X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • Jangalexis

    i will basically assume if g4 one of the biggest players in this industry doesnt get an advanced copy for review then the game must truly suck beyond belief like the ironman games.

    Posted: October 25, 2010 8:10 AM
    Jangalexis
  • AlternativeOne

    i wouldn't even consider a game purchase without some one at g4 reviewing it first. G4 is easily the most accessible source of gaming news because of XPLAY and ATOS. If publisher are purposely keeping games from you all they are trying to hide something.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 9:46 PM
  • suryu

    lol thats messed up i still watch the show when i can but i understand why its like that because i always wondered if the ppl that made these games don't see these reviews and be like hay we worded hard on this crap and they just tore it down with one review lol but then again i seen xplay totaly tell ppl not to buy a ceirtain game but ppl still bought it but it so i know how you feel adam i kinda knew this was going to happen but even if u get the game late i hope there will still be reviews for them weather there are good or bad

    Posted: October 24, 2010 9:40 PM
    suryu
  • MicrosoftPaysMeToo

    He could be talking about Capcom because of the Resident Evil 5 review but I havnt really paid attention to when a game gets reviewed so I can't say for sure.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 9:38 PM
    MicrosoftPaysMeToo
  • suryu

    lol thats messed up i still watch the show when i can but i understand why its like that because i always wondered if the ppl that made these games don't see these reviews and be like hay we worded hard on this crap and they just tore it down with one review lol but then again i seen xplay totaly tell ppl not to buy a ceirtain game but ppl still bought it but it so i know how you feel adam i kinda knew this was going to happen but even if u get the game late i hope there will still be reviews for them weather there are good or bad

    Posted: October 24, 2010 9:35 PM
    suryu
  • Stormraught

    Always waited before hand or a week after title launch ;D , but thankyou mr sessler for confirming for the rest of the people who havent experienced this first hand. I myself did reviews for a couple sites (long eaten by lets just say.... the ones who spy on games /nudge nudge) and not only were there pretensions of with holding from developers but also some of the modding community for certain titles and franchises.

    Keep your review hand strong, and bring the smack down.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 7:29 PM
    Stormraught
  • Green With Evil

    Preach on Sessler

    Posted: October 24, 2010 6:17 PM
  • Morphballer

    I guess this means we are going to have to wait extra long for the next Dynasty/Samurai Warriors review then.

    :P

    Posted: October 24, 2010 3:25 PM
    Morphballer
  • xZOMBIEx

    It's obvious there's TONS of other review websites that suck up to other developers, publishers, or for a particular game or series (cough-IGN-cough) and it's so blatant when they go an praise a series like COD and Halo but then completely take a dump on another VERY similar game like MOH. One thing I found completely hilarious is they go and complain about how short MOH is, but somehow forgot that COD MW2 was just about the same length if not shorter but they completely loved that game.

    I NEVER trust any of IGN's reviews especially when they're given a low score. I don't mean to sound like I'm sucking up to GFTV or X-Play, but I honestly go off of their words/reviews way more than any other site because they are not afraid to completely thrash a game if it's needed, sure there have been times that they have completely thrashed a game that I actually ended up liking or enjoying, but hey it happens and maybe it's because of someone's taste's and I know reviewers aren't supposed to let their personal feelings or taste's judge the overall review, but it happens sometimes even if it's very slight and they didn't mean to.

    In the end though WE are the one's that ultimately make the decision to either buy a game new, used, or not at all, or maybe we just rent a game and then be done with it? Reviewers are just here to help and inform us of what to expect or maybe not expect. I really do think though when there's a lot of hype or expectations for a certain game or series I truly think that hurts a game more than it helps because some people have their expectations so high and think it's going to be something totally different or something it's not and then are let down a little bit and end up letting that effect their review. Maybe that's what happened with MOH with the folks over at IGN but I highly doubt that because it's not the first time I've noticed them completely rip apart a game for some of its "faults" or low points but then totally ignore them or praise another game/series because of them or something. They are flat out hypocrypts to be honest.

    Another great soapbox Adam! Although you should let the names of companies, developers, publishers, or whatever and put them in the hot seat so they can't keep getting away with what they're doing and at the same time calling out other review sites that probably excepts money or other kind of "gifts" in exchange of good reviews or good word of mouth no matter how bad a game is and or for completely thrashing another game of it's same genre just to make that other game or series look much better than what it really is....

    Posted: October 24, 2010 2:34 PM
    xZOMBIEx
  • erogoth

    I as an aspiring game designer in training "college" would love to have my games reviewed by Adam. Once i make something worth playing even if its not perfect ill stand behind it and if Adam says its bad and points out the flaws i will thank him. This is never a good reason to withhold a game. EVER. If you cant handle criticism get out of the industry.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 10:51 AM
  • Grimiq

    i would be dropping names left and right we as viewers could also help and send mails to the game companies demanding they send out a copy or get boycotted I'm sure that would rattle their cages.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 9:58 AM
    Grimiq
  • SeriphinX

    If that's the case I don't see how GameSpot.com gets ANY games...those guys are frick'n brutal on their reviews!

    Posted: October 24, 2010 8:18 AM
    SeriphinX
  • JustOneGun

    But you gave god of war 3 a five out of five!!! For christs sake man its the same game as the other god of wars. Sure you could argue its being off topic but holy crap how many times did you rip dynasty warriors a new one for having the same gameplay over and over again? You know what just forget about it. G4 rules all. Sessler you rule all!!!! Damn those companies all to hell for trying to hide their dirty sheets in the five dollar bin at generic mart.

    Posted: October 24, 2010 7:01 AM
    JustOneGun
  • Alpaca-Wrangler

    Does this work both ways? If you gave a game a glowing review does the squeal get to you guys way in advance?

    Posted: October 24, 2010 4:59 AM
    Alpaca-Wrangler
  • jdeamaral

    I'd love to know which Publisher's are doing this?

    Posted: October 24, 2010 3:54 AM
  • Seijien

    While I agree with what Adam's saying, I honestly don't blame companies not giving G4 games to review before they're released. It seems like any game that isn't a total dudebrofest gets a 4 or lower. JRPGs in particular don't stand a chance of getting a 5 except for a few once in a blue moon games.

    Posted: October 23, 2010 7:31 PM
  • pumpmasterflash

    Dude I think Adam is a beast! Almost everything he says i agree with! I love the soapboxes!

    Posted: October 23, 2010 6:24 PM
    pumpmasterflash
  • lilpkaibrown

    Come to think of it.. they haven't put up a Review of that new EA MMA game yet... Adam keep telling the Truth!!!! I knew something was wrong.

    Posted: October 23, 2010 5:06 PM
  • lilpkaibrown

    Come to think about it, you haven't really put up a review of the new EA MMA Game yet.... But Adam Keep telling the thruth!!!!!!! MY th time watching this.

    Posted: October 23, 2010 5:05 PM
  • Philinthe_____

    Adam, you should challenge the mystery publisher(s) to a duel. That would be a most effective way of settling your differences.

    Posted: October 23, 2010 4:32 PM
    Philinthe_____
AdChoices