2 star rating on Darksiders was very strange, especially according to the definition that was given on what it takes to get a 2 out of 5 rating. Read the review, it deserve at least a 3.

    Red Dead Redemption and Mass Effect 2 are gaming gold and deserve the 5 of out 5 rating. Though, I can't see Epic Mickey being in the same league as those two games, especially when it has its flaws that hold it back to get 5 star rating like Heavy Rain. Well, everyone has their opinions.

    Posted: January 25, 2011 4:55 PM
    RPG-fan
  • SonyNmbrOneGuy

    So....was Darksiders a broken mess like the other 2's? After reading that review and looking at the score, I've decided that some people should never review games...

    Posted: January 25, 2011 4:07 PM
    SonyNmbrOneGuy
  • Fipps

    After watching this video, can someone explain to me why MGS4 was given a 5 out of 5?

    Posted: January 25, 2011 3:42 PM
    Fipps
AdChoices