X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • ListenUp

    I wonder if TFU2 is at the top of Adam's mind right now?..lol. The first game got hammered relentlessly by G4.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:45 PM
    ListenUp
  • g4fan247

    I totally agree with you Adam about this problem. Keep up your good work and I can't wait for next week's Soapbox.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:44 PM
    g4fan247
  • business_casual_gamer

    I don't think you can blame a company for withholding its games in order to increase initial sales. You have a valid point that they should stand behind their game, but if they stood behind theirs last game and it got a mediocre score like Lost Planet 2 or M:OM it would seem natural for them to withhold it. I just don't think they have an obligation to G4 and maybe not even the public to have their games reviewed before their releases.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:42 PM
    business_casual_gamer
  • prinny_hero

    Its obvious they can't handle the Sess. Nuff said.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:39 PM
    prinny_hero
  • thePcgamer

    Good Soapbox, but hey adam, adults are actually pretty juvenile sometimes in general, ironically, so i'm not really surprised

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:38 PM
    thePcgamer
  • The Nerd Supreme

    Yes and this was my prob with MGS4 with the whole don't release the review yet thing. Stand behind your game and trust fan base to not find it a issue with a certain minor thing that might not even be flaws.(Like cut scene length being to long and turning off fans) Konami isn't the only company to do something like that, they are just the example but it's like come on. It's like when one guy starts acting nervous when the cops are around everyone else might start getting nervous. When you start questioning the thing you made everyone else will to.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:38 PM
    The+Nerd+Supreme
  • defiredude

    Medal of Honor seems like it might fit in here...I did buy it though and ehh don't care for it though (for the record I love Battlefield which includes BC2)

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:38 PM
    defiredude
  • yack922

    I liked the soapbox with no tv's in the background sometimes I get distracted by the game playing in the background and miss what adam is saying so I say leave the tv's out unless you are talking directly about the game that is being played on them.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:34 PM
    yack922
  • Aldowyn

    I suppose these publishers don't believe in the idea of "any press is good press", huh?

    ... Well, that's not true for reviews anyway, though I would say it probably is for anything else.

    I'm sure there are press outlets that can't get everything reviewed in time, and it's good to know that when this happens at G4, it's not your fault.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:34 PM
    Aldowyn
  • JustTheBeginning

    I think Nintendo put G4 on their blacklist after Metrioid Other M!

    I kid, I kid... maybe

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:34 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • marioboy312

    yeah, they need to shut up just cuse they cant have it reviewed means the game may have bugs the game companys need to learn that a good game will bring ous in so deal with it and get better at it

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:31 PM
  • rance_james

    Adam, good sir, YOU ARE THE MAN!!!!! I had respect for you before, and now I have even more. You speak the truth about it, and it does get old. Thank you for explaining the situation, and good sir, YOU ARE THE MAN!!!!

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:31 PM
  • yayap001

    im wondering if this was brought on by any recent games maybe new vegas/alpha protocol, also i bugged abbie on twitter about the moh review and i feel kinda bad now

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:29 PM
    yayap001
  • dr_clocker

    I always wondered this. How some games have reviews and others dont. And how some magazines have reviews, must have received the game well before other sites in order to have it out by print.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:27 PM
    dr_clocker
  • DreamingDarklyRobin

    As long as the game gets reviewed its fine with me, except in cases like Deadly Premonition, where they don't send you a copy and you ignore the game altogether until some fan sends you repeated emails.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:22 PM
    DreamingDarklyRobin
  • Sithraver

    I totally agree, thats bullcrap, if your gunna make a game, then be confident, dont just make one and then try to backtrack with it, its stupid and i dont like it at all. So for all game developers out there. If you make a game make sure you LIKE THE GAME YOUR MAKING. or else dont make it because its a waste of our time and yours.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:20 PM
  • PockyKing

    GO ADAM!!!

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:20 PM
    PockyKing
  • Hitman_Mr.47

    Thank you for finally addressing this problem Adam. Personally, this never bothered me, I figured there was some reason you couldn't get the review up. I have been and will always be loyal to you and the rest of G4.

    Posted: October 19, 2010 4:18 PM
    Hitman_Mr.47
AdChoices