X

Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!

Posted: October 19, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: Let Us Review Your Games!
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49371/sesslers-soapbox-let-us-review-your-games/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/252769_LGST/soapbox-10-19-10.jpg
Video_49371
Adam talks about his frustrations with publishers who withhold their games in fear of a bad review.

Comments are Closed

  • AXE3_25XX_EXE

    I understand where Adam is getting at, but I need to put my 2 cents in this situation. First of all, apologies for being late, second I'm going to act as a devil avocate on why some publishers don't send games for FREE.

    BTW, there is a forth option which even if they get a game, if the game is bad that it's not worth reviewing, then they won't, granted the reason could be time since editors can't review all the games with time limits.

    As for the publishers decision, it could be that they know some gamers don't bother with reviews, not all gamers care what editors think of the game and rather listen to their friends for the gaming comunity for reviews and as long the gamer enjoy that game, they'll play. An example is Mario Party 8, which some editor game it a low score, but the public felt the opposite and they think it's a fun game which sold very well. And yes it could be a situation of sequel sells vs. new IP, but that's how it goes.

    Another reson could that some gamers felt that editors are what they call "bias(nothing personal)" and publishers see this as an advantage, an example of this Fist of the North Stars: Ken's Rage from those evil company called Koei, not suprising a 1/5, why, oh because it's a mindless beat 'em (since they don't have sword). I see a trend, when the game is a hack 'n' slash genre, it tend to go mediocore to low on reivews, so what so you think the publisheres felt, should they send you copy so they can get a low score? Granted you're doing your job, and so do they, it's a battle to see who's the winner.

    Here's another situation let's play with our crystal ball, when Dynasty Warriors 7 comes in the U.S. in March 2011 (and yes this is no lie, there is a 7th game), what is the prediction score could be, a 3, or 1? Just because it's a hack 'n' slash game from Koei, is it already a bad games, even if there are new characters, upgrade battle system, new story, improve graphics and music, dialog, is it going to be bad, or is this a case by case basis. You decided when it comes out in March 2011.

    Overall, publishers do make decision whether it's they are right one or not, it about business and they need to make profit and when bad reviews happens, I don't think they are just going to sit, they will do something no matter what to make profits.

    I agree with Adam that is unproffessional, but this is how business works, survival of the fitest, you have repuation to maintain, they have a profit to make, it's a never ending battle. That's what I think why some publishers don't send editors early copy of games.

    Recaps of why they don't send copies for reviews:

    1. Publishers believe that some gamers don't read or listen to professional reviewers rather listen to their friends or gaming community.

    2. Possibly there is "bias" on the review, I see comments aobut it. I.E. Koei games.

    3. Consious decision in there part.

    Agains, it's a battle that couldn't be resolved.

    Posted: December 10, 2010 4:44 PM
    AXE3_25XX_EXE
  • LostIsland48

    Adam Sessler is the 3gs: Gaming Genius GOD

    Posted: November 12, 2010 9:17 PM
  • hope of a feather

    FF14... Nuff said.

    Posted: November 4, 2010 8:13 PM
    hope+of+a+feather
  • KayleL

    I have a feeling that Activision is one of the companies that do this. The CEO is a real jerk about a lot of things.

    Posted: November 1, 2010 8:16 AM
  • Dre2Dee2

    YOU MAD? :D

    Posted: October 31, 2010 8:26 PM
    Dre2Dee2
  • JimMD102

    I always assumed this was the case, so I backed off. It's good to have it explained.

    Posted: October 30, 2010 12:59 PM
    JimMD102
  • Keith18

    I wonder if he is referring to the Fallout: New Vegas review embargo, as if we didn't already know an Obsidian game was going to be very buggy.
    Still a great game though

    Posted: October 30, 2010 2:07 AM
    Keith18
  • firestorm713

    Keep in mind that publishers (I'm looking at you Activision) want you, the consumer, to make uninformed buying decisions. They would cut the reviewer out, if they could. Which is hilarious, because most consumers don't go straight to metacritic to see a game's aggregate score right off the bat. Even when they do, it's often out of curiosity. I usually go to three places for video game reviews. Seldom do I actually let them make my ultimate decision to buy or not buy the game. In fact, Several games that g4 rated low, I bought and enjoyed. Several games that GI or Yahtzee hated, I loved. Publishers need to get their heads out of their....well you know.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 10:49 AM
  • TheyTarget

    I'm sorry it took me so long to see this, but I was, well gaming. First for you to suggest we go to other sites, to read reviews, wow. I've never had more respect for you. And secondly, I will in fact, listen to what you've said. If I see what appears to be this going on, I will in fact, hold off on the game, until I can see whats going on. In fact I was going to do that, before you even asked me too. It made me feel like, they are actually trying to just trick us into buying bad games. I've never understood how someone could release a bad game. You made it, you know whats wrong with it, and if you just take some time you can fix it. I agree 100%.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 10:00 AM
    TheyTarget
  • Kratier

    Someone complaining about not getting a game early? Oh wow what a surprise. Lets look at your alpha protocol review: 2/5 what a surprise?

    1- Sending you a game is a privilege. You are whining about no free game ahead of time. You rated 2/5 the first game, do you think someone will send it to you again? If your site loses thousands and thousands of dollars , so be it. Its no skin off the publisher's back.
    2- Making videos like this just solidifies their idea that yes you do hold a grudge. Otherwise you would not acknowledge it, and you would handle it like a professional, not like some pale balding nerd cussing into a camera for effect.
    3- The other parts of the entertainment industry are more structured, yes thats true. They actually have reviewers be legitimate to be there. In the gaming industry, you obviously let anyone review games. Some people that come to mind, Jim Sterling. I don't think any publisher would ever take that kid seriously, and never should. And when you yell into the camera cussing, you just solidify their opinion of you that you are not a professional.

    new vegas is the game you are talking about, and good on them for diverting traffic from your website, who's quality has been in question for a good time now.

    Posted: October 29, 2010 2:08 AM
    Kratier
  • Cpl.Mcmuffin

    It only goes to show that if a developer does not feel strongly about the game it probably isn't very good. Even though I liked Fallout: New Vegas it had some clearly noticeable glitches, for example the NCR would attack me for no reason even though I was friendly. It doesn't surprise me that they didn't release a copy early because they knew it had its very noticeable faults. Most likely they knew that it couldn't live up to Fallout 3 (which had its own faults) so they withheld information so fans would buy it without knowing what they were in for. It's truly sad that developers would be so childish towards people who are just trying to help and inform the public. If a game has problems FIX THEM!!!!

    Posted: October 28, 2010 5:29 PM
    Cpl.Mcmuffin
  • lisquid

    This holds true for 2 major releases: Fallout New Vegas and Civ 5. Every review I've read was super rushed and doesn't take into account some of the major glitches that the game shipped with that can only be discovered during extended gameplay. I feel ripped off, as I never remember PS2 games ever being so horribly glitched. It makes me want to take the disc out and blow on it (for everyone who remembers good old NES games).

    Posted: October 27, 2010 4:58 PM
    lisquid
  • Cla

    Person A: "Our game might not get good reviews. What do we do?"

    Person B: "We could make it better..."

    Person A: "NO!! ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! WE HIDE THE FACT THE GAME IS BAD AND HOPE NO ONE EVER NOTICES EVER!!!"

    Business logic for the win....

    Posted: October 27, 2010 4:01 PM
    Cla
  • ChadBreezy

    i understand man sorry yo!!!

    Posted: October 27, 2010 2:37 PM
    ChadBreezy
  • teac77

    After publishing a review to the site, game developers sometimes actually GO BACK to fix a few flaws.

    EXAMPLE:
    10/26/09 - Tekken 6

    Their score was a 3/5 because:

    > Gameplay has gotten stale
    > Game overall feels rushed and sloppy in places
    > Horrifying load times unless you install to HD
    > Lag online play

    (http://g4tv.com/games/xbox- 360/57164/tekken-6/review/)

    The developers saw their game go to market, read reviews, and took the flaws of their game seriously. Then they went to work. A month later, they issued a patch to fix the game's problems.

    It might make game developers happier (and more inclined to send the Sess their games early) if they got credit on g4 for improving their already-published games, like Tekken 6.

    Posted: October 26, 2010 9:24 PM
    teac77
  • Vultur

    The fact that you are getting listed by certain publishers, means you're doing something right!


    Keep up the good work! Don't pull your punches! I always respected this site's reviews for their complete and utter devotion to a game's qualities, and no "other" factors.
    \

    again, keep up the good work!

    Posted: October 26, 2010 8:47 AM
    Vultur
  • TruthHit

    Maybe they don't let you review games, is because you actually suck at doing it?

    There are critics (which g4tv is not) and there are trolls. Well, you (by you I mean G4TV) are trolls. You do not criticize things, but bash them. And in most cases you do it without a good reason. Especially if you "review" a game that were translated to English.
    Also many of your "reviews" give a feeling that you were paid to do them. Because butt licking is way more than needed and flaws are overlooked.
    There many amateur game reviews on youtube that are more professional then what drama queens do on G4TV.

    Simple be more professional and you will get games to review, or you can start buying them as normal people do, anyways you are always delayed by a week or two.

    PS: MMO Report is actually good, and does what's needed aka deliver news.

    Posted: October 26, 2010 6:09 AM
    TruthHit
  • St3v342086

    Sess you are the man!If I need a game reveiw I go to X-play.You never steer me wrong Keep up the outstanding work.Can't wait to see the next soapbox and feedback. P.S.Your the Man.
    \

    Posted: October 25, 2010 2:20 PM
    St3v342086
  • RadioactiveTaco779

    Mr. Sessler, your a genius.

    Posted: October 25, 2010 1:52 PM
    RadioactiveTaco779
  • Tovarish-Adun

    Adam is a bad ass. Telling it like it is with no holds bar.

    Posted: October 25, 2010 11:00 AM
AdChoices