X

Fallout: New Vegas Review

Posted: November 1, 2010
Fallout: New Vegas Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49574/fallout-new-vegas-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/253779_LGST/xp20101101_falloutvegas_rev.jpg
Video_49574
This entry takes the series out west for gambling, revenge, and robots, but it's still Fallout with huge open worlds and fun gameplay, and in this Fallout: New Vegas review Adam Sessler lets you know how it all comes together.

Comments are Closed

  • AaronTashmaric

    While New Vegas does have many glitches, I would not call it a companion piece, because it has much more to offer than Fallout 3.

    Posted: April 12, 2011 3:10 PM
    AaronTashmaric
  • VaultDweller7

    I just got F.N.V I LOVE fallout it's one of my favorites this game? it's gonna take more to convince this avid F.O player that it can live up to it's older brother F.O.3 I havnt ran into any MAJOR glitches yet, YET but i'm very dissapointed already BECAUSE the road to vegas is almost a deat trap no matter what road you start on you end up running into what you dont want. I found the compainion addon VERY usefull and that really suprised me i'm not usually into having a tag along even having the dog on 3 was hard for me. anyway, getting to vegas is hard init's self and on top of that theres a fee of a lot of caps that are hard to find youl see if you play it. I Agree with ADEM SESS when he says the quests have nothing to do with the story line. BUT that doesnt bother me too much cause it happend in F.O.3 as well. the games gotta smaller map DUH your in one city not a whole state so dont gripe about that it comes with the territory. The games fun and i'm still inlove with the graphics and everything BUT i'm frustrated with it because it's such a long road to where your going and when you get there your still, stuck *sighs* oh well none of that will keep this FALLOUT fan down. DONT LOSE YOUR CAPS OR your mind for that matter over the game it's wonderfull fun and im sure after the first few times it'll be a walk on the strip for me OH (side note to bethesda: WE WANT VEHICLES WE WANT VEHICLES! the games post apoctolyptic i get it but i mean DAMN give us a trained animal we can ride around in you got it right with OBLIVIAN and the horses but what about FALLOUT? ILL PAY ALL THE CAPS I HAVE TO IF YOUD JUST GIVE US TO MOVE A BIT FASTER WITH) ok im done whew that was grueling And as for MY rating? i'll give....hmm four bottle caps, out of five

    Posted: November 21, 2010 8:10 PM
    VaultDweller7
  • wolfman99202

    This game is complicated but in a good way. I love the expansive world, story and fighting with the RPG elements sprinkled in. I am an RPGite from hell and I was surprised by how much goes on in this game. I've played for almost 4 days straight and still have things to do!

    Posted: November 17, 2010 11:49 AM
    wolfman99202
  • SliQuid

    goodkyle..one thing i understand completely is the 'core mechanics' being that i do networking and programming which has abosulutely nothing to do with the funfactor or gameplay..dont spite an opinion just bc u think the game is good, its only an opinion..people need to know facts bf they rush off to buy a game..wait till the price drops bc most will be disappointed i assure you

    Posted: November 16, 2010 5:21 PM
    SliQuid
  • TheMadDragonV

    I played Fallout:New Vegas for 65 hours, and when I beat the main story line instead of letting me continue exploring like F3, it took me back to the main menu! What's up with that?! So instead of getting to explore New Vegas more I have to start over. What was Bethesda/Obsidian thinking? With F3 there was so much more to do and explore than New Vegas.
    And what about the DLC that's sure to come out? Will they expect us to replay FNV again just to find out what the new content is? And what about the patches for the bugs in the game? I've recieved one patch during the first week, which actually made things worse, and haven't heard anything since. For shame Bethesda/Obsidian!! You have lost a long time fan with your handling of this game!

    Posted: November 15, 2010 2:40 PM
  • mirrorcelcius

    Fallout 3 WAY BETTER, this game no rancom accounter, no destructive visually, Lost the apocalyptic feel. the worse part is : Map is big but nothing to see. what they NV has : few chack, rock, hill, dry lake, and errr...strip ? not to mention the uniform of Caesar and Khans ? what;s up with that ? 1/5

    Posted: November 10, 2010 7:19 PM
    mirrorcelcius
  • hazyD

    I think the game was WAY too buggy. I had 3-7 freezes per day and there were several quests I couldn't finish because of bugs, ie: pawn shop never opened. I was constantly restarting my PS3 and it really took away from the game. I had pre-ordered to get some startup gear, but it wasn't available until I was several hours into the game and by then it was useless. VERY disappointing.

    Posted: November 9, 2010 10:05 AM
    hazyD
  • Hellbent_moogle

    I keep a sheet of paper on my coffee table when I play this game and put a checkmark on the paper when ever the game freezes. So i have 68 marks currently, it would be nice if they released a functional game, but I should have known better. Anyway I'd give this a 3.5-4 out of 5 there isn't enough locations out in the wilderness it just seems empty, oh and I have already put 40+ hours into this game so don't tell me I don't know what I'm talking about.

    Posted: November 4, 2010 3:32 PM
    Hellbent_moogle
  • RJ1233455

    Xbox breaks too easily so now i have a ps3 way better. Fallout: New Vegas 10/10

    Posted: November 4, 2010 11:59 AM
  • bullitt5239

    I have played for nearly 60 hours so far and am super frusterated in the game. My main story line is super glitched. I cannot complete the missions where I find the platinum chip. I have the chip but it never says it is complete. It finally allowed me to use the chip and now I cannot get back to talk to MR. House in the lucky 38. I get to the elevator and the securitron guy does not respond to anything...I still keep playing the game for some odd reason though.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 6:29 PM
  • burgundeejones

    Ok, so 30 yr old chic gamer here... and I gotta say Fallout New Vegas is my fave game ever!!! Loved Fallout 3 and loved Oblivion... but this is the topnotch gameplaying here... 70 hours of gametime so far and I am definately not anywhere near the end... someone else commented they played thru the whole game in 70 hours???? I am a very thorough player with all missions and the free roam ability. Yes it's got it's glitches: Q-35 plasma modulator getting stuck for a lot of people, but I used some dynamite to get it out, the Arcade Gannon glitch, screen freezing, etc. Still the world seems bigger and better, I'll be honest my first few hours of gameplay left me wondering if I was gonna like the game at all, but the slow rocky start has turned out great... and I really have enjoyed the storyline so far... discovered that unarmed is my fave new way to fight too... gotta love, Love and Hate.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 6:00 PM
  • DecepticonMedic

    It may be a lot like Fallout 3, but it didn't really need to be changed...
    After two characters the game crashed for me a total of five times... Not TOO horrible. It's a wonderful game, regardless. I haven't encountered any of the other severe glitches mentioned... I'll agree that the main story line isn't as compelling as the one from fallout 3, but it's definitely worth playing.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 4:49 PM
    DecepticonMedic
  • jamofpearls

    I can't give a fair rating, as I haven't finished the game yet, but I'm definitely loving it so far.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 1:27 PM
  • that*one*kid

    I think it deseved what it got, it is a very good game and it has a nice story in my opinion, still not as god as FO3 though, itbut is downfall in my opinion is it is TO MUCH LIKE FO3!!!!!!

    Posted: November 3, 2010 12:53 PM
    that*one*kid
  • PNGemperor

    I have to say, being a HUGE fallout 3 fan and having played it tons of times through doing all the different things like blow up megaton or not and much much more and taking all the different buddy's throughout, i was really excited for New Vegas as I expected even better. At first I was not to impressed since I kinda wished for starting in a vault again or maybe the time where people begin leaving the vaults at least but instead I am a courier lol that was a weird beginning but whatever, made for a good opening video for sure. I absolutely loved all the new weapons, like the zapped pistol that the kid chases the girl with that you can either buy from him or steal when he is asleep. Such a sick gun, I loved being a guard for the laser and plasma people then killing them all and stealing it all to sell. The Gun Runner's weapon stock was amazing, although I do wish you could break into it and steal it all. Vegas was absolutely awesome, especially Gomorrah :D and How kick-ass was it to be able to get a robot dog?! If you never got it, you need to, go to The Impression Building (honoring The King of Rock himself near Vegas). You could hire some major badass's as well as while in vegas hire someone to follow you around there too at the same time as you have a companion and a dog. The entire game had endless possibilities and anyone who says it is the same as the last one (Fallout 3) is retarted, of course it has the same game play, because if it didn't no one would be interested, don't fix what isn't broke right? Killing Caesar was fun, collecting the blue star caps was worth it (not lol) and all the advanced guns you can get are incredible compared to before (Sniper is my favorite) and killing the Brotherhood of Steel was so much fun. Mr. House is the bomb, hooking me up with everything lol.
    I loved this game and coul play it forever lol there are endless places to visit and endless quests, No one here has done them all I promise or been to every place, because it takes too much time, but it is worth it because it is so much fun! This game kicks Ass

    GO RANGERS, but screw the NCR! I am allied with Mr. House for life :D

    Posted: November 3, 2010 12:20 PM
    PNGemperor
  • Miss_Elvie

    Is it better than Fallout 3? Yes, most definitely. I adore how it references the past games and brings back a bit of humor to the situation, the grittyness and adult themes are back which we all love (hookers, sex).

    Though there were things that they could have expanded upon that they didn't. Why don't the men have sound effects for sex (Benny doesn't count) since all the females make vocal sounds, and the men do not. We'd like a bit of sound as well.

    When Ceaser's Legion takes over Novac, you cannot ask them what they think about it, which isn't right, since the entire town is based around staying OUT of Ceaser's grasp.

    Now, I am unsure if this is in the game, but it's something I'd like to know. For female players there's a female/male option and a female/female option. Does it work both ways? Is there a male/male option? Because that's pretty damn narrow minded otherwise.

    I have had so many freaking glitches I don't even know where to begin (I use a 360) and I`ve heard dozens of complaints from PS3 users who have gotten the worst of the glitches. I understand these things need time to sort out, but I've been inside gaming company's and talked to the people who create games and these are all things that damn well should be sorted out. Why does it seem that these games (Microsoft based ones) always have the worst glitches and yet, the fastest release dates.

    Maybe if you put a little extra effort into making sure almost all of the glitches were fixed and played every thing on different consoles to make sure (because some of them happen, differently, on different systems) then we'd have less issues and less a need for all these updates.

    I enjoy the new companion wheel and the new companions. The whole thing is much more diverse and entertaining than Fallout 3 and I hope if a Fallout 4 comes out later, the Obsidian people will be working on it as well.

    Just please, TRY to get the glitches out before shipping it. I wouldn't mind a few weeks extra wait to know it won't freeze up on me.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 11:34 AM
  • Pookie30037

    It was both really amazing, and really disappointing at the same time.
    Totally agree with lack of emotion and drama to the storyline.
    Much more to do, weapon mods and whatnot.
    Definitely has alot of bugs to patch, like the vats making you stand like a deer in the headlights.
    Enemies stuck in rocks, or yourself getting stuck in rocks.
    Your blank pip boy screen popping up when attempting to pick a lock.
    And the deathclaws are pretty much invincible now, they just swallow my fatman shots.
    Really unique feature that differs from F3, how the skills actually tie in with the weapons and perks.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 10:49 AM
  • BONERJAM

    I enjoyed Fallout 3 more but I'm still having a ton of fun playing New Vegas.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 10:08 AM
    BONERJAM
  • KennyHx

    love the game to me Fallout 3 is a little better but not by much, Glitzy yes very much so but i can live with that. This wasteland has tons of useless places to go and not so many buildings to explore. For me ill give it a 4/5

    Posted: November 3, 2010 10:08 AM
  • DoomBlackDragon

    As family guy once say. "Can I buy some pot off you?" Really Adumb. What outdate PoS 360 where you playing this on. Pete sacks microsucks can not even get there system working with out it meltdowning. I would not be suprised if the put xbox as one of those items that cause cancer like the cellphone. Wonder how much money microsucks must be paying them to give games like halo reach and Crackdown 2 a 5/5 or maybe x-play thinks the 360 the best thing to happien to mankind sence the evention of the TV. Adumb get a life and play it on a real system. I seen so many games that they reviewed on the 360 that the pc version of the game was so much better. Why is it that pc version tend to be better made. Well not always. MW2 was a joke and a PoS. Well it not like I actully respect xplay. I only want their show cause there nothing else on the tub. G4 is now just as bad as opra.

    Posted: November 3, 2010 8:13 AM
    DoomBlackDragon
AdChoices