X

Vanquish Review

Posted: November 1, 2010
Vanquish Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49580/vanquish-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/253781_LGST/xp20101101_vanquish_rev.jpg
Video_49580
Adam Sessler reviews Vanquish, the new sci-fi third-person shooter from Shinji Mikami, designer of Resident Evil 4, God Hand, and Goof Troop.

Comments are Closed

  • onkue77

    i'm sorry but this game deserves a 4.5! It's a fun and thrilling ride that keeps me coming back for more. I had played the demo and fell in love with the game. It's challenging and keeps you on the edge of your seat and from time to time, I found myself cursing at my tv.... coming up with my own dialog as I am blasting away at the enemies! I seriously do not understand the 3 that was given for this game!! This game is AWESOME!! But that's just my opinion...

    Posted: June 3, 2011 12:49 PM
    onkue77
  • Sammy25101

    This game is difficult at times, mostly because of the dumb checkpiont placement.

    Posted: May 29, 2011 3:28 PM
    Sammy25101
  • hisnut32

    someone should have told Russia to kill all there mad scientist or at lest told them to lay of new york, San Fransisco, LA, and DC. but green light Detroit and/or Chicago

    Posted: March 22, 2011 9:10 AM
    hisnut32
  • butter-knife

    i guess vanquish must really appeal to certain types of people and not others, because I'm still enjoying this game. Challenge mode is a delightful challenge, and the ridiculous pace of action is unmatched. It was a top seller in Japan, hope we will see more, can't wait to get back in that ARS...

    Posted: January 1, 2011 6:52 PM
    butter-knife
  • ListenUp

    I wish Adam and some of the other G4 people would at least play Vanquish, instead of just passing it off to "Gus Mastrapa?". And it's really weird to hear Adam give a review that isn't his. You can tell nobody else has played it, because it still hasn't been discussed on Feedback. I understand this, because of all the awesome games that are currently out, but I still want to know how a true fan of shooters feels about this game. I'm a huge Gears fan, and I can't believe a comparison is being drawn between that series and Vanquish. A cover system is not a unique gameplay mechanic. When the game is being played by a true gamer, there is nothing else like it. Yes there is a functional cover system, but there is also much more. When you get the hang of it, and realize how you can dismantle the most punishing bosses, in the coolest looking ways, you get why Vanquish is special. I feel sorry for Shinji Mikami. That guy gave us RE4, and people who have some control over the success of a game, don't even show his great new IP any love. Vanquish is the only game I've played where I can see an enemy from 100 yards away, get to him in a couple seconds, get behind him, and then blast him away with my shotgun. It's fun to do things like that, and yet you can still easily be killed by one hit in some cases. Again, once you get the hang of it, Vanquish is one of the best single player shooters available. It's very fun to play, but takes awhile to master.

    Posted: November 2, 2010 2:54 AM
    ListenUp
  • ListenUp

    I wish Adam and some of the other G4 people would at least play Vanquish, instead of just passing it off to "Gus Mastrapa?". And it's really weird to hear Adam give a review that isn't his. You can tell nobody else has played it, because it still hasn't been discussed on Feedback. I understand this, because of all the awesome games that are currently out, but I still want to know how a true fan of shooters feels about this game. I'm a huge Gears fan, and I can't believe a comparison is being drawn between that series and Vanquish. A cover system is not a unique gameplay mechanic. When the game is being played by a true gamer, there is nothing else like it. Yes there is a functional cover system, but there is also much more. When you get the hang of it, and realize how you can dismantle the most punishing bosses, in the coolest looking ways, you get why Vanquish is special. I feel sorry for Shinji Mikami. That guy gave us RE4, and people who have some control over the success of a game, don't even show his great new IP any love. Vanquish is the only game I've played where I can see an enemy from 100 yards away, get to him in a couple seconds, get behind him, and then blast him away with my shotgun. It's fun to do things like that, and yet you can still easily be killed by one hit in some cases. Again, once you get the hang of it, Vanquish is one of the best single player shooters available. It's very fun to play, but takes awhile to master.

    Posted: November 2, 2010 2:52 AM
    ListenUp
  • PredatorHell

    Adam, this video review is screw up incredibly!!!

    You dont even talk about the 2 most different and important aspects in this game: the super fast truster system and the slow motion affect.

    You talked about "foolish" you see this game, well your review is much more a parody, next time, do it right, tell ALL BASIC IN A GAME!!!!!!!!

    Posted: November 1, 2010 9:51 PM
    PredatorHell
  • autofaux

    Sure, it looks like Gears, but its not supposed to be played like Gears. You can't just pop heads from cover like Gears. If you don't stay on the offensive, and stay mobile, you'll get flanked and annihilated by some of the faster moving enemies.

    However, the voice acting and cutscenes are annoying and cheesy after a few hours.

    Overall, I agree with the score.

    Posted: November 1, 2010 8:57 PM
AdChoices