X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • playsbydesign

    Wonderful you were able to share that with us. I personally enjoy the reviews you guys right and find them a bit more insightful than some other websites out there. Though I do get bumbed when I look for a game and I can't seem to find a review from you guys but I know you guys can't possibly review every game that comes out.

    Though I think this off-handedly answers a question that was the subject of I think the Soupbox and feedback of "do reveiws influence buyers?" Evidently, the answer is "yes" to those un-named publishers. Perhaps it means that video game consumers value reviews more highly than movie or book consumers do.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:45 PM
    playsbydesign
  • heavenscloud001

    First off, I love the office setup. The games in the background can get distracting at times. Second, Thanks for clearing this up Adam... you make an excellent point and I hope that the industry changes

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:43 PM
    heavenscloud001
  • gamegod375

    Wouldn't one of the scenarios be that the publisher knows the game is bad and they do not want bad reviews hurting day one purchases, so they won't send one out to you guys.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:42 PM
    gamegod375
  • Zac1Morris

    This Soapbox is right on time after reading that Microsoft isn't sending Kinect to the press for them to review before it launches and placing a post-launch embargo on reviews also. Make of that what you will but momma didn't raise a fool. I understand what Adam is saying and I too treat that kind of behavior as a red flag to a bad product.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:38 PM
    Zac1Morris
  • TheBagwellian

    I understand your frustration and agree. Just don't be surprised if the people who are in a position to change the policy don't care about your frustration. Roger Moore has been pissing and moaning for years on his blog about not getting the chance to review certain movies and it does not seem to have done any good. Though he did manage to get into a screening of Ben Stein's agit-prop "Expelled." Of course, after he panned it, the filmmakers decried his leftist ways. Maybe that's what you can do- make a deal with the publishers that you get to review their game if they can call you amoral liberal socialist atheists on Fox news.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:26 PM
  • He_didnt_make_it

    I would like to address one game that currently has no review and is out today which I am assuming faced the problem you addressed. Naruto Shippuuden UNS2. I don't believe you have some vendetta against games and believe you guys are professional but I can see why these particular developers may be weary of G4. First in your old Soapboxes you used to kick a naruto game instead of the one you have now. You could argue that this was unprofessional, why send a game when this kind of bias has already been shown. I realize it is a joke but a developer especially one fom Japan probably doesn't see it the same. There have also been numerous comments bashing naruto in general from people who have never seen or understand it on shows like x-play or feedback. Most of the times these are just crude humor but a fan or developer might just see it as baseless insults. Again I don't think you guys have a thing out for anime and people who like it but when the subject comes up I think you should have someone who actually watches and understands anime to make commentary on it, instead of Adam just kicking it to the curb.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:24 PM
    He_didnt_make_it
  • silver6kraid

    Yeah, I think if somebody is gonna publish a product and not have enough faith in the product to let the people know what they are buying ahead of time than they shouldn't publish things at all, or maybe they should think about polishing the product more and not rushing it out the door. I think it's full of crap that these companies are willing to sink as low as to deceive the buyers for fear not not selling a product because they know it's flawed.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:24 PM
    silver6kraid
  • GamebustaZX

    yeah I know far before the game is released the developer already know whats gonna be wrong with it but sometimes they dont let certaion people review it because they know there gonna dock it is it has problems and then some people wont buy it and while I am loyal and have been watching Xplay senes I was 12 and im 18 now but you guys dont always give fair reviews sometimes you guys pick out all the bad things in games and blow it out of propotion even though the game is good and even makes greatest hits but dont get me wrong I love xplay and I got you guys DVR'ed for every new episode and you guys are like the only reason people come to this site and even tune in to G4 if they where to ever take xplay off g4 would go under and im sure I speak for everyone when I say that. but just do your reviews a little better and dont look at everything bad in a game because every game has something good about it even though the game still sucks

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:21 PM
    GamebustaZX
  • GamebustaZX

    yeah I know far before the game is released the developer already know whats gonna be wrong with it but sometimes they dont let certaion people review it because they know there gonna dock it is it has problems and then some people wont buy it and while I am loyal and have been watching Xplay senes I was 12 and im 18 now but you guys dont always give fair reviews sometimes you guys pick out all the bad things in games and blow it out of propotion even though the game is good and even makes greatest hits but dont get me wrong I love xplay and I got you guys DVR'ed for every new episode and you guys are like the only reason people come to this site and even tune in to G4 if they where to ever take xplay off g4 would go under and im sure I speak for everyone when I say that. but just do your reviews a little better and dont look at everything bad in a game because every game has something good about it even though the game still sucks

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:18 PM
    GamebustaZX
  • Raisinbman

    Interesting topic. For games I'm not sure about, I'll wait for Game Informer and G4 to review them. Game Informer is a magazine so I'm pretty used to waiting(no offense, GI is a wonderful magazine!!!!). Also, the only games I buy day one are the ones I have some faith in(Ratchet and Clank, Capcom fighters, Starcraft/Warcraft series. I'd also mention my 'this is a good game sense' but I digress...).

    And thinking about it, MMOs can't really be reviewed day 1 either - that's why I like it when GI says they're gonna give it a month to see how it performs when the real world has access to it.

    -Bman

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:12 PM
  • ki11er1egend

    OWN!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:11 PM
    ki11er1egend
  • Thugzorz

    You tell 'em Sessler!

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:05 PM
    Thugzorz
  • BoydofZINJ

    Almost forgot:

    Was it a mediocre score because it was a mediocre game or a mediocre review?

    I dont blame reviewers if they do or do not like a game. I blame game companies, though, for mediocre games.

    I do not agree with all the reviews. Reviews are opinions. Everyone is right and everyone can have one. However, reviews are not facts and laws.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:04 PM
    BoydofZINJ
  • Pwnproof

    @JohnnyShoulders

    A long time ago there was a show kinda like that........it was called "G4TV.Com The Show" and i still miss it to this very day :( On the flip side i still enjoy x-play most of the time.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:02 PM
    Pwnproof
  • BoydofZINJ

    I have noticed many potentially good games come with a bad bad BAD release lately. Especially on games that should NOT be releasing bad. Civilization V, Elemental: War on Magic (it might be War of Magic - I already forgot), and Fallout New Vegas.

    While some of the above games were given decent reviews. I personally think they should have been given a notch or two lower. Elemental was fair. Civilization and Fallout were too high, IMHO. While I love both games. It is only after several patches that Civilization V is starting to feel like a true Civilization game. Fallout New Vegas seems pretty decent, but I have seen a few unnacceptable glitches so far. While not game breaking - for me (yet) I am just wondering why G4TV is so ... forgiving.

    One of the points Adam kinda of mentions but not directly, I believe one of the reasons why a publisher or a company does not give out early releases of the game is because most games that do not... ARE NOT FINISHED. They are working overnight to fix the game until its ready to ship ... or after it has been shipped... working over night to get the first patch ready for launch or a few hours after launch.

    Imagine a movie where we see it on opening night... at midnight, pre-paid our tickets and we decide to buy the super expensive tickets to get good seats and we get to the threatre, give them our money and they show OTHER people into see the movie. However, they put you and a few other customers aside and say, "Thank you for your purchase. You will see your version of the movie in 3 hours." Then we have to wait 3 hours to see the movie, while other people have seen it. I point out, to the Threatre manager, that I bought the movie ticket for the 12:01am showing, but he points out that my version of the movie will be released at 12:01am on a different time zone (in 3 hours or so).

    This is basically what happened to me at Fallout New Vegas. I did not read you needed steam. I am very neutral about steam and I use steam. I sometimes will disable it to avoid it eating up some of my resources from time to time, though. The PC version of Fallout New Vegas requires steam to run - and download. I install the single CD into my computer and then it opens up steam and tells me... I have to wait a few hours for it to be 12:01am West Coast time. Steam wont be honoring timezones. If you live in Arionza, Texas, or New York (or any other state ahead of the WEST COAST) - TOUGH LUCK. We need to WAIT for STEAM to say its okay to play our game.

    Then I miss work, start playing it....

    and it has some glitches that I find unacceptable:

    Geckos that are stuck inbetween the ground and rocks. My character being stuck inside of a rock that I can not get out. A crash that erases ALL MY SAVES (luckily I was about 15 minutes into the game and it only happened once). The last big glitch I noticed was the lack of graphics when lockpicking a door.

    Remember in Fallout 3, you have a screw driver, a bobbypen and a lock looking thing and you had to move the bobbypen around and the screw driver until it opens? I dont see that in New Vegas. I see the screen that is suppose to show it... but its blank. WHOOPS. Next patch will fix that, I guess.

    So... if the game is so close to Fallout 3, why are these glitches happening? Why would a big game company let half arse games being released?

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:01 PM
    BoydofZINJ
  • wells444

    Would it be possible for G4 to set up list, so viewers could tell which games G4 intends to review?
    This would allow us to know when to weight for a review.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 5:00 PM
    wells444
  • JohnnyShoulders

    in continuing my previous comment,,,or they can call the show, Adam's Sess Pool.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:58 PM
  • JohnnyShoulders

    We need more adam sesslers on TV and Forums. I sometimes hate X-play cause Morgan Webb is corney with her robot voice, and the show's forumula does not have a serious platform. Its like old news----cut to game-----joke. Then, old news----cut to game footage---bafoon joke. Serious topics such as this, and inside videogame journalism, or serious interviews is was appeals to me. I just wish Adam Sessler had a show where it follows the seriousness of a format like Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel on HBO. Like get interviews, and inside dirt on the world of videogames and politics. Like, get an interview with Leland Yee or Arnold Swarzenegger. I think it should be called "Behind the Code" or "G4 Undercover.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:55 PM
  • CamperHunter1

    On the positive(?) side, at least you know that those people that complain when G4 reviews aren't up actually do give a damn what you say.

    But yeah, the complaining/withholding from readers/publishers in general is awfully juvenile. Critics who are paid to do reviews are generally a lot more objective (not to mention busier) than some random person tossing their 2 cents about the game out there.

    Looking forward to the next Soapbox.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:47 PM
    CamperHunter1
  • kiladre

    This is why I like Sessler's Soapbox and Feedback, because you guys actually know how the industry works, give good comments, and understandable criticisms. Unlike other sites where people just QQ about one thing or another and have no clue as to why the industry is doing something in particular.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:45 PM
    kiladre
AdChoices