X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • turdburgler

    thanks adam, i value g4's reviews and base alot of my game buying decisions on your reviews. It is always frustrating when a review is not available before a game is released or at least on the day of release. It would be nice if you could make it aware to the public in your reviews if a game was intentially delayed from review

    Posted: October 23, 2010 2:32 PM
    turdburgler
  • ManoftheWell

    I was beginning to worry that G4 did not really care what people say. i mean once a company gets to a certain size they become robots that basically give a bunch of output (in this case game reviews) and take no input because even though they know their output sucks, people are still going to buy it.

    Thank you for addressing the problem as well. I am now a "loyal" fan of G4.

    Plz dont turn into robots...

    Posted: October 23, 2010 10:54 AM
    ManoftheWell
  • Robmasters80

    I can understand that the it can be a problem when game reviews are not on your site before the game comes out. I usually wait until I see what you guys have to say and make my decision if I'm going to pick the game up or not. I just hope that this can change sooner than later since there are a lot of games coming out each week for the next month or two. I love forward to the next soapbox.

    Posted: October 22, 2010 11:57 PM
    Robmasters80
  • Spyro_Soul95

    i was actually paying attention to what was outside the window...

    Posted: October 22, 2010 10:33 PM
    Spyro_Soul95
  • paco_lewis

    now I understand why Game informer gets so many early reviews, even though its a magazine ;]

    Posted: October 22, 2010 9:27 PM
    paco_lewis
  • WarÐeity

    Wow! I was unawaye of such immaturity taking place behind the scenes. I now take back any feeling of resentment I had towards you guys for not having a review I desired on time. I have three things to say about this topic:

    A) Developers should have a strong confidence and pride in their games they release, if there isnt any then why are they releasing the game? To make a buck. This in my opinion, is the worst possible reason to release any form of media entertainment, whether its movies, games, music, and so on. If you have no vision or feeling going into the game and all you want is money, the game is sure to fail very badly. Holding back on reviewers so that some unsuspecting people will buy the game not knowing how crappy it is, is in my opinion childish, immature, and from one viewpoint, STEALING. Robbing us of a promised goodtime and our money that truly wasnt well spent. The worst part is that you never get full price back when u return a game after trying it out. The second a person gets ahold of the game and releases their own review on it and everyone sees how horrible the game is, no one will buy it anymore. So all this shows is you're low enough to release garbage and not let anyone know its garbage so that you can make a quick buck before its discovered how horrible it is.

    B) If i had spent a very good amount of my time into making somthing like a game only to see that the game doesnt turn out as good as I had hoped, to teh point where I dont even have confidence in it getting a good review, I wold hold it back. Not release it yet, and work on it so it can be better. You owe it to yourself as a developer and an artist, and you owe it to us as valuable consumers and fans. Releasing somthing imperfect or not as good as intended is damaging to your reputation and to your image as the developer. You will lose people's respect and your market may never be the same. Most developers will hold back on a games release until they are truely satisfied with the result. This is truely the best method, and the most reasonable. It may take months or even years to perfect the game past its original release date, but in the end it more then makes up for it.

    C) I understand holding back reviews on your game until the release, but only when you hold back on ALL reviewers. Depriving and singling out people like you have done with the Xplay staff just sends a poor message. It shows you are afraid of potentially bad reviews and feedback which could mean either your game isnt all its cracked up to be or you as a developer are truely shallow. Anyone who creates somthing has to be prepared for the good and bad criticism it will recieve. No matter what you have made, there will always be negative feedback somewhere, why be afraid of it? It shows true strength to embrace it and listen to it, rather then run away from it in fear.

    Yeah I had alot to say about this, this is truely upsetting. I feel for ya Adam.

    Posted: October 22, 2010 12:52 PM
    War%c3%90eity
  • maico34

    i agree with adam here..... companies dont want us the consumer to find out before the game comes out if it sucks ( the fact that the games are 60$) i do want and like when games have early reviews, so i know im not spending my hard earn cash in a piece of crap game! Reviewers are just doing there job to help us not waste money!

    Posted: October 22, 2010 11:36 AM
    maico34
  • endertwk

    DO IT!.... DO IT NOW !!!!!

    Posted: October 22, 2010 9:13 AM
    endertwk
  • endertwk

    COME ON!!!

    Posted: October 22, 2010 9:12 AM
    endertwk
  • endertwk

    Hey Adam... How about doing a segment on how these spammers wont go away. They somehow get their comments featured all the time and NOBODY WANTS THEM HERE!!!! I know that many many other users are tired of this and are even commenting sometimes just to tell them off or get their crappy merch out of the spotlight. Come on Adam! TELL THEM OFF!!!

    Posted: October 22, 2010 9:10 AM
    endertwk
  • demonwolf002

    Just wait to go Adam that's what in my opinion the game industry needs more of people willing to stand up and just tell these guys off. Just wait to go

    Posted: October 21, 2010 9:24 PM
    demonwolf002
  • salv12

    This is why I respect sessler

    Posted: October 21, 2010 9:18 PM
    salv12
  • xerocide

    I always assumed this was the case with game reviews, or lack thereof, but I wasn't positive until now.

    This is really unfortunate, especially when there's already plenty of skepticism and rumors surrounding game reviews that come from less 'credible' sources, wherein 'payoffs' or 'bribery' is supposedly involved. I understand most casual gamers probably aren't concerned with what goes on behind a game review, just the number that comes out on top, but there are plenty of us out there who need honesty. If publishers aren't confident enough to distribute finished content to reputable reviewers, then why the hell should I be confident that the game isn't a giant turd.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 9:16 PM
    xerocide
  • MyNameIsHunter

    Do you to bring someone on to help setup your conspiracies? If you are understaffed, I can help out.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 6:41 PM
    MyNameIsHunter
  • arazor0

    i love the soapbox .. Adam my grip is review videos i love them, they show gameplay and reviewer insite. but some games don't have them. and when they do it's buy someone, that's not into that typ of game. but it happens!!

    Posted: October 21, 2010 4:36 PM
    arazor0
  • pianoslave2009

    It's obvious that publishers are getting into the habit of only giving games and footage to sites or channels that will obviously give them a high score (though I won't mention any names) no matter how crappy the game is- because they buy ad space they expect to get good reviews.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 3:36 PM
  • speedram

    I do trust G4. I like reading there reviews a lot. I don't mind waiting for a review as long as it's honest! But I don't like your rating system. It seems like it's an easy way out for G4. Is a 4 out of 5 worth 60 bucks? Sometimes I'm not sure from There ratings If they think so or not.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 12:35 PM
    speedram
  • pembo

    I can't see the point in publishers acting in such a stupid way. I'm sure most gamers like me would read more than one review of a game anyway. Are they so stupid to believe that I will take one reviewers words as gospel? It's playground tactics and immature. Good on you Adam for venting the way you have.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 12:07 PM
    pembo
  • ridekorn

    Interesting. I know, from listening to other people podcasts, that this goes on but for some reason I always thought that XPlay was above this, probably because they are a TV show and not a publication. Hearing now that the endure the same backhanded tactics that other sites do makes me wonder if certain publishers go so far as to keep a blacklist. Unfortunately I am not sure how much can be done about this, there are certain places that I go to get reviews, this being one of them, and when they don't have a review up it makes it difficult for me to make a decision on said game. I can only plead with publishers to stop this sort of crap because unfortunately if they make a good game I know I will buy it so threatening to not purchase it just doesn't hold much weight.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 7:38 AM
    ridekorn
  • CHNIBA

    Thats the kind of honesty that makes me trust your reviews Adam. I have been persuaded to buy a game by other publications on the strength of the review, only to find out it's complete arse.

    I think that it is so important for publishers to get good reviews in the major press, that they do everything they can to control what is said about the game prior to release.

    Personally, i only buy games now if they recieve mostly positive reviews from my favourite reviewers.
    Even then, i recognise that peoples opinions vary and extended play can reveal major flaws in titles, especially onlne components.

    MW2 being a prime example of this. Now that ive played BC2 online i find MW2 completely redundant.

    Posted: October 21, 2010 5:09 AM
    CHNIBA
AdChoices