X

Sessler's Soapbox: 2010 in Review

Posted: December 14, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: 2010 in Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50363/sesslers-soapbox-2010-in-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/256359_LGST/soapbox-12-14-10.jpg
Video_50363
Adam discusses the past year in gaming and his feelings on the current state of the industry.

Comments are Closed

  • WilyLoGo13

    com on guys PORTAL 2

    Posted: December 16, 2010 5:31 AM
    WilyLoGo13
  • REmaster0514

    Mass Effect 3
    nuff said

    Posted: December 16, 2010 2:42 AM
    REmaster0514
  • chaosminion5

    I think this is just a reaction to the recession, cuz when you think about it you realize that all these games were being produced when we weren't sure what the future of the economy was going to be, so major gaming companies decided on bringing out reliable money maker (COD, I'm looking at you) that legions of players would buy, regardless of *ahem* quality

    Posted: December 15, 2010 9:57 PM
    chaosminion5
  • STCook

    Why is there a Mini Cooper being used in GT5?

    Posted: December 15, 2010 9:00 PM
    STCook
  • axelausbrowniehome

    Can't wait for 2011, what with Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim, Mass Effect 3, Dragon Age 2, Dead Space 2, Uncharted 3, Killzone 3, and doesn't Gears of War 3 come out next year too?

    Posted: December 15, 2010 4:39 PM
    axelausbrowniehome
  • The_101st

    I personally think In n Out is the pinnacle of fast food

    Posted: December 15, 2010 3:35 PM
  • XDXInfinity

    He's actually right, because I'm looking forward to see what kinect does next year

    Posted: December 15, 2010 12:53 PM
    XDXInfinity
  • skillsthatkills

    I did not buy one game this year, i rented some, but nothing that i needed to have and take the time to fully enjoy them. But in 2011 the (beep) will hit the fan, so many blockbuster titles, too much in early spring and in the fall seasons. 2011 is going to be a wow year.

    Posted: December 15, 2010 11:06 AM
    skillsthatkills
  • Grublet

    2010 was a pretty good year in gaming, but it was mostly filled with tons of sequels (that were mostly solid games). 2011 looking more promising with great sequels and original IP's..

    Posted: December 15, 2010 8:51 AM
    Grublet
  • Notafanboythatiknow

    As usual Mr. Sessler, you offer sound and strong opinions. You are absolutely right, there were not many games in 2010 that wowed us, but they were solid. I was not as immersed in gaming in the great 2007 year for gaming, But I know that great ip's came that year, which keep producing sequels to this day.

    2010 might not have been 2007, but strong games continue to be made every year. I am so glad Limbo did so well and more downloadable games keep coming. This is great news for (us) proponents of digital distribution.

    Posted: December 15, 2010 7:36 AM
    Notafanboythatiknow
  • obanana1

    well...one year left to go...im in a "BIO"logecal "SHOCK" get it! its gunna be one long as heII of a year!!! bioshock is gonna take "INFINITE" TO COME OUT (2012).im totally hiped up!!!

    Posted: December 15, 2010 6:58 AM
    obanana1
  • DikDik_Swish

    I'm surprised Adam didn't put GOW III in the "mind-blowing" category of games ... Sure, it's a sequel, but it's a pretty amazing sequel ;)

    Posted: December 15, 2010 6:11 AM
    DikDik_Swish
  • Lims

    I somewhat disagree with Sess on this soapbox ( which is rare for me ). Yes, this year was sequel heavy and I imagine reviewing sequels might be somewhat difficult due to fans and such...

    As strictly a gamer, I enjoyed this years releases immensely. The sequels were broadening, the independents were riveting and the moves in the gaming industry were intriguing. I thought it was a very exciting year for gaming due to the fact that we had games that were simply incredible ( too many to name ) and obvious changes in the landscape of gaming.

    Of course, I didn't have to wear a suit and go listen to lawmakers talk about video games, either. I got to sit at home and play them. ;)

    Posted: December 15, 2010 2:47 AM
  • Thunder_horse_1

    I agree with Mr.Sessler. Publishers are definitely banking on the sequels to successful titles. It is safe for them. That being said, I'm buying into it. I'm still playing halo reach, red dead redemption, and ME 2. But, as a gamer, I still hunger for original games. I love limbo. I still love speed playing through portal. Yes, next year will have more sequels to offer, some of which I will definitely buy. ME 3, Portal 2, and most of all Elder Scrolls V. But there is something to be said for originality. You know what I would love to see? I'd love to walk into Target and see Minecraft on the shelf, available for the PC, PS3, and Xbox360.

    Posted: December 15, 2010 12:16 AM
    Thunder_horse_1
  • PcBuilder

    Gotta disagree about Red Dead being safe. I know a few guys that hate that game, to be fair they hate any game that isn't linear like COD or Halo(its all they play). But I know I absolutely loved every single minute of it. The landscape, the sense of loneliness of just a man and his horse, but also fight for something bigger than yourself while not being to farfetched. Fighting for loved ones. I also thought that Starcraft 2 brought a lot of variety to the rts genre and needs to be recognized for that. These are the two games that stood out the most for me this year.

    Posted: December 15, 2010 12:05 AM
    PcBuilder
  • expl0siv0

    I disagree in that I would be surprised if the Bungie game were to come out next generation. I would guess 2012 is when we would see their next game. Bungie has gotten good at releasing a game once a year recently and giant like activision is going to crack the whip to make sure that happens. It obviously won't be a Halo title so it won't be as easy to spit games out (not to beat a dead horse but cough... ODST) but I don't see it going all the way to next gen. But I agree with saying that Nintendo is willing to sit on their money and wait to release things.
    Nintendo = quality
    Activision = quantity

    Posted: December 14, 2010 11:40 PM
    expl0siv0
  • Godzilla_2000

    Mmmmm.... In n Out... fries...animal style..... *hungry gurgle*

    Posted: December 14, 2010 11:25 PM
    Godzilla_2000
  • Bowmanganie

    Adam, I was surprised by this soapbox. Your analysis I felt was spot on concerning the most important happenings in the game industry and made me pay attention to what you were saying.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 9:54 PM
  • theantigzus

    OMG 2010=In n Out lets just hope 2011= Fatburger :)

    Posted: December 14, 2010 9:50 PM
  • Flipz15

    I know everyone is giddy about next year, but I don't want to think about all that right now. I still have some of this year to catch up on. Thinking about what's to come, and how LONG it'll take only makes my impatient head explode.

    That said, I generally loved this year for its downloadables. Super Meat Boy and Limbo, for example, are testaments to why the platformer should make a strong return to gaming. Enough games with zombies in it, we're finally seeing value in the indie developer! Power to the little guy!

    (God I am so sick of zombies... almost as much as vampires. Almost.)

    Posted: December 14, 2010 9:28 PM
    Flipz15
AdChoices