X

Apache: Air Assault Hands-On Preview

Posted: November 2, 2010
Apache: Air Assault Hands-On Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49590/apache-air-assault-hands-on-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/253847_LGST/xp20101102_apacheairho_pre.jpg
Video_49590
IL-2 Sturmovik's creators return with this upcoming take on chopper combat, and in this Apache: Air Assault preview, Blair Herter sits with Dir. of Production Aaron Pulkka to talk Training and Veteran Modes, and 2-player co-op for pilot and gunner.

Comments are Closed

  • speedram

    Hey G4. Why don't you review this game sometime this year. You are a video game sight correct?

    Posted: November 19, 2010 11:13 AM
    speedram
  • Lawrence123

    co-op but no multiplayer ?

    Posted: November 8, 2010 7:25 AM
    Lawrence123
  • wizardfingers

    looks cool, could be a Kinect game couldn't it? Cokpit view..

    Posted: November 6, 2010 2:37 PM
    wizardfingers
  • EarstotheGround

    As a huge fan of heli games (back from the Commanche on PC days, and Strike games from PS1), a little dissapointed from what I see so far.

    Will wait for the full review but....for now things that have me skeptical:

    Cons:

    - lack of variety (only apaches? what about some russian Hinds and Mi-28's, German Tigers or a mock Airwolf?)
    - graphics/sound leave a lot to be desired
    - not much info on gameplay - assume the standard blow stuff up and escort missions - but what else? Any story lines or player character development?
    - not much info on how well controls work

    Pros:

    Basic and advanced controls will allow for some longevity and hopefully more realism to gameplay


    jury's out on this one.....maybe a bargain bin buy?

    Posted: November 6, 2010 12:02 AM
    EarstotheGround
  • onisamax

    Interesting. There is a heli game currently available in the market. And it also has "realistic flight controls". So realistic in fact here's a short description about it from from Wikipedia :

    "Eagle Dynamics has stated that, because of their current focus on both military and consumer simulation products, they will not simulate vehicles at a lower level of detail or using incomplete data"

    The game/simulation is "DCS : Black Shark." It was released March 2009.

    I'm thrilled for Gaijin releasing an Apache game that I've waited for years but I'm a bit....miffed that G4 would actually not review or even mention DCS : Black Shark at all. I guess it being a PC only game that require you get a heli license to play is not cool enough for G4.

    That's not fair. It bring out the evil inside me because I smirked at fight4gipper1's and R3LF_12's comments knowing there IS a game already available that fit their descriptions.

    FYI : Eagle Dynamics is going to release a new simulation soon. DCS : A10 Warthog. Yes, it's PC only
    and I wonder if it's cool enough for G4.

    Posted: November 5, 2010 8:38 PM
    onisamax
  • R3LF_13

    Wow. very interesting! i love helicopters so the "realistic flight controls" sound very cool. and Apaches are of course completely awesome!

    Posted: November 4, 2010 3:35 PM
    R3LF_13
  • Chris13579

    helicopters are great because you can hover and spray out bullets and rockets
    look like the game has destructible buildings which rules. yeah yeah yeah yeah

    Posted: November 3, 2010 8:59 PM
    Chris13579
  • fight4gipper1

    finally, a heli game

    Posted: November 3, 2010 3:21 PM
    fight4gipper1
AdChoices