X

BlackBerry Style 9670 Mobile Phone Review

Posted: January 12, 2011
BlackBerry Style 9670 Mobile Phone Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50717/blackberry-style-9670-mobile-phone-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/258045_LGST/as20110112_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_50717

The BlackBerry Style 9670 offers an affordable option for the budget friendly smartphone users with dual displays, a trusty keyboard, a 5 megapixel camera and more. Kevin Pereira and Candace Bailey review the 9670 device that sells for $20 with a contract.

What You Need to Know

  • It's about twice as thick as an iPhone
  • The phone weighs about the same, though, and it doesn't feel cheap
  • There's an optical trackpad, but no touch screen
  • Blackberry's latest OS is the best iteration yet; it's intuitive, easy to use, and streamlined
  • The problem is, we still feel like it's not as easy to use as an iPhone or Android phone with a responsive touch screen
  • Things like navigating web pages, zooming in on a map, and just general menu navigation feel slow to us
  • The physical keyboard is okay
  • The keys aren't as ridged as other Blackberries, so your fingers might slide a little
  • That said, you get used to it and it's nice to have a full keyboard inside a flip phone
  • As far as web browsing goes, page loading and navigation is faster than we remember
  • You can also load multiple tabs
  • We just can't help but feel that browsing the web on a 2.7” screen without pinch and zoom is far from ideal
  • It does features a 5 megapixel camera
  • Indoor photo quality is grainy and might blur, but the flash helps
  • The phone only records VGA quality video
  • It’s still one of the best smartphones for e-mail, though; the combination of the keyboard and interface make this a tried-and-true solution for practically any e-mail account you can think of
  • Navigating through hundreds of e-mails is simple, since it's all just swipe and click

Price

  • You can get it for $20 with a contract on Amazon Wireless

Overall Rating

  • 2 Seals of Approval Out of 5 (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • We don't think this is a bad phone, but it just feels outdated
  • You can pick up the Samsung Epic or the HTC Evo Shift for $100 or $120, respectively; they're both 4G Android phones with full keyboards, and worth spending $80 or $100 more

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • blackberrysavingshop

    BlackBerry Style 9670 For Sale : http://www.blackberrysavingsho p.com/BlackBerry-Style-9670-Fo r-Sale

    Posted: April 21, 2011 9:27 AM
  • Devero

    full screen does not work.....

    Posted: January 20, 2011 7:14 PM
    Devero
  • grindhousecinema

    They seem to be forgetting that those of us who choose the Blackberry typically DON'T want things like a touch screen (which WILL break, its not a matter of IF its a matter of WHEN) and actually enjoy having a physical keyboard. As really whats the difference between a phone that flips and a phone that slides? Look its a freaking $20 smart phone that has access to the internet and thousands of applications. Not everyone wants an iPhone (I like to make phone calls with my phone) not everyone wants the top of the line latest phone with seven touch-screens and a tilt sensor, just to play Angry Birds on. Sometimes a phone should just be a phone. The Blackberry has always been a great smart phone that knows its limits and more importantly knows its AUDIENCE.

    Posted: January 15, 2011 8:58 AM
  • szir

    Gadget Pr0n was always my favorite segment.
    The new intro is weird, I liked the old better (especially with Christmas lights:)).

    Kevin was good as usual. Candace... well
    some minor gripes:

    At first glance the beginning was disappointing. I'm sorry. And I want to like her, really, but it looked weird. I'm not exactly sure why, but I try to put my finger on what seems to be the problem. Maybe she just needs time, but she needs to loosen up a bit.

    I always loved how Kevin, Chris H., Morgan, Alison "talked" about the products, and not just read the specification off the prompter...
    (of course I didn't see them when they started)

    I think mainly that's it, and also I loved the energy/chemistry between the hosts, how they had fun and also made fun of each other (while presenting gadgets or whatever), thats what made the show really enjoyable
    (some good Gadget Pr0n example: 2010.08. 24 KP+CH, 25 KP+MW, 30,31 CH+AH 2010.09. 07, 09 KP+AH, 13 KP+CH... 2010.12.08 KP+MW)
    (every tv show should hire stand-up comedians for hosts)

    I know.. everyone is a critic.. and I don't want to sound like an angry dude, I just hope this might provide some constructive criticism

    Maybe I'm just expecting too much from Candace...

    Posted: January 14, 2011 4:43 PM
  • Geddes

    Seriously? The elbow comment? right over her head.. she didnt even address it at all... I wish Alison was the new co-host..

    Posted: January 14, 2011 11:30 AM
    Geddes
  • TheSauceMan

    haha have to agree with everyone else, what the hell is with the new intro? loved the old one, new one doesn't even make sense...

    Posted: January 14, 2011 12:59 AM
    TheSauceMan
  • hito157

    New gadget pron intro SUCKS!!!....do better G4, i wanna be excited not scared for gadgets

    Posted: January 13, 2011 6:50 PM
    hito157
  • weiyunchi

    umm, that was a ridiculous intro. bring the old one back (i know you won't but maybe consider at least changing it?)

    Posted: January 13, 2011 4:26 PM
    weiyunchi
  • SpyHunter07

    I absolutely hate the new Gadget Pron intro. It's creepy and uninteresting.

    The new co host girl is OK. Still would have preferred Alison over here any day.

    Posted: January 13, 2011 2:49 PM
    SpyHunter07
  • LowB5String

    I own this phone. It was an upgrade from a common Sanyo clamshell, so I could have a proper keyboard for texting. I didn't get it to have it be a SmartPhone/iPhone stand-in, so it doesn't feel outdated to me. I tried the Evo and Epic at my network's store, but the keyboards were not as good for me as the Style, and/or the phones were much longer/wider. (OTOH, Android would have been a happier OS choice for me. ) Not finding your observed shortcomings, I would have given it a 4 out of 5.

    (And I don't let it see my iPod Touch. They live in different pockets. ;->)

    Posted: January 12, 2011 11:38 PM
  • asol

    Thanks kevin for saving us money. New girl is Fen HOT!!!!!

    Posted: January 12, 2011 9:48 PM
    asol
AdChoices