X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • Zero_12975

    sad to see it happening. personally i always wondered why it takes a while for some games to be reviewed on this site but seeings how i can just run to a local store and pick up a game it never really bothered me (livin on in island with no game stores sucks). it's nothing like when people bash you for something that is beyond your control.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 4:39 AM
    Zero_12975
  • lynch dude8

    publishers must think every website is like ign

    Posted: October 20, 2010 8:55 PM
    lynch+dude8
  • TrggaMan

    Im going to guess it's Activision

    i highly respect you adam and i agree with you wholeheartedly

    Posted: October 20, 2010 7:56 PM
    TrggaMan
  • TrggaMan

    Im going to guess it's Activision

    i highly respect you adam and i agree with you wholeheartedly

    Posted: October 20, 2010 7:56 PM
    TrggaMan
  • Tmidiman

    As always I get Adams point, but maybe the publishers have a point too.

    I don't want to say I know what the pubs are thinking, but let me say this, maybe they don't want their games reviewed by a whiney, immature writer who is more interested in their personal feelings than if a game is fun or not.

    And yes Darksiders was a very fun game to play. I'll never trust that reviewer again.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 6:44 PM
    Tmidiman
  • teac77

    well said

    Posted: October 20, 2010 6:17 PM
    teac77
  • TOYBOXX

    My complaints of the gaming industry stems further beyond the mere basics of why game reviews are late.

    In general this industry is full of liars and jerks that, for the better part of any given year, make rotten products. Back in the day, during the 16 bit revolution, followed by the 32 bit era, video games was all about how far we can push the envelope in terms of innovation. Now, it's about how much spin, or hyperbole, we can put onto a game to sell more copies. And for $60 I want more creativity in games with story telling, gameplay, and less BS.

    It's quantity over quality, and that, in my opinion, is plaguing our industry.

    Even at conventions like E3 the gaming industry has given birth to developer celebrities such as Cliffy B, followed by Phil Harrison and Peter Moore from the last console generation, to name a few, who ultimately attracts more attention than the very products they represent. The last I knew the games spoke for themselves, and not some suit trying to reach out to the gamers with fake tattoo's to help announce the next Halo game. Man, that was horrible wasn't it?

    And now what we're seeing is publishers/developers hiding their products until everything is good and ready for review - really? Narcissism, hyperbole, and an outstanding amount of insecurities, has taken hold of what we loved and morphed it into an, ugly, corporate baby. It's unfortunate that fanboyism truly dictates what stays and what goes regardless if the product is good or not. And sadly it's that fear, within this once great industry, that makes everyone cower down and wimper like a dog.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 6:10 PM
    TOYBOXX
  • gl3bm

    Angry Adam is Angry. Haha that was good though

    Posted: October 20, 2010 5:34 PM
    gl3bm
  • Papa_bear

    not saying this as a bad thing but id hate to be around adam when he is in a bad mood... seems like he could be a d!ck....not saying he doesnt have a reason to pissed off... im just kinda makin an observation...lol my sister is like this and when shes in 1 of those moods i just stay away from her... but n e ways thanks adam we appreciate this

    Posted: October 20, 2010 5:13 PM
    Papa_bear
  • napkinshower

    hell ya Adam! you tell em friend!
    i could imagine your frustration.
    sorry g4, for expression your honestly brutal reviews and having your reviewers speak their mind. and then having the companies act childish and you/us (the consumers) be punished.


    BLAIR!

    Posted: October 20, 2010 4:41 PM
    napkinshower
  • kain432234

    I agree, seems like these game developers have self esteem issues or something

    gotta love these soapboxes, real talk

    Posted: October 20, 2010 3:04 PM
  • SDwiz

    He's is 100% right.If you don't see a game around the time a game comes out it's because their singling game review critics because their afraid their game will get a low score.But we as consumers need to know these things,if we'll liked the game controls,sounds,graphics,onlin e,and so on.But their are also critics that feel the same way other reviewers feel about the games they review.Games feel short,bugs,slow ect.If G4 doesn't have the review you're looking for go to another site,just not check out the vids on the game but read the articles,because the vids leave out a lot of the info that's in their articles.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 3:03 PM
    SDwiz
  • BR4CR

    You're right: Stand behind the bloody game. Any publisher who is hiding their game from the press KNOWS they're dumping crap into the marketplace and they already know, as human beings go, they suck dried siht rinds.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 3:01 PM
    BR4CR
  • nikkizerocool

    well i know you cant say which publishers but if we all just see when the reviews for these games come out as opposed to there actual release date, I think we can get a pretty good idea.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 2:57 PM
  • djboogymonster

    Love the nasal spray in the shot. Almost as good a a random game in the background.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 2:25 PM
    djboogymonster
  • GamerHero

    I really only like your review system. The IGN and everything else when it comes to reviews totaly SUCK

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:59 PM
    GamerHero
  • dino2100

    Games need to be reviewed because they are a grappling form of art; they have several different elements that are hard to distinguish from just a trailer. Most adults who buy games for their kids rely on reviews and not demos to make sure a product is right for them. As for myself I have only bought three games in the last year or so, and that was due to a positive review- or a solid demo.

    And to address G4's "anti-wii" thing; I really think it is due to the lack of fluidity with the motion controller, I have one and let me tell you unless I am standing in the exact right spot for the majority of play the damn thing cannot register me. I will not be picking up any motion type peripherals for my ps3 unless my ps3 breaks or something.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:47 PM
  • San_Pato

    I don't know if Nintendo is one of the companies you're mad at, but I wouldn't be shocked to find out they are. When I read stories on this site I always get a anti-Wii vibe from G4. It seems like they are always comparing the Wii to the PS3 and 360. Wii's games are, for the most part, geared towards party and family friendly gaming. They don't claim or try to be like a PS3 or 360, and their business plan worked so well that the PS3 and 360 are now trying to be more like a Wii with the wave of new motion controllers coming out.

    I'm not a hardcore Wii gamer, but I don't think it is as bad as a system as this site makes it out to be. Wii reviews seem to be overly critical. If I was a Nintendo CEO, I would never give you a game for review before release. If it was just a bad review now and then, I'd be OK with it, but with how much the site dogs the Wii, I'd say "screw you too" and hold my games from you.

    If a game is bad and deserves a bad review, give it a bad review. Companies shouldn't be upset at you for making a crappy game. However, Wii Resort is a game that sells the Wii. At the beginning of the Soapbox you kick it, which I always interpreted as "Wii sucks, look how much we hate it as I kick its games." I'm not saying you should come out and say you love all the game companies, but when you disrespect them like that don't be shocked when they disrespect you in return.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:17 PM
    San_Pato
  • xRIZZOx11

    You tell 'em Adam!

    Posted: October 20, 2010 1:12 PM
    xRIZZOx11
  • contactone

    I kind of always assumed that if a game or movie didn't have an early review it was due to the producers knowing it sucked. Never realized that some games were sent out to specific sites at times.

    Posted: October 20, 2010 12:37 PM
    contactone
AdChoices