X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • Cantthink

    If I knew a company didnt let you reivew there game that would put me off buying it. its that simple and clear cut, if you dont have the balls to let a professional gamer/reviewer play your game then dont make it so crappy in the first place.

    On a side note have you got a Fable 3 yet? I dont wanna be hypocritical or anything = D

    Posted: October 20, 2010 4:54 AM
    Cantthink
  • Silky08

    One time I was on the Bioware social site and made a topic that said congrats by the 5/5 g4 on Dragon Age. Well that post ended up being attacked like mad... I didn't even think that it would be that badly attacked.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 4:17 AM
    Silky08
  • AWESOMEgamer875

    Whenever there was no review for a game that I searched, I assumed that you didnt review the game because there were bigger things out that week or it just plainly wasnt worth the play time. Now I know who the real a$$e$ are in the game industry. Keep up the good work doin what you do guys!

    Posted: October 20, 2010 3:29 AM
    AWESOMEgamer875
  • re3ce_87

    YES some one call it Finaly,

    Posted: October 20, 2010 3:19 AM
  • Thogin

    RAGE OUT!!!!

    KNOCK IT OFF!!!!

    lol... king of geeks Adam you are

    Posted: October 20, 2010 2:58 AM
    Thogin
  • NathanDrake

    I think Adam is missing the point. G4 should take a good hard look at the way they review games. You call these companies, that are holding back their titles, unprofessional but personally I can't blame them. This site seems to show a tremendous amount of bias toward certain devs/consoles. I call that unprofessional.

    Also, it's hard to take Adam seriously when he starts off his soapbox video by kicking a wii title. If I were Nintendo that would be reason enough to black list G4. ;)

    Posted: October 20, 2010 2:12 AM
    NathanDrake
  • ShinjiEx

    After the butcher job on Metroid Other M I can't blame other publishers and studios being standoffish

    I mean that review was very immature given that the core gameplay at heart was solid and true to the series

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:25 AM
    ShinjiEx
  • Zizen

    Lmao that was BEAUTIFUL Adam.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:11 AM
    Zizen
  • shadowedone

    i've always thought that things like this were happening. but i'm behind u guys no matter what reviews you guy can or can't get. i always look forward to see what you guys say.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 12:27 AM
    shadowedone
  • Golondris

    Is this what happened with Vanquish?

    Posted: October 20, 2010 12:03 AM
    Golondris
  • mikepjr

    No worries Adam, it's cool.
    I knew this way WAY before you said anything.
    It's just publishers and what not being paranoid.
    If a game is bad, then.. it IS their fault, not you guys's fault for exposing how shotty a game is, and if they are that worried about a game not selling well based on the TRUTH coming out, they should just learn to make better games and stop screwing up.
    Oh and wow, i just tried to type out a curse word and it won't let me, yet you can sit there and curse Adam? Yes i know it was bleeped, but still.. That's BS...

    Posted: October 19, 2010 11:24 PM
    mikepjr
  • egoless

    I don't see the problem. First we have AOTS doing a sarcastic review last week of AppleTV to downplay their apple fanatasim and now this.

    In the case of the former, we (the viewers) all know the double standard that exists and how iProducts are reviewed. We accept these "reviews" because we know what to expect, we accept it, and choose to skip that part of the show entirely or watch and laugh at their attempt at so called objectivity.

    In the case of the latter (Adam's recent rant), if I were a publisher, I would not change a thing form the current status quo. It's completely natural for people to gravitate towards certain trends, people, brands, etc. Again, we the viewers accept this and move on. At this point we know what to take with a truckload of salt. Watching all your shows from the very beginning, watching all your feedback episodes, reading your tweets, your reviews, your site posts, etc., we have a pretty good idea of where a review will lean. For instance, we know the mountain a Kinect game must climb to even be considered worthy of the time of G4. That's fine.

    If we know this, certainly a publisher knows this. So why should they (in this case Microsoft) waste their time, money, and resources on people who's minds are already made up? Yes, G4 is as objective as any other source out there, but again, you cannot deny a degree of fanboyism that's purely natural which hangs over every person's critique of anything. So a publisher should take advantage of this with a mix of known opinions AND wildcards with their wares (especially knowing how influential reviewers like yourself are on the opinions of the general public... [have you forgotten the study you mentioned not long ago]).

    Otherwise, look what's happening with Medal of Honor. They already had to spend time, money, resources to get noticed in the CoD hype. Now they're in full damage control (sales figure reminders to the press, press releases, etc etc) on top of that, after the reviews. That's JUST to recover from the initial hurt of the reviews and get sheeple to actually look at the game. Sure, G4 is one of those giving the game high marks and explaining why. But your lone gold star for the day does nothing when the stock takes a significant hit, actual sales are off to a slow start, and so on because of a heap of "low scores".

    Are you going to start a crusade to get people to place higher value on your review, and show other reviewers where they were being unfair? Of course not. That's not your job. But a publisher can head that off right at the get-go so you won't have to (such as your blurb on gamebreak to the effect that the game is getting an unfair shake). The hard part, to the publisher then, is making sure the credibility is there over the mix of reviewers with their wares. We the viewer can smell a shill a mile away, but also, we understand when certain outlets don't have reviews up on day one.

    Keep up the great work. Always informative and entertaining.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 11:08 PM
    egoless
  • jsgdmbnhl

    Outstanding and informative rant. These kinds of stories do need to make it onto the TV show.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 10:58 PM
    jsgdmbnhl
  • 2ply

    You could take that as a compliment, it proves in an odd way that what the people do at G4 is respected by their viewers, and publishers notice that it can affect sales of some of their subpar games.

    Although, I hate to say this, but to a certain degree I sort of see why some publishers might deny G4 the chance to an early review.

    When a game is bad or doesn't quite live up to what was expected, that games review does turn into somewhat of a comedy skit for the sake of viewer/reader entertainment, poking fun and sometimes flatout abusing the hours of work others put into it.

    When something is 99.9% what it was supposed to be G4 has nothing so say but what is needed, but if it's not then you basically pick it up by the ankles, dunk it into the toilet, and proceed to flush, weither the game could still be fun or not no longer matters.

    It's some pretty harsh truths most of the time, and sometimes exaderated to make it a running joke, some commentors on past bad reviews should be proof of the power G4 has and sometimes abuses to the point of a backlash from the very people that review was created for.

    I would quote Uncle Ben here, but I think you get my drift.

    Even as a general consumer, I have to side with the publishers on this one, the only one to blame for the lack of early access reviews is G4's excessive need to be funny and entertain. Never would have thought that as a fault until now, but apparently it is affecting the ammount of content you guys can pump out.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 10:41 PM
    2ply
  • TheDUBminator

    Dear Adam, please hurry and write your book.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 10:34 PM
    TheDUBminator
  • Arm3g3don

    whoo-sa, Adam. Rub the ears! Sounds like some publishers are being pr*cks. Great video this week, Adam.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 10:26 PM
    Arm3g3don
  • CloneofBlade

    Well said Adam, and nice Office by the way.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 9:51 PM
    CloneofBlade
  • Malapropism

    i wonder which games or developers they're talking about, i think the best hint to find out which is if there are any big releases that aren't reviewed on this site or others,

    after i was done reading the review of fallout new vegas today, i went to go see what their rating is for fallout 3, just as a comparison, i noticed that there was no review for fallout 3, so that kind of implied this sort of thing which adam is talking about,

    overall i don't think it's that big of a deal, because i read g4 reviews as a sort of tutorial to guess what to expect from a game, if there isn't a review for a game, i assume it's that they don't like g4 or they don't want negative reviews, there have been plenty of times where i completely disagreed with a review, but at least i could understand what their point was for whichever score they've given, high or low,

    Posted: October 19, 2010 9:30 PM
    Malapropism
  • SheoDagana

    God, how I wish he could name names... there are a few producers out there that strike me as the type of people he was complaining about and I'd like the chance to confirm my suspicions.

    I always trust G4s reviews and would love to see them get the same treatment as everyone else.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 9:27 PM
    SheoDagana
  • Rupoe

    Wow! Good to know... I'd always wondered why some games weren't reviewed right away. I'd really like to know the names of those groups.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 9:15 PM
    Rupoe
AdChoices