X

AVADirect Silverstone Raven Gaming PC Review

Posted: December 8, 2010
AVADirect Silverstone Raven Gaming PC Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/50247/avadirect-silverstone-raven-gaming-pc-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/256030_LGST/as20101208_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_50247
 

The AVADirect Silverstone Raven gaming PC offers an Intel hexa-core processor, two solid state hard drives, three NVIDIA GTX 580 video cards and more for $6,650. Kevin Pereira and Morgan Webb review the PC to make sure it fits every gamer's needs.

What You Need to Know

  • The unit is only about 18” tall
  • However, it's 2’ deep, so it will take a large amount of floor space
  • All the connections are on the top, so you'll have to remove the top part of the case and run wires under a bracket; it makes it look clean, but it might be a pain in the ass if you change stuff
  • It's also a bit loud with the fans turned up
  • All the cables are managed nicely and everything is as you'd expect
  • There isn't much room to work, though, because there's a ton of fans, and of course, they packed it with three huge video cards and a bad-ass heat sink
  • They put an expansion bay on the front that will hold up to four hot-swappable Solid State Drives
  • It scored the highest in both of the gaming and productivity benchmarks, making it the most powerful computer ever on Attack of the Show
  • Obviously, there's nothing you can throw at it that will make it stutter, so don't try; just turn up the settings to full-blast and enjoy Call of Duty: Black Ops like you've never seen it before

Price

  • The PCs start at $1,600, but our configuration costs $6,650

Overall Rating

  • For the starting configuration, it’s a Buy
  • We've got to hand it to AVADirect, they crammed as many top of the line parts into an air-cooled system as they could and got amazing performance
  • Use the promo code AOTS-BR to get $100 off this bad-ass AVADirect configuration. 
Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

 

...

Comments are Closed

  • timosaurusrex

    OWN IT BEST GAMING DEVICE CREATED BESIDES THE ORIGIN PC BIG O

    Posted: January 14, 2011 3:52 PM
    timosaurusrex
  • CocoaJoe321

    My custom built behemoth came to over $55K can I still use my $100.00 G4 discount?

    http://www.avadirect.com/pro duct_details_configurator.asp? PRID=17185

    Posted: December 12, 2010 11:27 PM
    CocoaJoe321
  • Cryptomaster420

    built mine up from scratch for just under 1000$
    1.Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P Motherboard
    2.windstorm case
    3.amd phenom ii x6-processor
    4.1TB hitatchi sata HDD
    5.2 G skill ddr3 ram cards each 2gb
    6.ASUS DRW 24B1LT - Disk drive - DVD�RW (�R DL) / DVD-RAM - 24x24x12x - Serial ATA - internal - 5.25" - black - LightScribe
    7.10 cooling fans-2 in back-2-in front-2 on bottom-2 ontop-2 on the side im only using 4 fans and i would have it running for @ least 6 hours a day and it manages to stay relatively cool it runs good can play every game on high-ultra high graphics fine no frame rate drop it runs smooth and it was under 1000$ no soldering required so ya im sticking with the 1 for now

    Posted: December 10, 2010 9:12 AM
  • Nerdi_Master

    It'll be 1/4 the price in a year, then MAYBE it'll be a buy. I have a nice rig that only cost me $1,400

    Posted: December 9, 2010 3:13 PM
    Nerdi_Master
  • toadstoolssecretluvchild

    It's so retarded. You don't need three damn NVidia cards. This is the douchebag computer version of a H2 Hummer I've ever seen :o Also 6k?! That's ridiculous

    Posted: December 9, 2010 3:11 PM
    toadstoolssecretluvchild
  • spazztic666

    its looks cool

    Posted: December 9, 2010 11:26 AM
  • coppersnake

    PFT what a rip.
    get a i7 930 overclock it like an MF add watercooling and get dual 400 nvidia series and OC them and OC everything.
    can easily get 4ghz stable
    also for that kind of money you would expect watercooling the i7 hex core adds so much to the price so isnt worth it yet.
    that case actually doesnt look like it has very good air cooling either or cable management slots.

    personally i would make it waterproof and submerge it in non-conducting oil =P
    building your own is so much cheaper and enjoyable. isnt hard either
    Morgan should know this and should be building her own not buying it if she is the so called computer nerd she claims to be.

    Posted: December 9, 2010 1:35 AM
    coppersnake
  • m0h3k4n

    Just throwing together the most expensive/best rated items on newegg that I would think closely match the setup I came up with a rig that ran about $3,500. Almost half the cost with the bonus of getting to DIY.

    Posted: December 9, 2010 12:43 AM
    m0h3k4n
  • CHELSEA_FC_is_WIN

    could probably build a better one thousands less

    Posted: December 9, 2010 12:09 AM
    CHELSEA_FC_is_WIN
  • ElmoKajaky

    I may just buy this one... How are these guys for support?

    Posted: December 8, 2010 11:44 PM
  • SyntheticEvil13

    Must have one!!!

    Posted: December 8, 2010 6:02 PM
    SyntheticEvil13
AdChoices