X

Sessler's Soapbox: 2010 in Review

Posted: December 14, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: 2010 in Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50363/sesslers-soapbox-2010-in-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/256359_LGST/soapbox-12-14-10.jpg
Video_50363
Adam discusses the past year in gaming and his feelings on the current state of the industry.

Comments are Closed

  • Malcontent_Ronin

    2010 truly was kind of a transition year, which nevertheless brought quite a few games we had been waiting years to finally get. 2011 will be absolutely spectacular in terms of releases, with more than anyone can count, and not to mention a continuation to every single ps3 series, from LBP to Ratchet and all the way to Uncharted. Yeah, it's gonna be an amazing year

    Posted: December 14, 2010 8:20 PM
    Malcontent_Ronin
  • filchingfeline

    The only thing I'd change about Mass Effect 2 is it'd be PC only, feature procedural world generation, dynamic intellegent real-time story branching and authoring, fractal based AI, and let me run around in armor like that from Queens Blade as female Shepard with requisite jiggle physics. And to keep this high brow, she'd also be able to substitute teach at schools and give speaches to children to let kids know women can be empowered and strong while still being women.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 7:56 PM
    filchingfeline
  • theallmightyjew

    Adam the way you ended this show was hilarious. :)

    Posted: December 14, 2010 7:39 PM
  • o_NIGHT_TRAIN_o

    There are going to a lot of good games coming out , but I just want Bioshock Infinity and FFvs13 :( but both of these games are probably not going to come out until 2012. :(

    Posted: December 14, 2010 7:34 PM
    o_NIGHT_TRAIN_o
  • Luck702

    2008 has been the best year for me. fable 2, fallout 3, left 4 dead. Made christmas a blast

    Posted: December 14, 2010 5:58 PM
    Luck702
  • Spybreak

    I feel every year it just gets better for us gamers.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 5:55 PM
    Spybreak
  • JKING2012

    The "Ses Myster" is right. (Although IM fighting the urge to become a 2010 fanboy) The games were a good meal we smelled being cooked. But there was no dessert, Or should I say Icing on the cake. But one thing IS for sure.....

    "We needed to experience this 2010 Gaming year!"
    ~J KING~

    Posted: December 14, 2010 5:50 PM
  • SCM13

    Nintendo won my heart this year. Of course, they could've had a terrible year and Golden Sun still woulda sealed the deal for me.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 5:18 PM
    SCM13
  • RookieBrawler

    Duke Nukem Forever
    Mass Effect 3
    Uncharted 3
    Elder Scrolls 5
    RAGE
    LA Noire
    Portal 2
    Mortal Kombat
    Marvel Vs Capcom 3
    Batman Arkham City
    Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
    Deadspace 2
    Metal Gear Rising
    Little Big Planet 2
    Bulletstorm
    Killzone 3
    Dragon Age 2
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution
    Gears of War 3
    Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One
    Forza Motorsport 4
    Crysis 2

    This along with all the inevitable sleeper hits and surprise games. 2011 is already more promising than 2010. I haven't even had the opportunity to explore 10% of this year's outstanding games! Anyone that says today's gaming industry sucks and shows no promise, just refer to my little list. And G4 will be there to cover each and everyone of these games! Thank you!

    Posted: December 14, 2010 5:09 PM
    RookieBrawler
  • GunslingerD7

    The game that stood out for me this year was definitely Limbo. But I agree with ya Adam there were a lot of great games this year but none that were amazing.

    Now I'm hungry. lol

    Next year I think will be the year that has some games that are gonna be amazing and maybe even revolutionize gaming too. We got Brink,Batman Arkham City,Bulletstorm,Deus Ex: Human Revolution,Rage,Portal 2,L.A. Noire,Gears of War 3,Elder Scrolls 5,Uncharted 3,Mass Effect 3,another Assassin's Creed,Cursed Crusade,Spec Ops: The Line,Crysis 2,Ghost Recon Future Soldier,hopefully FIREFALL for the PC,etc and those are the ones that I can come up off the top of my head.


    God my wallet is really gonna die next year. I'm will have to buy a new just to replace my dead one.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 4:59 PM
    GunslingerD7
  • UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI

    The best thing about the end of year is most good games are on sale at stores. I got Call of Duty Black Ops for $47 at Target and Fable 3 for $40.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 4:20 PM
    UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI
  • zallstar

    This all makes me happy as with all these games announced for 2011 and 12 will mean that the current isnt going anywhere soon.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 3:45 PM
    zallstar
  • krowsnest618

    S.K.Y.R.I.M

    and

    MASS EFFECT 3

    and

    RAGE

    I find it hard to contain my excitement, even with the games being nearly a year away

    Posted: December 14, 2010 3:39 PM
    krowsnest618
  • mikemill

    2010 was a good solid year, but definitely not great. Lots of really good games that I really loved (Mass Effect 2, God of War 3, Red Dead Redemption, Black Ops were among my favorites) but next year is going to be a banner year:

    Killzone 3
    Little Big Planet 2
    Crysis 2
    Dead Space 2
    Uncharted 3
    Resistance 3
    Gears of War 3
    Infamous 2
    Last Guardian
    Spec Ops The Line
    Ghost Recon Future Soldier
    etc
    etc

    2011 is going to be AWESOME!!!!!!

    Posted: December 14, 2010 3:30 PM
    mikemill
  • Malapropism

    so was that uncharted 2 playing in the background?
    kind of ironic considering it was game of the year for 2009

    Posted: December 14, 2010 3:26 PM
    Malapropism
  • juanpoint0

    This always happens going into the final year or two of a console generation. Lots of good games, but very few that break away from the pack, and bring something new to the table to satiate the palette of those of who don;t like our gaming experiences re-hashed. It's going to be interesting to see what some developers can bring to the table with the new motion peripherals like Kinect and Move.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 2:42 PM
    juanpoint0
  • CLUNGEHUNTERPJ

    I know Sess has a soft spot for Fallout, but I've always preferred The Elder Scrolls - That has a lot to do with the setting. I'd love to live in Cyrodiil, but the capital wasteland is, literally wasteland. It's just a crappy place to be, and even though it's atmospheric I find it hard to have fun there for a prolonged period of time.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 2:32 PM
    CLUNGEHUNTERPJ
  • Spiderish

    Rage, Skyrim and DA: 2 have me the most curious to see how their respective developers have expanded on the tried and true formula's of Awesome-sauce that built them. Unless ME: 3 is pushed back significantly I'm not expecting anything revolutionary in the game-play, which is by no means a bad thing considering how spot on ME: 2 was in contrast to 1. Bioware isn't above surprising us though. Hope R* pulls something out of their hat announcement wise as well. Would love a new GTA even though the latest expeditions into the open world sociopaths lifestyle isn't getting anywhere near old for me by a long shot.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 2:30 PM
    Spiderish
  • CLUNGEHUNTERPJ

    I kind of hope mass effect gets delayed to 2012 - partly so i can play Skyrim more easily and partly because i don't want the two of them to go head-to-head for awards when they're clearly both incredible.

    Posted: December 14, 2010 2:28 PM
    CLUNGEHUNTERPJ
  • mikester3127

    2001 I'll have no money at all haha :Little Big Planet 2, Killzone 3, Infamous 2, Mortal Kombat, Uncharted 3 , resistance 3 and others I'm probably forgetting haha

    Posted: December 14, 2010 2:22 PM
    mikester3127
AdChoices