X

MacBook Air Review

Posted: October 28, 2010
MacBook Air Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49526/macbook-air-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/253627_LGST/as20101028_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_49526

Chris Hardwick joins Kevin Pereira in the Gadget Pr0n review of the new MacBook Air from Apple. Weighing 2.3 lbs, the Air features a high-res LED display, multi-touch track pad, NVIDIA 320M graphics and more, but is the sleek look worth the $1,000 price tag? Find out.

What You Need to Know

  • This is one of the thinnest, if not the thinnest, 11” laptops we've ever seen
  • The MacBook Air ranges from .10” to .75” thick
  • It’s super light at just over 2 lbs.
  • It has 2 USB ports (rather than one on the original Air)
  • There is no Ethernet or SD card slot
  • The keyboard is great; it's widely spaced and as easy to type on as any other thin-and-light we've used, but we do kind of wish it had the backlight like other MacBooks
  • The track-pad is where the air really shines; it's huge and easily the best multi-touch pad we've used with shortcuts like pinch and zoom, swipe to navigate, and rotate (Apple has this technology down to a science)
  • The 11.6” widescreen LED display looks amazing, too and you'll have no problem watching high-def video on it for long periods of time.
  • Apple has beefed up this generation of the Air with up to 4 GB of RAM, NVIDIA’s 320M graphics, and 128 GB of flash storage
  • Boot time is amazingly quick at only 15 seconds, so this is definitely the fastest start-up we've ever seen on a laptop of this size
  • Games like Portal and Team Fortress 2 look just as good as on other netbooks we've tested
  • Overall, this Air surpassed our expectations when it came to performance?

 Price

  • The MacBook Air starts at $1,000

 Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

 

...

Comments are Closed

  • GeminiKanon

    @clubf00t, you're such a tool. Its not about how elite it looks, its about functionality. Mac OS is far more stable than windows. Yes, it has old technology, but i think its fast for what i use it for, internet, and videos. I was looking into netbooks a while ago but just couldnt bring myself to buying one because i watch a lot of videos online. You do know Sony makes expensive netbooks too, right? you sound like a troll. i'm not an apple fanboy but I do own a few apple products just because of the stabiliity and reliability. Why buy a Pacer when you can buy a Chevy?

    Posted: November 13, 2010 5:34 AM
  • clubf00t

    Isheep retards, $1000 for a netbook... look at how small my laptop is, i so elite...what a bunch of hipster douche-bags

    Posted: November 2, 2010 1:32 PM
    clubf00t
  • Redsabr

    Looks awesome!

    Posted: November 1, 2010 1:15 PM
    Redsabr
  • slimmer

    First time I played Halo was on a Mac years ago.
    Apple please slow down on the constant yearly landfill material.

    Posted: October 30, 2010 8:58 AM
    slimmer
  • HE1RO

    i payed 650 for my HP which has 3 usb ports and sd card reader and 11somethn" screen annnd it has weight to it... so i dont forget its in my bag and crush my pc.

    Posted: October 30, 2010 12:28 AM
    HE1RO
  • Spybreak

    Always entertaining when Hardwick is on.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 9:57 PM
    Spybreak
  • Aerindel_Prime

    They charge this much because they use quality components rather than just buying parts for the lowest bidder and cramming them all together in a shell.

    My dad is still using his Mac that he bought in 1995, in all that time not a single thing has ever broken.

    A thousand dollars for mac? thats nothing. I'm just glad the price has come down from what it was. The first gen Air's didn't look that great to me but if something happens to my computer now I'll probably replace it with an Air or even just get an iPad.

    Is it a glorified iPad? maybe, but the iPad and its OS is going to replace computers as we know them in the next few years. The desktop metaphor is dead as is physical media. I haven't stuck a disk in my laptop for over a year, and no, thats not a euphemism

    Posted: October 29, 2010 9:25 PM
    Aerindel_Prime
  • mozes128

    hahahaha I loved the ending!

    Posted: October 29, 2010 7:51 PM
    mozes128
  • scottyrob82

    $1000-1500 for a netbook? Do you know the kind of rig I can get for that? Sure it's light but if you complain about carrying around something that weighs four to six pounds you need to hit the gym. Apple charges this much because they know the Apple fans will throw money at the latest overpriced crap.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 7:49 PM
    scottyrob82
  • icowrich

    The lack of DVD player was a feature for me. I wouldn't mind owning an external for it that I can leave at home for the occasional update, but 99% I don't use it, so I'd rather keep it at home and not have to lug it around.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 3:47 PM
  • Zmeeds

    lol, dvd's? how's 90's!

    Posted: October 29, 2010 3:18 PM
    Zmeeds
  • MyXxBitterXxHeroics

    Honestly, I believe Apple has run out of ideas. MacBook Air is essentially a glorified iPad, might as well own an iPad considering that it hardly comes with any kind of retention memory that and you can't play dvd's. Completely not worth the price tag.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 1:42 PM
    MyXxBitterXxHeroics
  • DEAThHEART

    i meant i wouldnt pay for a 1000dollars for a netbook with those specs.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 2:10 AM
  • DEAThHEART

    that guy is a total apple dork like he says. i would pay a 1000 buks for a net book. i payef 700 dollars on a supperior pc. ok, the air is very thin, somewhat stylish. But i'd rather have my thicker toshiba any day...

    ps: i'm not hating, i just have all my cells in my brain.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 2:06 AM
  • TGE0

    I've continually wondered what goes through peoples minds that they are willing to pay such a large markup in price just to save carrying half a pound.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 12:17 AM
    TGE0
AdChoices