X

Samsung Epic 4G Review

Posted: October 4, 2010
Samsung Epic 4G Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/49035/samsung-epic-4g-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/251995_LGST/as20101004_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_49035

Equipped with a 4" Super AMOLED touch screen, a slide-out keyboard, 5 megapixel camera and super fast speeds, the Samsung Epic 4G promises all that a 4G network has to offer. Kevin Pereira and Michelle Nunes take a look at the smartphone which sells for $150 with a contract.

What You Need To Know

  • The Samsung Epic feels a little plastic-y and is bulkier than the iPhone 4.
  • Even with the slide-out keyboard, it feels pretty light.
  • The QWERTY keyboard has a spacious layout with large flat buttons.
  • The touch sensitive buttons on the bottom give it a sleek and minimalist aesthetic.
  • The 4" super AMOLED screen has a crisp and bright WVGA resolution, even in sunlight.
  • The Epic runs on a 1 GHz Hummingbird processor, which was pretty responsive.
  • It boots up applications such as Angry Birds at the same speed compared to the iPhone 4 and Droid X.
  • The touch screen is quite responsive and offers multi-touch and pinch-and-zoom features.
  • The virtual keyboard also allows for swiping.
  • The phone runs on Android 2.1 OS, so it can't run Flash until it receives the 2.2 upgrade.
  • But it does allow for multi-tasking between applications, which is more of a task manager.
  • The Epic is Sprint's second 4G smartphone, and the features are up to par with current smartphones.
  • The 5 megapixel camera comes with an LED flash, and the pictures look fine in well-lit areas (but just okay and a little blurry in darker settings).
  • The phone can shoot 720p video, which looks grainy at best but comes with a 3x digital zoom.
  • It also has a front facing camera for taking self portraits and video chat using "Qwik," which you can use on wi-fi, 3G and 4G.
  • The big draw to the phone is the 4G service: Internet speeds are 10x faster than 3G but will cost you $10 extra per month.
  • 4G is only available in 55 markets right now, so if you live in New York City, San Francisco or Los Angeles, you're out of luck.
  • Sprint plans to expand its 4G coverage and cover over 120 million people by the end of the year.

Price

Rating

  • 5 Seals of Approval out of 5.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • BTR_Nathan

    We need a chick to be doing in your pants again! That hairy plastic thing makes me wanna barf! LOL

    Posted: November 20, 2010 8:18 PM
  • ilovemyjeep

    Where's Munn been??

    Posted: October 9, 2010 10:31 PM
    ilovemyjeep
  • sacaku

    Glad to hear the 5 out of 5 review! I just recently got the phone myself and was a little worried as to how it was in comparison to other smart phones.

    My only real problem are:
    The battery, although after using the mobile hot spot for a while and then playing some games on it while running the gps feature would probably kill any smartphone quickly. This one manages to hold out well enough though it seems.
    It also collects contacts really oddly, listing every contact possible in one list from your phone contacts to the twitter accounts your following. It was rather annoying to group everyone.

    Overall though I'm very please with it and am excited over having it as my first smartphone!

    Posted: October 6, 2010 9:53 PM
    sacaku
  • jigsaw808

    is it me or does this chick look like a giant? her hands r huge.

    Posted: October 6, 2010 9:02 PM
    jigsaw808
  • jjfan1

    still debating between Epic and Evo. Like the keyboard feature the best. The epic is amazingly light tho

    Posted: October 6, 2010 5:13 PM
    jjfan1
  • xxCoolMikexx

    Remember when they didn't hand out 5/5s like chiclets?

    Posted: October 6, 2010 4:00 PM
    xxCoolMikexx
  • Squall_VIII

    yeah xperia x10 released since march... I think is good but they need to put new android 2.1 or even better pass directly to 2.2....

    Posted: October 5, 2010 11:35 PM
    Squall_VIII
  • HustleHard101

    Kevin and that other guy Chris are such haters. Obviously.. not because he gave the Epic a 5 outa 5 because its well deserved. But because they gave the EVO a 3 outa 5. Are you telling me that HTC Sense isnt better? I know the screen is but its practically the same phone without the keyboard. To top it all off, the fans had to request the EVO to get reviewed because they didnt want to. Are you kidding me? The EVO was the first 4g phone in the U.S. and they werent going to review it at all. Wow.. When they did it was months later when the Droid X was already out. Maybe because they felt inferrior because their beloved iphones were behind the curve so they didnt want the EVO to get any shine. Just sayin lol (and yes the iphone is a great phone also)

    Posted: October 5, 2010 5:43 PM
    HustleHard101
  • antoniusV

    There is something awkward about this new girl. Maybe it will work itself out. There's always an adjustment period when you upgrade.

    Posted: October 5, 2010 4:22 PM
  • Gamelife1

    Phone developers need to stop putting there damn skins on android phones so they can just the android updates right away. I really hope when android 3.0 comes out these skins become obsolete like google hopes it will.

    Posted: October 5, 2010 4:17 PM
    Gamelife1
  • JustTheBeginning

    This new girl was like a cheerleader the whole time. Clearly has no idea what she is talking about, get her off NOW.

    Posted: October 5, 2010 3:15 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • Reese8732

    Glad to see that this got 5 out of 5, I kind of wished that I waited and got this phone but the rep at Sprint called me back saying that he was holding the EVO for me. I love my EVO!!!! 4G on the now network, lol.

    Posted: October 5, 2010 1:52 PM
    Reese8732
  • Chipsthe1st

    So, about the phone and NOT Olivia Munn....

    FINALLY! A phone worth getting on my network! I'm still under dad's paying eye, lol. Still, I'll just get the phone and then part from the "father figure" so I can pay my bills on time (story of my life, lol). I'm curious about it having two cameras for "Facetime" or whatever it's called. Cause the person needs to see my face too, right?

    Not saying I'm a cutie or anything................

    Posted: October 5, 2010 7:44 AM
  • esmilodonte

    ella es nueva que quieren!? me gusta 5 / 5 to her!

    Posted: October 4, 2010 10:51 PM
    esmilodonte
  • myNando

    Munn's gone from AOTS unless her "Perfect Couples" show is cancelled right away.

    Needs moar Hairslip or Chobot.

    Posted: October 4, 2010 8:55 PM
    myNando
  • Legion3208

    yea kevin needs munn. not that hes not good. just that he dosnt look ahppy without her lol

    Posted: October 4, 2010 7:39 PM
    Legion3208
  • ricky047

    MUNNNNN!!!

    Posted: October 4, 2010 7:28 PM
    ricky047
  • J_Boolihans

    hasn't the xperia been out in euroland for like forever?

    Posted: October 4, 2010 6:22 PM
    J_Boolihans
AdChoices